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The Governor of California
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Dear Governor and Legislative Leaders:

As requested by the Joint Legislative Audit Committee, the Bureau of State Audits presents its audit
report concerning the communication and coordination among Child Protective Services (CPS) agencies,
parole, and county probation departments regarding the release of convicted child abusers.

The report concludes that CPS agencies do not now receive inmate release information that could serve
as an advance warning in protecting children from abuse.  Further, legislation that takes effect in
January 2000 will not fully bridge this gap in communication between law enforcement and CPS
agencies.  Moreover, without legislative clarification, CPS agencies may lack the authority to act even if
they did receive information concerning the release of a known child abuser.

Respectfully submitted,

KURT R. SJOBERG
State Auditor
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SUMMARY

Audit Highlights . . .

Our review of the network
intended to protect children
from abuse at the hands
of former offenders revealed
that:

þ Child Protective Services
(CPS) agencies do not
receive information about
the release of offenders
that could serve as an
early warning to prevent
possible harm to children.

þ Without legislative
clarification, CPS
agencies are unsure
of their authority to
proactively prevent abuse
or to share information.

þ New legislation, Dustin’s
Law, has limitations and
may not fully achieve
what the Legislature
intended.

þ Parole agents and
probation officers can
benefit from expanded
training to recognize and
report child abuse.

RESULTS IN BRIEF

In January 1999, the body of Dustin Haaland, a 4-year-old
boy allegedly killed by his father, was found in Fresno. The
paroled father, who had been in prison for abusing the

boy’s older brother, was clearly a threat to his children, yet
under current law, the California Department of Corrections
(Corrections) was not obligated to notify Child Protective
Services (CPS) of his release. However, even if CPS had known
about the father’s release, the agency might not have taken
preventive action because it lacks clear authority to intervene
without new allegations of abuse.

To have been in a position to prevent this tragedy, CPS would
had to have known that the father was being paroled, seen the
danger in the father’s return, and had the authority to reopen its
case to monitor the family. Such a scenario will only be feasible
in the future if there are changes in information exchanges
between law enforcement and CPS, and changes in CPS’s ability
to act in similar cases.

For CPS to have the opportunity to protect children from abuse
by released inmates, law enforcement must allow the agency to
inquire about past child abusers and share with CPS information
about the release of any adults who pose threats to children.
Under “Dustin’s Law,” named for Dustin Haaland, the 4-year-old
boy slain in Fresno, parole agents must report to CPS if a parolee
convicted of crimes against children contacts the victim or
victim’s family, and the parole agency must also notify local law
enforcement when such parolees are released.

Dustin’s Law, however, leaves CPS uninformed about these
parolees’ release. The agency first learns about released inmates
when they break parole by contacting former victims, but by
then the parolees may have committed further abuse. This
recent legislation also says nothing about child abusers who
may have been incarcerated for crimes other than those against
children, or about abusers who receive probation. To be most
effective, the various agencies must cooperate by identifying
all inmates likely to be a risk to children, even if they have
not been formally charged with or convicted of crimes
against children.



C A L I F O R N I A S T A T E A U D I T O R2

In response to Dustin’s death, Fresno County recently created a
task force of staff from CPS, probation, and parole that seeks
improved communication between CPS and law enforcement.
The task force has been devising cooperative actions that will
increase protection for children at risk by conducting more
training and increasing communication and home visits.

Even if CPS had known of Dustin’s father’s release, it might not
have removed the child from his home or taken other measures
to protect the boy. Statutes and regulations governing the
agency indicate there must be an allegation of child abuse
before CPS takes any action. CPS staff, judges who handle child
dependency cases, and staff of the Department of Social Services
(Social Services), which oversees CPS, have varying opinions
about whether CPS has the authority to intervene in the family
of a parolee with a history of child abuse. Without an allegation
of new abuse or a court order, the agency’s only recourse may be
to convince such families to work voluntarily with CPS staff.
Social Services also does not know what impact there will be on
CPS since the number of inmates released from state and county
incarceration that have abused children in the past is unknown.

To further protect vulnerable children, law enforcement agencies
must do more to address the threat of child abuse. These agents
and officers are required by law to report child abuse and are in
a good position to monitor convicts who may be guilty of this
crime.  Therefore, parole agents and probation officers need
more training to recognize abuse. Parole agents are authorized to
order convicted child abusers away from children, yet do
not always do so. Corrections must encourage its parole
agents to consistently use this authority to improve the safety
of vulnerable children.

RECOMMENDATIONS

To more fully bridge the communication gap between CPS
agencies and law enforcement, to clarify CPS’s role in working
with abuse victims, and to encourage more training for proba-
tion officers to effectively identify and report child abuse, the
Legislature should:

· Amend Dustin’s Law so that CPS receives offender release
information.
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· Make clear CPS’s role so it can assess the risk that released
offenders pose to children and intervene if that risk is high.

· Determine CPS’s ability to share with members of law
enforcement, such as parole agents and probation officers,
information concerning child abusers.

· Provide CPS with the authority to offer input in determining
the conditions of parole for an offender with a history of
child abuse.

· Explore the feasibility of the State’s 58 county probation
departments releasing offender information to CPS.

· Use the Board of Corrections, the standard-setting body for
probation officer training, as a point of contact to suggest
that probation officers receive more training on how to
identify and report child abuse.

Once the Legislature acts to amend and clarify the law to
ensure that CPS has the information needed to identify
paroled offenders who are known to have abused children:

· Corrections should make available to CPS release informa-
tion for all offenders—regardless of their crimes.

· Social Services, in conjunction with the local CPS agencies,
should develop guidelines for CPS on when and how to
contact and monitor families where a released offender poses
a harm to children.

Irrespective of legislative changes, to enhance the identification
and prevention of abuse, Corrections’ Parole and Community
Services Division should:

· Always include an order restricting a child abuser’s unsuper-
vised contact with minor children as a parole condition.

