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Michael S. Tilden Acting State Auditor

October 18, 2022
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The Governor of California
President pro Tempore of the Senate
Speaker of the Assembly

State Capitol

Sacramento, California 95814

Dear Governor and Legislative Leaders:

In our office’s audit of the batterer intervention programs, we determined that the system—
including probation departments, courts, and program providers—had limited impact in
reducing domestic violence, and it could improve significantly with statewide guidance and
oversight. To reach this conclusion, we reviewed the batterer intervention systems in Alameda,
Contra Costa, Del Norte, Los Angeles, and San Joaquin counties.

The system has not adequately held offenders accountable to complete a required batterer
intervention program. These county probation departments and providers frequently did not
inform the court when offenders violated conditions of their probation, and the courts only
imposed escalating consequences for 10 percent of the violations of which they were aware. These
shortcomings contributed, in part, to nearly half of the offenders whose records we reviewed not
completing the program. More importantly, 65 percent of those offenders who did not complete
the full program recidivated for domestic violence or other abuse-related crimes. In contrast,
only 20 percent of the offenders who did complete the program reoffended, demonstrating that
intervention can be effective if offenders attend and complete the program as the law requires.

The probation departments we reviewed largely neglected their program oversight responsibilities
by approving or renewing programs that did not fully comply with state law. In fact, none of those
five probation departments has a sufficient framework for program oversight and compliance.

The inconsistent and ineffective practices we found have plagued the batterer intervention
system for at least three decades, creating a critical need for statewide guidance and oversight.
A state oversight agency could track domestic violence data, establish program standards,
oversee program providers, and ensure adequate supervision of offenders to reduce future acts of
domestic violence and the harm it causes to victims.

Respectfully submitted,
i Zs
MICHAEL S. TILDEN, CPA

Acting California State Auditor

621 Capitol Mall, Suite 1200 | Sacramento, CA 95814 | 916.445.0255 | 916.327.0019 fax | www.auditor.ca.gov
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Summary

Results in Brief

Domestic violence is a serious public safety and health issue,
affecting families, communities, and the criminal justice system.

In 2010 the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reported
that every minute, an average of nearly 20 people are physically
abused by an intimate partner in the United States, totaling more
than 10 million victims per year. Research further shows that one

in six homicides is a result of domestic violence. In an effort to stop
domestic violence, California law requires that when a court places
a person convicted of a crime of domestic violence (offender) on
probation, that offender must complete a batterer intervention
program (program) of not less than one year, commonly referred to
as a 52-week program. These programs consist of a structured weekly
educational course, which includes group discussions and strategies
to hold the offender accountable for violence in a relationship.

Courts, probation departments, and program providers each play
key roles in supervising offenders and holding them accountable to
the conditions of their probation.! These entities compose what is
commonly referred to as the batterer intervention system. Courts
are responsible for sentencing offenders and supervising offenders
on informal probation, while probation departments are responsible
for supervising offenders on formal probation. Finally, program
providers are responsible for delivering education to offenders with
the goal of stopping domestic violence.

We reviewed the probation departments, courts, and a selection
of program providers in five counties: Alameda, Contra Costa,
Del Norte, Los Angeles, and San Joaquin. We found that entities
in each county did not implement key aspects of the batterer
intervention system and therefore mostly failed to adequately hold
offenders accountable to the conditions of their probation. These
deficiencies in implementation likely contributed to low numbers
of offenders completing a program. Specifically, nearly half of the
100 offenders we selected for review did not complete the full
program, and the majority of the offenders who did not complete
it subsequently reoffended. In contrast, the offenders we reviewed
who did successfully complete the full program were far less likely
to reoffend than those who did not.

T State law mostly uses the term program when discussing the program providers' responsibilities.
Because each program provider is responsible for developing and administering its respective
program, we use the terms program and program provider interchangeably in this report.

October 2022

Audit Highlights ...

Our audit of California’s batterer intervention
system in Alameda, Contra Costa, Del Norte,

Los Angeles, and San Joaquin counties found
that it mostly failed to adequately hold offenders
accountable to the conditions of their probation.

» The batterer intervention system’s inadequate
offender supervision has undermined the
programs’ effectiveness in addressing
domestic violence.

« Nearly half of the domestic violence
offenders whose records we reviewed did
not complete the program.

« Probation departments and program
providers often did not report probation
violations to the court.

« The courts did not impose escalating
consequences for a significant majority
of probation violations, including when
offenders violated protective orders.

» The probation departments we reviewed
did not fully perform their program
oversight responsibilities.

« They have not established sufficient
program standards.

« They each approved or renewed program
providers that may not have been qualified
to rehabilitate offenders effectively.

« They could not demonstrate that they
conducted appropriate program site visits.

» State oversight and guidance could improve
the batterer intervention system.

« Legislative changes could ensure better
oversight and allow policymakers to make
data-driven decisions to improve effectiveness
and rectify longstanding problems.