· Periodically train parole agents on how to identify and
report all forms of child abuse.
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AGENCY COMMENTS

Fresno County’s CPS and Probation Department, and Tulare
County’s CPS all concur with our recommendations. Social
Services stated that our analysis is thorough but believes that
between new legislation and modeling county CPS agencies’
actions after Fresno County’s task force, significant progress can
be made toward protecting children from abuse and neglect.
Corrections agrees with our recommendations for more training
and prohibiting abusers from contacting their victims. However,
Corrections believes caution should be used when determining
how much information to share with CPS agencies. ■
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INTRODUCTION

In 1994, the Haaland family—a father, mother, and two
sons—came to the attention of Fresno County law enforce-
ment and Child Protective Services (CPS) when the father

severely beat his oldest son. After that incident, both parents
were convicted of child abuse. The father was sentenced to five
years and four months in prison and the mother was put on
probation. While the father was incarcerated, the mother
worked with CPS and regained custody of her younger son,
Dustin; however, the older son was put up for adoption.
Believing the threat of abuse had passed, CPS closed the
Haaland family case in September 1996.

However, when the California Department of Corrections
(Corrections) paroled the father from prison in June 1998, he
returned to Fresno and moved in with the mother and Dustin,
even though his action violated his parole. Six months later,
Dustin’s body was found in a Fresno vineyard; the boy was
beaten to death. Fresno County authorities charged the father
with Dustin’s murder and two other felonies, and the mother
pled guilty to child endangerment and being an accessory after
the fact in Dustin’s death.

Three separate governmental agencies played a role in the
lives of this family: CPS, Corrections’ Parole and Community
Services Division (parole division), and the Fresno County
Probation Department. Each agency has a distinct mission
and serves a purpose separate from the others. Currently,
inmate release information is not shared by the other two
agencies with CPS.

CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES

Section 16500 of the Welfare and Institutions Code requires the
State, through the Department of Social Services (Social Services)
and county welfare departments, to establish and support a
public system of child welfare services. A state-mandated,
county-implemented program, CPS is a state program designated
to protect children from abuse. At the state level, Social Services
oversees CPS by setting forth regulations, then checking for

BACKGROUND
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county compliance with them. The Children’s Services Branch
of Social Services’ Children and Family Services Division admin-
isters CPS and other child welfare programs.

Although a county is generally allowed to implement and
operate its CPS agency as it sees fit, each agency must provide
four key services: emergency response, family maintenance,
family reunification, and permanent placement.

Emergency response to an allegation is an agency’s first step
in opening a case of suspected abuse against children. Thus, a
report of possible abuse from someone in a community is
needed to spur CPS to action. Within each county the law
requires schoolteachers, health care professionals, law enforce-
ment officers, and various other officials to report suspected
child abuse to CPS. Private citizens may also report to the
county agency on its emergency response line. Upon receiving
an allegation of abuse, an agency’s staff determines if the case
requires intervention, and if so, what level of intervention the
situation warrants. CPS must respond immediately to high-risk
situations and within 10 days to low-risk situations.

After investigating an allegation, CPS may leave a child at home
and offer family maintenance services designed to keep a family
intact while assisting it in eliminating abusive or neglectful
behavior. Examples of such services include counseling, parent
training, relief child care, or temporary in-home care. CPS
generally takes this approach when parents do not pose a high
risk of abusing or neglecting their children but need to
strengthen their parenting skills.

However, when it determines that the abuse or neglect is
such that a child cannot remain safely at home, CPS will
remove the child. If the court agrees with CPS’s assessment, the
child becomes a dependent of the court. The court will then
usually order the parents to participate in services CPS believes
will make the home environment safe for the child. These
services may include family counseling, drug counseling,
emergency shelter care, parent training, and homemaking skills.
When parent(s) show they can properly care for their children,
CPS reunites the family.

As of January 1998, legally established timelines govern how
long parents can receive services. CPS usually cannot offer more
than 18 months of services to make the family safe and stable
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for children. As a result, concurrent with reunification services,
CPS works to identify “an alternate permanent family structure”
for children it removes from unsafe homes. For example, if the
parents refuse services or do not adequately complete them, CPS
will have already identified an alternative such as long-term
foster care or adoption, so that the children in these cases can be
placed in a permanent family structure if needed.

The agency’s involvement with a child legally ends when the
child is no longer a dependent of the court. The courts terminate
dependency when the child and parent(s) are reunified or the
child is adopted; dependency may also be terminated when a
legal guardian is appointed. If the child is placed in long-term
foster care, the court retains dependency and CPS or the court
continues to periodically monitor the child’s well-being.

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS

Corrections operates and manages 33 prisons throughout the
State. With few exceptions, all released inmates are supervised
by Corrections’ parole division. Currently, there are about
111,000 parolees statewide, an average of 80 for each parole
agent to oversee. The parole division is broken down into
four distinct geographical regions, and each region, with the
exception of Los Angeles, is made up of multiple counties. The
regions are structured like a pyramid, with parole agents at the
bottom reporting to unit supervisors who in turn report to
district administrators. A district administrator is responsible for
several parole units within the region and reports to a regional
administrator.

No less than 60 days before an inmate is released, a parole agent
assesses the risk the parolee poses to society and develops the
parole conditions. There are two types of parole conditions:
general and special. General conditions apply to all parolees and
includes limitations on travel, prohibition on the access or use
of weapons, and a requirement to obey all laws. Special condi-
tions are developed on a case-by-case basis and may require the
parolee to seek psychiatric treatment, refrain from contact with
certain individuals, abstain from alcohol, and submit to periodic
drug testing. The types of parole conditions are based on an
inmate’s behavioral history, the nature of the crime committed,
and risk assessments made by criminal justice professionals.
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A parolee’s risk assessment also determines the needed
supervision. A parolee may be categorized as requiring a
high, moderate, or low degree of control. Parolees needing a
high degree of control generally have more frequent contact
with their parole agents than parolees requiring low amounts of
control. Once paroled, the offender must report to an assigned
parole agent on a predetermined basis until his or her term of
parole is completed. These contacts can take place at either the
parolee’s home or at the parole agent’s office.

Parolees do not have all of the rights private citizens enjoy.
Instead, parolees are subject to the authority of Corrections,
and parole violations may result in arrest and reincarceration.
However, current law limits parole terms to four years, after
which Corrections’ jurisdiction automatically terminates unless
a parolee is convicted of a new offense.

COUNTY PROBATION

Under county authority, probation departments supervise
juveniles and adults on probation while providing various
services to the courts. Each county’s adult probation department
supervises who receives court-ordered probationary supervision.
In conjunction with the courts, probation officers establish
probation conditions, including the frequency of a probationer
reporting to the probation officer, and any ordered drug testing,
counseling, or other requirements.

“DUSTIN’S LAW”

As a result of Dustin Haaland’s murder in Fresno County, the
Legislature introduced Senate Bill 1199, referred to as “Dustin’s
Law,” in an attempt to bridge the communication gap that may
have contributed to the boy’s tragic death. In October 1999, the
governor signed the bill, which becomes law on January 1, 2000.
This legislation increases the level of communication among the
State, local law enforcement, and county CPS agencies concern-
ing convicted child abusers. The three provisions of Dustin’s Law
relevant to child abuse are discussed on pages 13 and 14.
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SCOPE AND METHODOLOGY

The Joint Legislative Audit Committee requested the Bureau of
State Audits to evaluate law enforcement’s process for sharing
information about the release of convicted child abusers. Specifi-
cally, we were to assess whether any mechanism exists for state
and county agencies to communicate with one another regard-
ing paroled child abusers and to review the statutory authority
of CPS, the parole agencies, and county probation departments
regarding such cases. In completing our evaluation, we were
directed to review the communication links among the CPS
agencies, parole agencies, and probation departments in two
adjoining counties, Fresno and Tulare.

To fully understand the child protection system, parole opera-
tions, and probation process, we researched the applicable laws,
regulations, and other relevant information. We also reviewed
policies and procedures to understand the environment in
which all three entities operate. We identified the roles and
responsibilities of various state and local agencies that are
involved with CPS or that oversee and monitor convicted
child abusers. In addition, we interviewed staff at Corrections
and Social Services, the Central District Parole Office in
Fresno County, and also at the probation departments and CPS
agencies in Fresno and Tulare counties.

We also assessed the information currently available to parole,
probation, and CPS agecies and any restrictions to the sharing of
information among them. In addition, to better understand the
parole process, we rewiewed the case files of convicted child
abusers in the Central District Parole Office. Finally, we asked
judges who adjudicate child dependancy cases in Los Angeles
and Sacramento counties about the courts’ and CPS’s authority
over families where CPS has knowledge that child abuse has
taken place. ■
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AUDIT RESULTS
Child Protective Services Could Better
Prevent Child Abuse if It Had Open
Communications With Law
Enforcement About Released Inmates
and if It Had the Authority to Act

SUMMARY

The courts, Child Protective Services (CPS) agencies, and
the Department of Social Services (Social Services) staff all
agree that released offenders who abused their children in

the past may do so again. Also, among the three agencies, CPS is
the only statewide program charged specifically with providing
direct services to assure children’s safety and well-being. Never-
theless, current laws do not include CPS agencies in law
enforcement’s exchange of information about the release of
convicted child abusers. Moreover, even if these agencies did
receive the information, the law is unclear on whether they
have the authority to act.

The recent slaying of Dustin Haaland, allegedly by his paroled
father, dramatically illustrates how an uninformed CPS agency
cannot protect children from released offenders with a history of
abuse. In this case, the paroled father was well known to CPS for
abusing his older son in past years, but the agency had closed its
case on the family when Dustin was reunited with his mother
and was not alerted to the father’s release from state prison
several years later.

New legislation, “Dustin’s Law,” seeks to avoid serial abuse by
paroled child abusers by bridging the communication gap
between CPS and law enforcement agencies. Dustin’s Law,
however, does not require law enforcement to notify CPS of the
release of child abusers until the parolees violate their parole
conditions by contacting the children they formerly abused. So,
even after the law takes effect, the agency may not reach a
family in time to prevent further maltreatment. Also, Dustin’s
Law says nothing about paroled inmates who were convicted of
other offenses such as substance abuse or domestic violence, yet
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research indicates that many of these offenders may have also
committed child abuse. Finally, the new legislation does not
address child abusers on probation.

In response to Dustin’s death, Fresno County created a task force
of CPS, parole, and probation staff. This group has taken several
proactive steps to prevent a similar tragedy from occurring in
the future. For example, parole and probation staff notify CPS
when a convicted child abuser is released, and members of the
task force are making home visits to high-risk families.

However, if CPS had access to information about the release of
former child abusers, it still might be handicapped in its ability
to protect children from suffering additional harm. The law is
unclear on whether CPS has the authority to reopen cases
and intervene to prevent a recurrence of abuse without a
referral alleging current abuse or neglect. The judges, CPS
agency staff, and Social Services staff we interviewed had vary-
ing perspectives about the agency’s authority to intervene in
these circumstances.

Finally, local law enforcement can work on its own to improve a
child’s chances of escaping further abuse. Parole agencies and
probation departments both need to expand the training given
to agents and officers to recognize and prevent child abuse. In
addition, parole agents must do a better job of restricting child
abusers’ contact with their former victims.

CPS DOES NOT RECEIVE INMATE RELEASE DATA

The penal code allows, and in some cases requires, California
Department of Corrections (Corrections) to share inmate release
information with local law enforcement agencies. However,
under current law, CPS agencies do not receive inmate release
information. As a result, CPS agencies, unlike local law enforce-
ment, are unaware of an inmate’s release and therefore cannot
anticipate possible abuse by parolees or help protect the children
who are their targets.