2

California State Auditor Report 2021-113

October 2022

A lack of critical data prevented us from precisely assessing the
factors that correlate with program success or failure. However,

we identified deficiencies in three critical areas that were likely
major contributing causes to low program completion rates. First,
probation departments did not consistently assess all offenders

for underlying issues, such as mental health or substance abuse
concerns, that might interfere with an offender’s ability to complete
a program. Second, probation departments, program providers, and
courts generally did not hold many of the offenders we reviewed
accountable for probation and program violations. Although state
law requires probation departments and program providers to
report these violations to the courts, they did not always do so

for the offenders we reviewed. Finally, even when notified about
offenders’ violations, the courts, in some instances, referred

the offenders back to a program without imposing additional
consequences. Although the courts have discretion to consider

the circumstances of each offender, their decisions not to impose
escalating penalties on offenders who violate their probation likely
weakens the impact of programs.

Many of the deficiencies we identified occurred at least in part
because none of the five probation departments had established
sufficient standards, policies, and procedures for overseeing
program providers and ensuring program compliance. In the
absence of adequate oversight, some program providers did not
supervise offenders appropriately or report required information—
such as offender absences and program fees—to the courts and
probation departments. Moreover, the probation departments
often did not conduct annual on-site reviews of programs as

state law requires, and when the departments did conduct these
reviews, some were not comprehensive and did not identify areas
in which program providers were noncompliant. As a result, each
department approved or renewed providers who did not fully
comply with state law and who may be offering programs that are
ineffective at reducing domestic violence.

The Legislature could improve the effectiveness and consistency

of the batterer intervention system by including additional
definitions, requirements, and safeguards in state law. Specifically,
it could require initial assessments of all offenders before a court
orders either formal or informal probation, rather than only after

a court imposes formal probation. These initial assessments could
reveal any underlying issues that the court should consider during
sentencing. Because of the numerous problems and inconsistencies
we identified in how the courts, probation departments, and
program providers address offenders’ unallowed absences, the State
would also benefit from further legislative direction on this issue.



Decades of previous reviews have revealed similar systemic
failures to those we identified in our current audit. Thus, we
believe designating a statewide oversight agency—specifically,

the California Department of Justice (Justice)—is critical for
ensuring the effectiveness of the State’s efforts to reduce and
prevent domestic violence. Other states, including Kansas,
Massachusetts, Texas, and Washington, have oversight agencies
that approve, monitor, and renew their program providers. In
addition to performing these responsibilities, a statewide oversight
agency in California could provide comprehensive guidance to
program providers, rather than the inconsistent and inadequate
guidance providers currently receive from county probation
departments. The oversight agency could also standardize program
curriculum and instructor qualification requirements; track

and analyze offender and program data; and collaborate with
relevant stakeholders to recommend quality improvements to
ensure that programs achieve the desired outcomes. Finally, the
oversight agency could work with the Judicial Council of California
(Judicial Council) to ensure that the courts and judges have
sufficient guidance on holding offenders accountable when they
violate the conditions of their probation. Without this additional
oversight, it will be difficult for policymakers to make informed
decisions about how to improve California’s approach to reducing
domestic violence.

California State Auditor Report 2021-113
October 2022
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Recommendations

The following are the recommendations we made as a result of our
audit. Descriptions of the findings and conclusions that led to these
recommendations can be found in the chapters of this report.

Legislature

To ensure that courts have vital information when sentencing
offenders, the Legislature should require probation departments to
assess all domestic violence offenders, rather than just those who are
placed on formal probation, and to do so before the court sentences
the offenders. In addition to the current requirements in state law, the
initial assessments should determine an offender’s sexual orientation,
gender identity, and financial means to facilitate providing the
offender with appropriate rehabilitative programs and services.

To ensure that all program providers and probation departments
require offenders to attend programs consistently, the Legislature
should define unexcused absences and provide direction as to
whether unexcused absences are allowed and whether offenders
must make up missed classes.

To ensure that all courts and program providers use a consistent
approach to fee waivers and fee scales, the Legislature should define
indigence and ability to pay as they pertain to California Penal
Code section 1203.097. It should also expressly prohibit probation
departments and program providers from authorizing fee waivers.

To ensure that offenders have sufficient information when choosing
a program provider, the Legislature should require program
providers to publicly post a comprehensive description of their
sliding fee scales, and it should require the courts to provide each
offender with a selection of available program providers, including
their standard fees and sliding fee scales, before the offender agrees
to the conditions of probation. Further, the Legislature should
require the courts to inform offenders of the availability of fee
waivers for those who may not have the ability to pay for a program.

To ensure that probation departments and providers provide to the
courts timely notification about offenders’ program and probation
violations, the Legislature should require immediate reporting of all
program and probation violations. Further, the Legislature should
define immediate as within a specified number of business days,
such as two business days, after an entity learns of a violation.