Penal Code Section 3058.5 allows the California Department
of Corrections (Corrections) to share inmate release information
when local law enforcement requests it. This information
consists of a periodic listing of all parolees irrespective of
their offenses and the counties where they will be paroled.
In addition, Penal Code Sections 290 and 3058.6 require

Although the penal code
allows, and may require,
sharing of inmate release
information with local
law enforcement, CPS
agencies are not among
those notified.
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Corrections to notify law enforcement agencies of the pending
release of violent felons, sex offenders, and individuals con-
victed of certain child abuse crimes. Thus, Corrections assists
local law enforcement agencies, which can use this information
to anticipate possible criminal behavior by parolees against
citizens. However, because CPS does not receive inmate release
information, it has no advance warning that an offender with a
history of child abuse is reentering the community. This infor-
mation gap puts the agency at a disadvantage in safeguarding
vulnerable children from abuse.

CPS, parole, and probation need to start an information-sharing
process that will allow CPS agencies to compare key information
in their files with that of the parole division and probation
department to identify soon-to-be released inmates who may
pose a threat to children. The agencies also need to work with
parole agents and probation officers to set the conditions of
parole or probation for offenders whom CPS identifies from past
behavior as a potential danger to children.

NEW LEGISLATION DOES NOT FULLY BRIDGE THE
COMMUNICATION GAP BETWEEN CPS AND LAW
ENFORCEMENT

Following Dustin Haaland’s death, Dustin’s Law was passed and
takes effect in January 2000. This legislation attempts to close
the communication gap between parole and CPS regarding
paroled child abusers. However, information the new law
will provide CPS is limited and may not result in the level of
protection for children originally envisioned. For example,
Dustin’s Law requires parole officers to inform CPS agencies
only when certain child abuse and sex offenders violate their
parole, not when they are released. In addition, the new law
does not address child abusers convicted of other offenses.
Finally, CPS will receive no information on child abusers who
receive probation. Because of these limitations, the legislative
intent to prevent convicted child abusers from committing
further abuse may not be as effective as it could be.

Dustin’s Law is narrowly
targeted and may not be
as effective at preventing
child abuse as the
Legislature intended.
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Dustin’s Law contains the following provisions relating to child
abuse:

· The parole division must report to the appropriate child
protective agency when a paroled child abuser or sex of-
fender violates a condition of parole restricting contact with
the victim or the victim’s family.

· The parole division must give parole agents an annual
written summary of this duty to report parole violations and
of their duty to report suspected child abuse and neglect to
CPS agencies.

· When inmates convicted of specified child abuse-related
offenses are paroled, the parole division must tell local law
enforcement both in the community where the offenders
were convicted and in the community where they are
released.

Under Dustin’s Law, CPS May Learn Too Late About
Paroled Child Abusers

Dustin’s Law mandates that parole agents alert CPS to the
presence of a paroled child abuser, but only after the offender
violates parole by contacting a former victim—severely limiting
the agency’s opportunity to effectively intervene. For instance, a
condition of parole might be that an offender avoids contact
with anyone under the age of 18—yet the offender violates
parole and sees a child he or she formerly maltreated. If the
parole agent were to receive a tip about this violation from a
relative, by the time either the parole agent or CPS could take
action, the child might already have suffered further harm. It is
clear by this example that CPS needs parole information earlier
—ideally shortly before the inmate is released—so the agency
can assess the risk for further abuse and immediately contact
the family.

Dustin’s Law Does Not Add CPS to the Communication Loop
Between Parole and Local Law Enforcement

Although Dustin’s Law requires the parole division to notify
local law enforcement when a convicted child abuser is released,
it omits the local CPS agency—the agency at the local level
charged with assuring the well-being of children. Parole and
probation are legally structured to supervise offenders, most
often adult offenders, so neither of these agencies was looking

To effectively act, CPS
needs parole information
much sooner than
Dustin’s Law provides.
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out for Dustin. On the other hand, CPS focuses primarily on
children—making it a key player in any situation designed to
protect children from paroled child abusers. Because Dustin’s
Law does not include CPS among agencies receiving release
information, the notification process intended to protect
children from abuse is incomplete, leaving them at risk for
further harm by parolees.

Offenders Convicted of Crimes Other Than Child Abuse Are
Also a Threat to Children

By notifying CPS only when a released child abuser violates
parole, Dustin’s Law overlooks many offenders who may have
also abused children. Research shows a high correlation between
substance abuse and child abuse, as well as between wife batter-
ing and child abuse. Recent studies estimate that 50 percent to
80 percent of all substantiated child abuse cases involve some
degree of substance abuse. Our review of the case files at the
Central District Parole Office in Fresno for 10 parolees convicted
of child abuse or sexual abuse of children revealed that 8 were
required to participate in drug testing as a condition of parole,
further supporting the degree to which substance abuse and
child abuse are related. In addition, one study drawn from a
national survey of over 6,000 families found that 50 percent
of men who abuse their wives also abuse their children. This
study also found that the more serious the abuse against
women, the greater the likelihood that children will also suffer
harm. Given the established connection between drug abuse,
domestic violence, and child maltreatment, it is reasonable to
assume that a number of child abusers were convicted of drug
offenses and/or domestic battery, rather than of child abuse.
The exact percentage of child abusers within the 35,156 drug
offenders and domestic batterers currently on parole from
California prisons is unknown. But to exclude these categories
from a notification law potentially limits the effectiveness of
the new law in identifying offenders who continue to pose a
risk to children.

A Significant Number of Child Abusers Are Housed in County
Jails or are on Probation

In mandating reporting on offenders released only from state
prisons, Dustin’s Law overlooks child abusers and sexual abusers
of children who are incarcerated or receive probation at the
local level. Some child abusers spend no time in state prison,
but receive sentences mandating jail time, probation, or a

Research has shown that
drug abuse and domestic
violence are closely linked
to child abuse.
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combination of the two. For example, for her role in abusing
her oldest son, Dustin Haaland’s mother spent 33 days in
county jail before being released on probation. The number of
abusers that receive disciplinary action at the local level is
significant. For instance, Fresno County’s probation statistics, as
of September 1999, indicate that 263 offenders convicted of
felony child abuse or sexual abuse of minors were on probation.

FRESNO COUNTY AGENCIES HAVE INDEPENDENTLY
TAKEN STEPS TO INCREASE COMMUNICATION AND
COORDINATION

In the wake of the Haaland case and in anticipation of Dustin’s
Law, Fresno County has taken action to prevent similar inci-
dents in the future. Specifically, CPS, the probation department,
and the Central District Parole Office formed a multiagency task
force to better communicate about the release and monitoring
of convicted child abusers. The task force has taken some
preliminary steps including setting up CPS training for law
enforcement, sharing information, and forming a subcommittee
to make visits to high-risk families.

As a result of the task force, CPS started training the probation
department, parole district, and other Fresno County law
enforcement agencies in November 1999. The training focuses
on helping law enforcement officers identify instances of abuse
or neglect while working in the field and on understanding
CPS’s protocol for responding to abusive situations. The task
force hopes this training will increase law enforcement officers’
awareness of potential instances of child abuse.

Also, Fresno County probation and the Central District Parole
Office both recently began calling CPS to alert it of the release of
a convicted child abuser. The task force also designated an
informal subcommittee comprised of one representative each
from probation, parole, and CPS to meet and share information.
As of October 1999, the task force had met three times and the
subcommittee had met once. The subcommittee met to identify
children in at-risk situations that require home visits—defined as
children in homes where both parents have been convicted of
child abuse and are on either parole or probation. The task force
has thus far begun making home visits to 11 identified high-risk
families. To date, the visits resulted in CPS removing one child
from a dangerous situation.

The county CPS,
probation department,
and parole office formed
a task force to better
share information and
monitor convicted child
abusers.
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CPS’S AUTHORITY TO ACT ON INMATE RELEASE DATA
IS UNCLEAR

As CPS agencies are in the best position to know which parents
pose a threat to their children because of past abusive behaviors,
it is logical for law enforcement to let the agencies know about
released inmates who may endanger children. Unfortunately,
current law is unclear as to whether CPS agencies could act even
when informed about released inmates CPS knew had histories
of child abuse. Laws and regulations governing CPS agencies
indicate they are designed to react to child abuse or neglect, not
anticipate it by opening cases when they perceive a potential
risk. To test the feasibility of CPS and law enforcement sharing
information to identify abusive parents and working together to
prevent abuse, we proposed the idea to two judges who hear
child dependency cases, CPS agency staff in Fresno and Tulare
counties, and Social Services staff. These groups differ on how
much authority CPS has in working with families where a
parent released from prison may be a risk to their children.

Existing laws and regulations define CPS’s role as a reactive
one—in other words, CPS responds to alleged incidences of
abuse and neglect that have already taken place. The Welfare
and Institutions Code, Section 16500 et seq., and the Social
Services’ Manual of Policies and Procedures, Child Welfare
Services, outline the role and responsibilities of CPS agencies.
Generally, an agency’s role and responsibilities include imple-
menting an emergency response system, providing services to
families to prevent or remedy neglect and abuse, and developing
alternate permanent family structures for children who cannot
safely remain with their natural parents. The Welfare and Insti-
tutions Code, Section 16501, implicitly establishes that there
must be an allegation of child abuse before a response is war-
ranted or these services are required. Section 16504 establishes
when a child is eligible for child protective services “. . . any
child reported to the county . . . to be endangered by abuse,
neglect, or exploitation shall be eligible for initial intake and
evaluation of risk services.” Also, the regulations developed by
Social Services assume that the emergency response service and
other services are provided in response to a referral to CPS.

To have avoided Dustin Haaland’s slaying, the CPS agency
would have needed more than the information about the
father’s parole—it would have needed the authority to reopen
its case and monitor the family. We asked juvenile court judges
in Los Angeles and Sacramento counties whether CPS has any

Existing laws define CPS’s
role as a reactive one
responding only after
harm takes place.
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authority to intervene when released inmates are known to the
agency for having exhibited past abusive behavior toward a
child. According to the Los Angeles judge, the agency’s primary
role is to assess a child’s risk for neglect and abuse and respond
accordingly to that risk. For that reason, the judge believes
that if CPS has knowledge of an inmate’s release and thinks
the release presents a substantial risk of harm to a child, the
agency has sufficient cause to reopen a case and act accordingly.
This judge’s perception in such cases is that CPS need not wait
for an allegation that abuse had occurred, but can take actions
to prevent such abuse when a substantial risk of harm is present.

The Sacramento County juvenile court judge also believes CPS
could contact a family upon the parolee’s release. However, this
judge said that without court jurisdiction or further evidence
of abuse, if the family did not want to voluntarily cooperate
with the agency, then CPS would have to cease intervention.
Alternatively, the judge suggested that in families where one
parent has been incarcerated and is known to CPS for past child
maltreatment, the court could retain the child as a dependent
until the parent is released and the agency could then assess the
risk for continued abuse. However, this judge thought the
Welfare and Institutions Code may limit the courts in applying
this authority. In any event, the judge was certain that CPS has
the authority to give law enforcement the names of parents who
pose a risk to children, so the agency could be notified when
those parents are released from custody. Although other officials
we spoke with believed that sharing such information violated
CPS’s confidentiality requirements, this judge stated that
confidentiality applies only to the children, not their parents.

To get their perspective, we asked both the Fresno and Tulare
CPS agencies whether they can reopen a case when former
abusers are released. The Fresno CPS agreed that inmates known
to the agency for past abusive behavior may be a risk to children
upon release. The Fresno CPS believes it would be valuable to
know when inmates fitting this profile are incarcerated and
when they are released, so the agency could assess a child’s risk
for further abuse and take appropriate actions. Generally, the
Fresno CPS thinks the court would support such intervention.
However, the Fresno CPS was less certain the courts would
support any CPS action when an inmate’s history was one of
minor forms of neglecting, rather than physically or sexually
abusing their children. In that case, the courts might say the
risk was not substantial enough to warrant contacting the
family and monitoring the well-being of the children upon

One judge believes that
if CPS knows that a
released inmate could
pose a child abuse threat,
CPS has cause to open
a case.
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the inmate’s release. Neglecting a child by not providing
adequate housing, supervision, food, or clothing is considered
child abuse; however, unlike physical abuse, neglect might result
in a lower-risk assessment for a parolee. Finally, Fresno CPS did
not believe that existing confidentiality laws prohibit it from
sharing certain information about abusive parents with law
enforcement.