October 2022
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To ensure that probation departments, courts, and program
providers comply with state law, the Legislature should designate
Justice as responsible for the oversight of the batterer intervention
system. Its duties should include the following:

+ Approving, monitoring, and renewing all program providers.

+ Conducting periodic audits of probation departments and
program providers.

+ Establishing statewide comprehensive standards through
regulations, including but not limited to, facilitators” educational
requirements and a 52-week curriculum.

+ Identifying or developing a comprehensive offender assessment tool.

+ Collaborating with the Judicial Council and relevant
stakeholders, such as law enforcement representatives, mental
health professionals, rehabilitative experts, victims” advocates,
and district attorneys, to set standards for programs.

+ Tracking relevant offender and program data to analyze program
effectiveness.

Alameda, Contra Costa, Del Norte, Los Angeles, and San Joaquin
Probation Departments

To ensure that offenders are held accountable for complying with
the conditions of their probation, the five probation departments
should, by April 2023, formalize and implement comprehensive
policies and procedures for domestic violence case management
that clearly describe the departments’ expectations for probation
staft’s compliance with state law.

To ensure program compliance with state law, each of the

five probation departments should, by April 2023, formalize
comprehensive program standards for program providers that
present clear guidance on the department’s expectations and the
documentation it will review to verify compliance with state law.
The probation departments should distribute these standards to
program providers during their initial application and approval
process and again annually during the renewal process.

To ensure that program providers comply with probation
departments’ standards and state law, the five probation
departments should develop and follow formalized policies
and procedures for approving, renewing, and conducting
comprehensive ongoing monitoring of program providers



by April 2023. These policies should specify the frequency of
monitoring, the documentation the department will require of
program providers to demonstrate compliance, and the specific
actions the department will take when a provider is noncompliant.

To comply with state law, Alameda Probation and Contra Costa
Probation should immediately implement record retention policies
to maintain documentation on all offenders for five years after the
offenders complete or are terminated from probation.

To comply with state law, San Joaquin Probation should
immediately follow its record retention policies to maintain
documentation on all offenders for five years after the offenders
complete or are terminated from probation.

To ensure that the courts can provide an offender with a selection
of available program providers and their costs before the offender
agrees to attend a program as a condition of probation, the
probation departments should maintain standard program fee
information and sliding fee scales for each of the providers they
oversee. The probation departments should make this information
available to the courts by April 2023.

Judicial Council

To ensure that the courts consistently apply consequences to
offenders for probation violations, the Judicial Council should
establish guidance and provide training to judges regarding the
application of the batterer intervention law by April 2023.

Agency Comments

Alameda Probation, Contra Costa Probation, San Joaquin
Probation, and the Judicial Council generally agreed with our
recommendations and stated they would take actions to implement
them. Although Los Angeles Probation and Del Norte Probation
generally agreed with our recommendations, both departments
disagreed with some of our findings and conclusions.

California State Auditor Report 2021-113
October 2022
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Introduction

Background

The effects of domestic violence on victims

can be far-reaching. As the text box describes,
California law generally defines domestic violence
to encompass abuse perpetrated against individuals
with whom the perpetrator either has cohabited

or has had a romantic or familial relationship. The
abuse can be physical, sexual, or psychological,

and can be motivated by the goal of gaining or
maintaining control of the victim. Victims of
intimate partner violence—a subset of domestic
violence—are more likely to drop out of school and
experience physical and mental health disorders.
Moreover, in some cases, domestic violence can
lead to death. In fact, research from the Centers
for Disease Control and Prevention shows that
intimate partners are responsible for about one in
six homicides.

California State Auditor Report 2021-113
October 2022

Definition of Domestic Violence Under State Law

Abuse perpetrated against one of the following:
- Aspouse or former spouse.
- A cohabitant or former cohabitant.

- Someone with whom the perpetrator has or had a dating
or engagement relationship.

- Someone with whom the perpetrator has had a child.

- Certain other family members, such as parents or children.

Source: State law.

Domestic violence affects a significant proportion of California’s
population. In 2010 the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
reported that on average, nearly 20 people per minute were
physically abused by an intimate partner in the U.S., which equates
to more than 10 million victims per year.2 Similarly, according to the
Little Hoover Commission’s January 2021 report on intimate
partner violence, one-third of women and one-quarter of men in

California will experience intimate partner violence
in their lifetime.

When a court places a person convicted of a crime
of domestic violence (offender) on probation in
California, state law requires the term of probation
to be a minimum of 36 months. As a condition

of such probation, state law requires offenders to
complete a batterer intervention program (program)
of not less than one year—commonly referred to as
a 52-week program. These programs are structured
educational courses intended to stop domestic
violence. Offenders must complete a program within
18 months. It must consist of weekly two-hour,
single-gender, group sessions that include particular
educational content, as the text box describes.

Content of Batterer Intervention Programs

Programs must provide educational programming that
examines, at a minimum, the following:

- Gender roles.
Socialization.
- The nature of violence.
- The dynamics of power and control.

. The effects of abuse on children and others.