The Tulare CPS, on the other hand, maintains that CPS is a
reactive system that cannot act without first receiving a report of
suspected abuse or neglect. The assistant agency director stated
that without such an allegation, CPS would be monitoring
these families with no defined end-point to its involvement.
Furthermore, he stated that in cases like these, if the family
refuses to work with CPS, the agency would have no other
recourse than to cease its attempts to intervene. The assistant
agency director also expressed a concern about confidentiality,
since the nature of CPS’s work generally prohibits sharing case
information. He thinks the amount of information CPS can
share with outside agencies, such as parole and probation, limits
its ability to communicate and coordinate. However, the Tulare
County counsel stated that CPS could give law enforcement the
names of incarcerated parents to ensure the agency is notified
when those parents are released from custody.

We also spoke with Social Services staff regarding the ability of
CPS agencies to respond to inmate release information and the
confidentiality of CPS records. Social Services agreed that an
agency’s role is to assess children’s risk for abuse and neglect.
It supports local CPS agencies, upon receiving data from
Corrections, reviewing their open cases and case/referral
histories to determine if the parolee had prior involvement with
CPS. If so, an agency could treat the inmate-release notification
as a new referral and assess the risk to the child. However, Social
Services could not anticipate the resulting additional cost and
the local agencies’ added caseload because no one knows how
many formerly abusive parents are incarcerated and due for
release or how much work it would take to evaluate the
children’s safety in these cases. Additionally, Social Services
believes confidentiality of CPS records is a large, complex issue
that should be studied. Because of its interpretation of the laws
regarding confidentiality, Social Services believes that CPS is
prohibited from automatically exchanging information with
Corrections.

One CPS agency believes
it can only respond to
allegations of child
abuse, it cannot legally
act to prevent it.
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LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT CAN TAKE ADDITIONAL
STEPS TO HELP PREVENT FURTHER CHILD ABUSE

Beyond sharing information with CPS, parole and probation can
each do more internally to reduce children’s risk of abuse by
released inmates. For example, both parole and probation have a
mandate to report suspected child abuse, but offer their staffs
only limited training on how to recognize it. In addition, our
case review at the Central District Parole Office indicates that
parole agents do not always ensure that convicted child abusers
are restricted from contacting their former victims. As a result,
offenders may be living with past victims and resuming abuse
while on parole.

Parole and Probation Provide Limited Child Abuse Training

Parole agents and probation officers are required by law to
report suspected child abuse and neglect to CPS. To prepare for
this duty, both parole agents and probation officers must be
trained to identify and report child abuse. Child abuse can take
many forms, including neglecting a child’s basic need for food
and shelter, constant verbal abuse, sexual abuse, and physical
abuse. Because parole agents and probation officers might come
into contact with abused children in the course of their work, it
is critical that they be able to recognize all the signs of abuse,
judge its severity, and know how to report it. However, the
training offered to both parole agents and probation officers is
too limited, usually consisting of one short training session.

Currently, parole agents going through the parole academy
receive a one-time four-hour training session on the various
forms of child abuse and how to report it. Although the Central
District Parole Office will soon provide more training on child
abuse, no laws or departmental policies currently require parole
agents to take other training beyond the academy class. A single
four-hour training session in child abuse reporting does not
seem sufficient for parole agents to learn how to recognize the
various forms of child abuse and to know when and how to
report it. Also, a one-time academy training session for new
agents should be repeated periodically so that more veteran
agents receive refresher training on this important subject.
Because the central district administrator in Fresno County
agrees that a one-time training class is insufficient, the district is
taking steps to provide its parole agents with more training in
recognizing and reporting child abuse. In addition, Corrections

Parole agents and
probation officers could
benefit from expanded
training to identify and
report child abuse.
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agrees that the one-time training class is not sufficient. It plans
to develop a policy that provides additional periodic training in
identifying and reporting child abuse.

Similarly, probation could give its officers more training on
identifying and reporting child abuse. In Fresno County, for
example, the only training specific to child abuse that all proba-
tion officers receive occurs during the initial core training on
probation officers’ duties. The probation officers’ responsibilities
to identify and report suspected child abuse are taught in one
five-hour course called “Indicators of Family Violence,” but the
course also covers elder and spousal abuse. Although the Fresno
probation department offers its probation officers an additional
eight-hour training class focusing on child abuse, we believe
that in addition to their initial training, mandatory periodic
training could help probation officers to more readily and
accurately identify child abuse. The department’s director of
adult probation concurs with our conclusion that additional
training would better enable probation officers to spot poten-
tially abusive situations.

Parole Agents Do Not Always Ensure That Convicted Child
Abusers Are Restricted From Contacting Their Victims

Parole agents sometimes fail to prohibit convicted child abusers
from having any contact with their former victims. At the
Central District Parole Office, we reviewed 10 case files for
people convicted of child abuse or sexual crimes involving
children. The central district administrator stated that in these
types of cases the parole division’s general practice is to impose a
special condition of prohibiting the parolee from having any
unsupervised contact with former victims. However, 3 of the
10 case files we reviewed neither contained this restriction nor
any documentation explaining why such a restriction had been
waived. As a result, the parole district in Fresno is less likely to
ensure that certain convicted child abusers under its supervision
are not inflicting further abuse on children. The central district
administrator agreed with our findings. He indicated that subse-
quent to our review he met with supervisors to ensure that the
parole agents impose a special condition of parole prohibiting
convicted child abusers from having unsupervised contact with
former victims.
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RECOMMENDATIONS

Because CPS agencies do not currently receive inmate release
information and because Dustin’s Law will not fully bridge the
communication gap between the agencies and law enforcement,
the Legislature should:

· Amend Dustin’s Law so that CPS agencies receive informa-
tion regarding incarcerated offenders due for release,
irrespective of the offense for which they were convicted.