Source: State law.

2 The Division of Violence Prevention within the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National
Center for Injury Prevention and Control focus on preventing violence and its consequences so that

all people, families, and communities are safe, healthy, and free from violence.

9
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Nonprofit or for-profit nongovernmental entities (program
providers) offer programs to offenders, and offenders, except in
limited circumstances, pay fees to attend. The funding for these
programs comes from the fees that offenders pay, although program
providers may also obtain alternate funding. State law requires
program providers to offer a sliding fee schedule that recognizes
both the offender’s ability to pay and the need for the program
provider to meet overhead expenses. A court can waive the fee if it
determines that an offender does not have the financial ability to pay.

Offender Supervision

The courts, probation departments, and program providers are

the cornerstones of what is commonly referred to as the batterer
intervention system. These entities play key roles in supervising
offenders and holding them accountable to the conditions of their
probation, as Figure 1 shows. Specifically, the courts are responsible
for sentencing offenders to prison or jail and for granting them
probation. If a court grants an offender probation, it imposes the
conditions of probation, including attending and completing a
program. The court is then responsible for ensuring the offender
complies with these conditions. If at any time during the term of
probation, the court determines that the offender is performing
unsatisfactorily in their program, is not benefiting from their
program, has engaged in criminal conduct, or has not complied with
a condition of probation, state law requires the court to terminate
the offender’s participation in the program and proceed with further
sentencing. The court may sentence the offender to jail or prison or
may reinstate probation, with or without additional consequences.

When the court assigns an offender to probation, it places the
offender on either formal or informal probation. Under formal
probation, the probation department supervises the offender. Under
informal probation, the offender must report to the court when
ordered to do so by the judge. Depending on whether the probation
is formal or informal, either the probation department or the court
is responsible for monitoring whether the offender complies with
the conditions of probation. During our audit period from 2016
through 2020, two of the five counties we reviewed—Alameda

and Los Angeles—had probation departments supervise felony
offenders and courts supervise misdemeanor offenders. However,
in the other three counties we reviewed—Contra Costa, Del Norte,
and San Joaquin—the courts opted to assign all offenders to formal
supervision under the probation department.

Once the court places an offender on formal probation, state law
requires the probation department to conduct an initial assessment
of that individual, including social and economic background,
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Figure 1
The Courts, Probation Departments, and Program Providers Each Have Integral Roles in the Batterer
Intervention System

COURTS

- Impose the terms and conditions of offenders’ probation.

- Determine consequences for offenders who do
not comply with their probation conditions.
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- Supervise offenders on formal probation. - Provide domestic violence prevention classes.
« Notify the courts of offenders’ probation violations. - Notify the courts and/or probation departments of
- Approve, renew, and monitor program providers. offenders’ enrollment, progress, and completion of

the program, as well as their program violations.

Source: State law.

education, criminal history, medical history, and substance abuse
history. State law generally authorizes the probation department to
make provisions for the offender to attend a chemical dependency
treatment program in addition to a batterer intervention program.
Probation departments are responsible for referring offenders to

a batterer intervention program, ensuring that they complete a
program, and that they fulfill any other conditions of probation.
To supervise offenders appropriately, state law requires probation
departments to communicate with its program providers. If an
offender fails to comply with his or her probation conditions, the
probation department must report the violations to the court.
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Program providers must assess offenders to ensure that they are
suited to a program; if they are not, the program provider must
immediately contact the probation department or the court.

For example, if offenders have unresolved substance abuse or
mental health issues or if their behavior is volatile, they may not
be able to comply with program requirements. Program providers
must also submit periodic progress reports made to the courts and
probation departments and immediately notify them of protective
order violations, including additional acts of violence and failure
to comply with program requirements. Finally, program providers
must conduct exit conferences that assess the offenders’ progress
during their programs and submit final evaluations of those
offenders to the probation department.

Program Oversight

State law requires county probation departments to design and
implement an approval and renewal process for program providers
within their respective counties to ensure that they comply with
state law and operate effectively. Program providers must submit an
application that demonstrates they possess adequate administrative
and operational capabilities. Once a probation department initially
approves a program, the program provider must submit an annual
application to renew its approval, which the probation department
must approve or deny based on the provider’s compliance with
state law and department standards. As part of the approval and
annual renewal process, state law requires probation departments
to conduct at least one on-site review of each program, including
monitoring a program session.

The probation departments we reviewed each use a different
number of program providers. For example, the Del Norte County
Probation Department (Del Norte Probation) uses two program
providers, while the Los Angeles County Probation Department
(Los Angeles Probation) stated that it uses 147 program providers.
The probation departments generally explained that to determine
the number of program providers they need, they consider the
number of offenders, geography, and offender demographics in
their respective county.

The batterer intervention law requires probation departments to
establish program standards, but it is not prescriptive about what
probation departments must include in those standards.3 Probation
departments have the sole authority to deny, revoke, or suspend
program approval if they find a program provider is noncompliant

3 We refer to California Penal Code section 1203.097 as the batterer intervention law.
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with their standards or the batterer intervention law. Aside from
the initial and annual on-site visits, the batterer intervention law
does not prescribe the manner in which probation departments
should perform ongoing monitoring of providers. As a result,
probation departments have discretion to develop a monitoring
process that best suits their needs. In the five counties we reviewed,
some probation departments conduct only one on-site visit per
year, as state law requires, whereas others conduct two or more
on-site visits per year.

State law also prescribes a process for probation departments and
program providers to follow if a program is not compliant with
applicable requirements. Specifically, when a probation department
finds that a program is noncompliant with its standards or the
batterer intervention law, the department must notify the provider
in writing of the areas of noncompliance. Within 14 days, the
program provider must respond with a written plan that, at a
minimum, describes the corrective action it will take and states the
time frame for action implementation. The probation department
may either approve or disapprove all or any part of the program
provider’s plan. If the program provider fails to submit a plan

or fails to implement the approved plan, state law requires the
probation department to consider whether to revoke or suspend its
approval of the program.

Historic Reviews and Recent Statewide Efforts to Improve Program
Effectiveness

The Legislature and other state agencies have made efforts to
evaluate or improve the effectiveness of the batterer intervention
system over the past three decades. Four significant studies since
1990 have looked at the system’s efforts to reduce domestic violence,
including the responsibilities of the probation departments, courts,
and program providers. Many of these reports’ findings are similar
to the ones we present in this report, demonstrating that key
entities, such as the probation departments and the courts, have
known for years of the significant shortcomings in their oversight of
programs and offenders. Figure 2 highlights some of these reports’
findings, which we discuss in more detail throughout our report.

In an effort to improve the overall effectiveness of programs and
reduce future incidents of domestic violence, the Legislature
designated six counties—Napa, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara,
Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, and Yolo—to pilot alternative program
approaches that include practices supported by evidence as being
effective. This pilot effort, which began in 2019 and is scheduled
to end in 2023, allows the six selected counties flexibility to
customize their batterer intervention systems to meet the needs

October 2022
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Figure 2
For the Past Three Decades, Reviews of Batterer’s Programs Have Resulted in
Similar Findings

© 1990

) California State Auditor

- Probation departments did not ensure that offenders attended or
completed appropriate programs as required.

- Not all of the probation departments had formal procedures for
managing offenders.

Task Force on Local Criminal Justice Response to Domestic Violence
- Probation departments, program providers, and courts failed to respond to
victims, to enforce the law, to comply with the law, and to work in collaboration.
When offenders violated program requirements, such as missing too many
sessions, the program providers permitted the absences or the court referred
the offenders back to complete the program rather than holding them
accountable for violating the conditions of their probation.

2006

California State Auditor
- Probation departments did not always notify the courts when programs
terminated offenders for violations.
« When probation departments notified the courts, some courts simply referred
the offenders back to the programs without imposing additional jail time.

- The Judicial Council
4 Assessments of basic needs and other factors would be beneficial for all
offenders, rather than just those offenders who are on formal probation.

Source: The Administration of the State’s Domestic Violence Diversion Program Could Be Improved,
Report P-852, January 1990.

Task Force on Local Criminal Justice Response to Domestic Violence, Keeping the Promise: Victim
Safety and Batterer Accountability, June 2005.

Batterer Intervention Programs: County Probation Departments Could Improve Their Compliance
With State Law, But Progress in Batterer Accountability Also Depends on the Courts, Report 2005-130,
November 2006.

Batterer Intervention Systems in California: An Evaluation, 2009.

of both victims and offenders. The six counties must annually
report information, such as the tools they use to assess offenders’
risks and needs and program curriculums, to the Legislature. The
recommendations we make in this report are independent of any
that may result from the pilot effort.
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Chapter 1

INADEQUATE SUPERVISION OF OFFENDERS BY COURTS,
PROBATION DEPARTMENTS, AND PROGRAM PROVIDERS
HAS UNDERMINED THE PROGRAMS’ EFFECTIVENESS IN
ADDRESSING DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Key Points

+ Nearly half of the domestic violence offenders we reviewed
did not complete their full 52-week program. Further, none of
the entities involved collected the data necessary for us to fully
determine the programs’ effectiveness.

« Probation departments, courts, and program providers did not
adequately hold some offenders accountable, at times allowing
them to violate the conditions of probation repeatedly.

+ Probation departments did not always report when offenders
violated protective orders, which are intended to protect
victims, or when offenders were arrested for subsequent
abusive crimes.