It is unclear whether CPS has the authority to act under current
law if given notice of an offender’s parole. Therefore, the Legisla-
ture should:

· Make clear CPS’s role to allow it to assess the risk that
released offenders pose to children, provide it with the
authority to offer input in determining the conditions of
parole, and to intervene in high-risk situations.

· Make clear CPS’s ability to share information concerning
child abusers with members of law enforcement such as
parole agents and probation officers.

Finally, adults on probation or incarcerated in county facilities
may also harm children, and Dustin’s Law is silent regarding
these offenders. Probation officers therefore play an important
role in identifying and reporting suspected abuse. Because of
this, the Legislature should:

· Explore the feasibility of requiring the 58 counties’ probation
departments to inform CPS concerning offenders soon to be
released from county jail or who receive probation and
consider CPS agencies’ input when setting conditions for
probation.

· Use the Board of Corrections, the standard setting body for
probation officer training, as a point of contact to suggest
that training to effectively identify and report child abuse be
expanded to include periodic refresher training.

Once the Legislature acts to amend and clarify the law to ensure
that CPS has the information needed to identify soon-to-be
paroled offenders, regardless of their crime, who are known to
have abused children:
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· The Corrections’ Parole and Community Services Division
should make available to CPS offender-release information
and seek input from CPS when developing parole conditions
for offenders known to CPS to have abused children in the
past.

· Social Services, in conjunction with local CPS agencies,
should develop guidelines for advising local CPS agencies
when and how to contact and monitor families where a
released offender poses a renewed threat to the children.

To enhance the identification and prevention of further abuse
without the need of legislative action, the Corrections’ Parole
and Community Services Division should:

· Provide its staff periodic training focused on identifying and
reporting all forms of child abuse.

· Ensure that its parole agents always incorporate into parole
conditions an order restricting a child abuser’s unsupervised
contact with minor children.

We conducted this review under the authority vested in the California State Auditor by
Section 8543 et seq. of the California Government Code and according to generally accepted
government auditing standards. We limited our review to those areas specified in the audit
scope section of this report.

Respectfully submitted,

KURT R. SJOBERG
State Auditor

Date: December  9, 1999

Staff: Doug Cordiner, Audit Principal
Sharon Smagala, CPA
Andrew Roth
Hitomi Sekine, CPA
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Agency’s comments provided as text only.

Human Services System
1221 Fulton Mall
Fresno, California  93775

November 22, 1999

Kurt R. Sjoberg
State Auditor
555 Capitol Mall, Suite 300
Sacramento, California  95814

Dear Mr. Sjoberg:

The purpose of this letter is to respond to the report entitled Child Protective Services:  Agencies
are Limited in Their Ability to Protect Children from Abuse by Released Inmates.  This report
contains a comprehensive systemic overview of Parole, Probation and Child Protective Services;
their purpose and systemic gaps.  The Human Services System, Department of Children and
Family Services concurs with the recommendations contained in this report and views it as a
springboard for strengthening these systems through the provision of additional protection for
vulnerable children.

As the report notes, Fresno County has established a task force of Child Protective Services,
Parole and Probation staff.  The focus of this task group has been the establishment of procedures
to alert CPS when a convicted child abuser is being released so that a tragedy similar to Dustin
Haaland does not occur.  The Department of Children and Family Services has concurrently
implemented a Multi-Disciplinary Round Table (MDRT) model for serving at risk families.  The
MDRT consists of professionals who work in a collaborative and coordinated manner to address
child maltreatment.  The team includes a Licensed Mental Health Clinician, Public Health Nurse,
Substance Abuse Specialist, Probation Officer and Social Worker.  Other consultants, such as law
enforcement are called to participate in the MDRT as needed.  This team works alongside the
family to develop written case plans, which is agreed upon at the meeting and subsequently
included into a court report or case plan.  This approach will ensure that the community does a
better job of protecting abused children.

While this department embraces each recommendation, it recognizes that additional service levels
will be required at the County level if these recommendations are adopted and incorporated into
child welfare mandates. The department would like to take this opportunity to emphasize that the
underpinning of any successful recommendation is that it is accompanied by resources that match
its intent.

Fresno County was happy to be a participant in looking at better ways to protect abused children.

Sincerely,

(Signed by: David Dent and Salvador Montana)

David Dent, Director Human Services System

Salvador Montana, Director Department of Children and Family Services
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Agency’s comments provided as text only.

Department of Social Services
744 P Street
Sacramento, California  95814

November 22, 1999

Kurt R. Sjoberg
State Auditor
Bureau of State Audits
555 Capitol Mall, Suite 300
Sacramento, California 95814

Dear Mr. Sjoberg:

Thank you for allowing us to comment on the draft of your audit report entitled “Child Protective
Services: Agencies Are Limited in Their Ability to Protect Children From Abuse by Released
Inmates.”  We have reviewed this draft and believe that the auditor provided a thorough analy-
sis of system issues.

We applaud your recognition of Fresno County’s actions to improve their system of preventing
neglect and abuse of its children through creative and collaborative efforts.  We would like to
consider Fresno County’s actions as best practice for the rest of the 57 counties.  The CDSS
will look for opportunities to enhance communication among the counties about Fresno’s
efforts.

Governor Davis signed SB 1199 and we are encouraged that it will result in increased protec-
tion of children from neglect and abuse.  When SB 1199 is implemented, we may find that the
new law, in combination with Fresno County’s action as a model, will lead to significant
progress toward what we all agree is important—the protection of children from abuse and
neglect.

In the event legislation is proposed beyond existing law and Fresno County’s best practices,
it would be important to analyze the impact on workload so that counties have adequate
resources to act.

Should you have any questions regarding our response, please contact Del Sayles-Owen,
Acting Deputy Director, Children and Family Services Division at (916) 657-2614.

Sincerely,

(Signed by: Rita Saenz)

RITA SAENZ
Director

1

*California State Auditor’s comments appear on page 29.