Nearly Half of the Offenders We Reviewed Did Not Complete Their Full
52-Week Program

The batterer intervention law does not require the counties or

any state entity to track the data that the State needs to evaluate
offenders’ completion of programs and the programs’ effectiveness
at stopping domestic violence. As a result, none of the counties—
nor the State—maintain comprehensive data on offenders, including
the reasons they may have failed to complete a program. The lack

of data tracking is particularly concerning given that the previous
studies and audits we describe in the Introduction all identified the
importance of this information. Some of the probation departments
did not maintain complete documentation on all offenders, or did
not appropriately retain documentation for five years, as state law
requires. These shortcomings left the documentation necessary

to conduct our analysis largely incomplete. In the absence of
comprehensive data, we were not able to obtain complete records
for an adequate selection of offenders to broadly project our findings
across the entire offender population.

Nevertheless, to gain insights into program completion and
effectiveness, we instead obtained data on a limited selection of
records for 20 offenders in each county, for a total of 100 offenders.
Even obtaining these data was challenging. The data we were able

October 2022
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When offenders completed their
programs, it appears to have
successfully reduced recidivism.

to obtain were limited to basic demographics, such as gender, race,
ethnicity, and age. We were generally unable to ascertain an offender’s
educational achievement, income, or sexual orientation since the
probation departments and courts did not consistently maintain or
note this information in the offenders’ files. Further, the Alameda
County Probation Department (Alameda Probation) maintained
documentation on offenders under its supervision that was notably
incomplete, sometimes lacking information on whether offenders even
completed their programs. As a result, we included only one offender
that Alameda Probation supervised whose documentation we found
to be more intact than that of other offenders. In addition, we included
only one offender that Los Angeles Probation supervised in our
selection because it supervised a small proportion of the offenders in
Los Angeles County. The courts supervised the other 19 offenders that
we reviewed from both Alameda County and Los Angeles County.

Despite these significant data limitations, we found strong indications
that the batterer intervention system does not adequately ensure that all
offenders complete their programs. Specifically, 46 of the 100 offenders
we reviewed did not complete the full 52-week program, as Figure 3
shows. State law requires offenders to file proof of enrollment in a
program within 30 days of their conviction. Once enrolled, state law
allows offenders only three excused absences for good cause. However,
10 of the 46 offenders did not complete their programs because they
did not enroll at all. Program providers terminated seven for unallowed
absences, unpaid fees, or unacceptable behavior in class. Another 21
did not complete their programs for other reasons, such as subsequent
crimes or failures to report to court or the probation department.
Finally, the court eliminated or stayed the requirement that the
remaining eight offenders attend the entire 52 weeks of their programs.

When offenders completed their programs, it appears to have
successfully reduced recidivism.4 Only 11 of the offenders who
completed a program, or 20 percent, recidivated for domestic
violence or abuse-related crimes after completing the program, as
Figure 4 shows. Although 12 of the offenders who completed the
program recidivated before their program’s completion, they did
not reoffend after it. In contrast, 30 offenders, or nearly 65 percent,
who did not complete their entire program reoffended. These
outcomes demonstrate that successful program completion may
have a rehabilitative effect and lessen the likelihood of future abuse
or domestic violence crimes. Thus, programs are most effective
when offenders complete them—which requires courts, probation
departments, and program providers to hold offenders accountable
for complying with the conditions of their probation.

4 Because we did not have access to victim information, we defined recidivism as a subsequent arrest
or conviction for an abuse-related crime that would have been domestic violence if committed
against a person listed in Family Code section 6211.



Figure 3
Nearly One Half of the 100 Offenders That We Reviewed Did Not Complete a
Full 52-Week Program

B Did not complete a full 52-week program
The court eliminated the requirement

[ Completed a full 52-week program

Of the 38 that

did not complete a

full 52-week program:

- 10 Failed to enroll

- 7 Terminated by
programs for unallowed
absences, unpaid fees, or
unacceptable behavior

« 21 Other

Source: Review of a selection of 20 offenders from each county.

Probation Departments, Courts, and Program Providers Have Not
Adequately Held Offenders Accountable

Efforts by probation departments, courts, and program providers to
implement an effective batterer intervention system have often been
inconsistent and inadequate. Our review identified repeated instances
in which each of these entities have not taken action to ensure that
all offenders were adequately held accountable for successfully
completing a program, as we describe in Figure 5. For example,

none of the probation departments we reviewed adequately assessed
offenders as required to identify obstacles, such as substance abuse
or medical history, which could prevent them from successfully
completing a program. Additionally, probation departments and
program providers did not always notify the courts when offenders
violated probation. Further, the courts repeatedly referred some
offenders who had violated probation back to a program without
imposing escalating consequences. Without the dedicated efforts of
the entities involved, the batterer intervention system will continue to
struggle to fulfill its potential to reduce domestic violence.
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Figure 4

Offenders That Successfully Completed a Full Program Were Less Likely to
Commit a New Crime

Of the D4 offenders who Of the 46 offenders who
completed a full 52-week program DID NOT fully complete a full 52-week program

CERTIFICATE

mew

20%

11 reoffended

65%

30 reoffended

Source: Review of a selection of 20 offenders from each county, and recidivism data from Justice.

An initial assessment of offenders on formal

- Social, economic, and family background
- Education

« Vocational achievements

« Criminal history

+ Medical history

« Substance abuse history

- Consultation with the probation officer

- Verbal consultation with the victim, only if the victim
desires to participate

- Future probability of the offender committing murder

Source: State law.

probation must include but is not limited to:

Probation Departments Have Not Adequately Screened
for Underlying Conditions That May Contribute to
Offenders’ Failure to Complete a Program

The batterer intervention law only requires probation
departments to conduct initial assessments of
offenders on formal probation, and not those on
informal probation. We therefore expected to find
that the departments conducted assessments of
offenders on formal probation fully and consistently.
Initial assessments of offenders on formal probation
must include a review of the areas noted in the text
box. These initial assessments provide probation
departments with vital information about the
offender and identify barriers the offender may face
in fulfilling the conditions of his or her probation,
including completing a program.
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Figure 5
Probation Departments, Program Providers, and the Courts Each Have Contributed to the Ineffectiveness of the
Batterer Intervention System

Initial Assessments

Probation departments did not always conduct initial assessments when required to
do so or performed inadequate assessments.

3 Monitoring Offenders and Reporting Violations
Probation departments and program providers either did not report probation or
program violations at all or did not report them in a timely manner.

When Offenders Violated Probation
Courts often have not used their discretion to impose any additional consequences
for offenders’ probation violations or imposed ineffective consequences.

Source: Review of a selection of 20 offenders from each county.

Nonetheless, the five probation departments we reviewed did not
always perform these assessments of offenders on formal probation.
As Table 1 shows, probation departments formally supervised

65 of the 104 offenders we reviewed.> However, the probation
departments conducted assessments of only 29 of those offenders,
14, of which occurred more than three months after the court
assigned the offender to probation.

The probation departments offered varying reasons for their
failure to conduct the required assessments. The Del Norte and
Contra Costa probation departments stated that they conduct
initial assessments of only felony offenders. According to

Del Norte Probation, it does not have the resources to conduct
initial assessments of all formally supervised offenders as state
law requires. However, we found that it did not conduct an initial

5 Because Los Angeles Probation and Alameda Probation each only formally supervised one
offender in our selection of 100 offenders, we reviewed another two offenders from each
probation department.
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Table 1
None of the Probation Departments Conducted Sufficient Initial
Assessments of All Offenders on Formal Probation

NUMBER OF
OFFENDERS OFFENDERS OFFENDERS ASSESSMENTS WITH
PROBATION ON FORMAL WITH INITIAL ASSESSED WITHIN 3 ALL REQUIRED
DEPARTMENT PROBATION ASSESSMENTS MONTHS COMPONENTS
Alamedaf 3 2 0 0
Contra Costa 19 9* 0 0
Del Norte 20 0 0 0
Los Angelest 3 2 2 0
San Joaquin 20 16 13 0
TOTAL 65 29 15 0

Source: Review of a selection of offenders from each county.

* Contra Costa Probation was unable to conduct an initial assessment of one of its offenders
because the offender failed to report to the probation department and a warrant for the
offender’s arrest is still active.

T Because Los Angeles Probation and Alameda Probation each only formally supervised one
offender in our selection of 100 offenders, we reviewed another two offenders from each
probation department.

assessment for any of the 20 offenders we reviewed, including

five felony offenders. Despite the requirements of state law,

Contra Costa Probation stated that it did not conduct assessments
of misdemeanor offenders. Alameda, Los Angeles, and San Joaquin
probation departments could not explain why they did not always
conduct initial assessments.

Of the initial assessments that four of the probation departments did
complete, all were missing at least one required aspect. For example,
Contra Costa Probation’s assessments were lacking a review of the
offenders’ medical history and the probability that they would commit
murder, and several of San Joaquin Probation’s assessments failed

to include information on the offenders’ vocational achievements,
medical history, substance abuse history, or probability that the
offender would commit murder. Additionally, the assessments from
our review that Alameda Probation conducted did not include
medical history, a verbal consultation or efforts to coordinate with

the victim, or a determination of the probability the offender would
commit murder. Finally, the assessments from our review that

Los Angeles Probation conducted did not always assess offenders’
economic background, a verbal consultation or efforts to coordinate
with the victim, or a determination of the probability the offender
would commit murder. Because the probation departments are not
adequately assessing offenders’ risks and needs before referring them
to a program, they lack assurance that the program to which they refer
the offenders can accommodate and address their needs. They thereby
increase the risk that the offenders will not complete a program.
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Probation Departments and Program Providers Did Not Sufficiently
Inform the Courts of All Probation Violations

State law requires probation departments to inform the courts when
offenders violate the conditions of their probation. State law also
requires program providers to inform the courts when offenders
violate certain program requirements. In our review of 100 offenders
across all five counties, we found that 92 offenders violated their
probation requirements at least once. These violations ranged from
having unallowed program absences, to making contact with a victim
in violation of a criminal protective order, to committing a subsequent
abusive crime. However, when we conducted a detailed review of 25
of these offenders—five from each county—we found that both the
probation departments and the program providers frequently failed to
notify courts of the offenders’ violations.6