*
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For the reasons discussed on pages 14 and 15, the informa-
tion Dustin’s Law will provide to Child Protective
Services is limited and may occur too late to provide

the level of child protection envisioned. Additionally, while
Fresno’s task force has taken several positive steps to better
protect children, it only considers cases in which both parents
have been convicted of child abuse, a much smaller population
than the one we believe poses a threat to children.

1

COMMENTS
California State Auditor’s
Comments on the Response
From the Department of
Social Services
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Agency’s comments provided as text only.

Date: November 22, 1999

To: Kurt R. Sjoberg
State Auditor
Bureau of State Audits

Subject: RESPONSE TO BUREAU OF STATE AUDITS’ REPORT ON “CHILD
PROTECTIVE SERVICES: AGENCIES ARE LIMITED IN THEIR ABILITY TO
PROTECT CHILDREN FROM ABUSE BY RELEASED INMATES

I am responding to the issues identified in the recent Bureau of State Audits’ report on child
protective services as they relate to the role of the California Department of Corrections (CDC).
The following addresses the specific areas of concern:

The CDC Should Make Available to Child Protective Services Release Information for All
Offenders - Regardless of Their Crime

Audit findings revealed that:  (1) the Penal Code allows, and in some cases requires, CDC to
share inmate release information with local law enforcement agencies; (2) under current law,
because Child Protective Services (CPS) is not among those that receive the release informa-
tion, there is no advance warning that an offender with a history of child abuse is re-entering
the community; (3) this information gap puts CPS at a disadvantage in safeguarding vulnerable
children; and (4) there is a need for legislation that would allow CPS to receive information
regarding incarcerated offenders due to be released.

We agree with the auditors’ findings regarding current law requirements concerning notification.
Under current law, CDC is prohibited from sharing certain information with CPS.  Senate Bill
(SB) 1199 (Costa) was signed by the Governor on October 10, 1999.  This bill addresses some
information sharing/intervention measures regarding child abusers and provides some im-
provements to the notification process.  The new law, effective January 1, 2000, expands the
current CDC requirement to provide notice to local law enforcement agencies regarding the
release of a violent offender to include notification on the release of child abusers.  Further, SB
1199 requires that CDC provide notifications to local law enforcement in the inmate’s county of
commitment as well as the county of release.  Additionally, CDC must notify the appropriate
child protective agency if a child abuse offender has violated a condition of parole by contacting
the victim or the victim’s family.  The CDC is in the process of implementing SB 1199.

Department of Corrections
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Kurt R. Sjoberg
Page 2

The CDC will be formulating a multi-agency task force in each parole region that will improve
communication with CPS, the probation department and the Parole and Community Services
Division (P&CSD).  It is anticipated that each task force will be operative by March 2000.

The report makes the recommendation that CPS be notified of all “information regarding incar-
cerated offenders due to be released, irrespective of the offense they were convicted of.”   The
CDC releases approximately 150,000 inmates each year.  The majority of the parolees have no
record of crimes against children.  Caution should be exercised when determining the extent of
information to be provided to CPS under any future legislation.  The CPS could be inundated
with unnecessary information, thereby defeating the intended purpose of the notification.

Additional Periodic Training Should be Provided to Parole Agents Regarding Child Abuse
Identification and Reporting

Current CDC policy requires a one time, four-hour block of training for parole agents concern-
ing their mandate to report suspected child abuse.  In 1997, the training was conducted for
existing parole agents.  Parole agents hired subsequent to the initial training receive the four-
hour training at the parole agent academy.

We agree that additional periodic training is essential to ensure each parole agent receives
adequate and up to date information regarding child abuse identification and reporting.  The
divisional training staff will update the parole agent academy curriculum for child abuse report-
ing and identification.  The CDC is also working to develop a method for delivering refresher
training to parole agents within existing resources.  It is anticipated that training procedures and
a schedule for the refresher training will be completed by March 2000.

A Special Condition of Parole of No Contact with the Victim Is Not Always Imposed for Parolees
Convicted of Child Abuse Offenses

It is the general policy of CDC to impose special conditions of parole for parolees convicted of
child abuse offenses.  To ensure that such conditions are being imposed appropriately, parole
field staff will conduct a 100 percent review of current parole cases meeting the offense criteria.
The CDC will initiate the 100 percent review during the first week in December 1999.  It is
anticipated that all applicable files will be reviewed by the first part of January 2000.  Any cases
that do not have the appropriate special conditions will be corrected.  Prospectively, parole
agents will ensure that special conditions are imposed during pre-parole processing which
occurs between 60 and 90 days prior to release.

1*

*California State Auditor’s comments appear on page 35.
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Kurt R. Sjoberg
Page 3

Summary

We are taking immediate steps to ensure that CDC is in compliance with current policy and
procedures.  We have developed an implementation plan for SB 1199 that will be issued to staff
by the first week in December 1999.  We will review all parole cases that meet the offense
criteria for child abuse offenders and ensure that special conditions of parole are appropriately
incorporated.  Plans for parole agent training and establishing the multi-agency task force will
be implemented by March 2000.

I appreciate the opportunity to respond to the issues identified by your audit team.  I would also
like to commend your staff for the professional manner in which they conducted the audit.

(Signed by: Teresa Rocha for:)

C.A. TERHUNE
Director
Department of Corrections
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COMMENTS
California State Auditor’s
Comments on the Response
From the California Department
of Corrections

As we discuss on page 15, there are doubtless many
offenders convicted of other crimes that pose a risk to
children upon their release. Our recommendation, if

implemented, would allow Child Protective Services agencies in
each county to match the child abusers in their files against the
offenders being released in their county. Using the California
Department of Corrections’ estimate for annual releases, this
would average less than 2,600 parolees per county per year.

1
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cc: Members of the Legislature
Office of the Lieutenant Governor
Attorney General
State Controller
Legislative Analyst
Assembly Office of Research
Senate Office of Research
Assembly Majority/Minority Consultants
Senate Majority/Minority Consultants
Capitol Press Corps
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