In total, these 25 offenders accumulated 865 probation violations.
As Table 2 shows, offenders committed 405 violations while under
the supervision of probation departments, yet the probation
departments failed to report 213 of these to the courts as required.
Because our review of 25 offenders did not include offenders that
Alameda Probation and Los Angeles Probation supervised, we
conducted an additional review of three offenders that those two
probation departments supervised. In this separate selection, we
found similar instances in which these probation departments did
not report probation violations to the court. Program providers
from four counties, including Alameda and Los Angeles, did not
notify the probation departments or courts of 124 instances when
offenders violated program requirements.” Although we did not
identify instances when program providers in Contra Costa did
not report violations, Contra Costa Probation did not always retain
program reports for five years as state law requires, thus we were
unable to fully assess the sufficiency of its programs’ reporting.
When probation departments and program providers do not
inform the courts of probation or program violations, the courts
cannot hold offenders accountable.

Particularly concerning were instances in which probation
departments did not inform the courts of violations of a criminal
protective order—court orders that protect the victim from

the offender—or subsequent arrests for abusive crimes. Of the

213 violations that probation departments did not report to the court,

6 Because Alameda Probation and Los Angeles Probation supervised only one offender each in our
selection of 100 offenders we reviewed, these 25 offenders did not include offenders that these
probation departments supervised.

7 For certain violations, it was the responsibility of both the program providers and the probation
department to report the violation to the court. Thus, some violations are included in both
categories when we discuss reporting.
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When probation departments and
program providers do not inform
the courts of probation or program
violations, the courts cannot hold
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Table 2
Probation Departments and Program Providers Failed To Report The Majority of Offenders’ Violations Within
Their Supervision

VIOLATIONS VIOLATIONS VIOLATIONS VIOLATIONS
UNDER PROBATION THAT PROBATION THAT PROGRAM THAT PROGRAM TOTAL NUMBER
TOTAL PROBATION DEPARTMENTS’ DEPARTMENTS DID PROVIDERS PROVIDERS DID OF VIOLATIONS

VIOLATIONS SUPERVISION* NOT REPORT REPORTEDT NOT REPORT NOT REPORTED#

865 405 213 92 124 337

Source: Review of a selection of 25 offenders—five from each county.

* Because Alameda Probation and Los Angeles Probation only supervised one offender each in our initial selection of 100 offenders we
reviewed, and the 25 offenders we reviewed for this analysis did not include offenders that these probation departments supervised. However,
we separately reviewed offenders that Alameda Probation and Los Angeles Probation supervised and found that both probation departments
did not report offenders’ probation violations to the court.

T The violations that program providers reported includes those from all five counties we reviewed. Although we did not identify instances when
program providers in Contra Costa did not report violations, Contra Costa Probation did not always retain program reports for five years as
state law requires, thus we were unable to fully assess the sufficiency of its programs’ reporting.

* For certain violations, it was the responsibility of both the program and the probation department to report the violation to the court. Thus,
some violations are included within both the responsibility of the probation departments and the responsibility of the program providers
when we discuss reporting.

nine involved the offender’s violating a criminal protective order or being
arrested for a subsequent abusive crime. For example, an offender in
Contra Costa violated a criminal protective order several times and was
arrested for a subsequent abusive offense against the same victim, none

of which the probation department reported to the court. Contra Costa
Probation could not explain why it did not report these incidents to

the court. By allowing offenders to engage in subsequent acts of abuse

or interact with their victims without notifying the court, probation
departments and program providers are placing victims at risk and sending
a message to offenders that this behavior is tolerated.s

Further, even when they did report probation violations, the probation
departments and program providers did not always ensure that those
reports were timely. As a result, some offenders went months without
consequences. Probation departments and program providers reported
253 violations to the courts for the 25 offenders we reviewed. However,
151 of these reports—more than half—were significantly delayed.®

In fact, probation departments took an average of nearly three months
after they occurred to report violations, with the longest delay taking
nearly a year. For example, in January 2019, a program provider notified
Del Norte Probation that it had terminated an offender from its program
for unpaid fees. Del Norte Probation waited until September 2019—

or eight months later—to notify the court of this violation.

8 Our review of offenders that Alameda Probation and Los Angeles Probation supervised was limited
to three from each department and, although we found both departments failed to report some
violations, we did not identify instances when these departments failed to report violations of criminal
protective orders or subsequent arrests for abusive crimes to the court.

9 Some program reports did not include dates of program violations for us to determine whether they
reported the violation to the court in a timely manner. As a result, the number of delayed program
reports may be higher.
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In some instances, delays in reporting may have put victims of
domestic violence in unnecessary risk. For example, in our separate
review of three offenders that Alameda Probation supervised, we
found that the probation department waited 10 months to notify to
the court that an offender had failed to report to the department after
being released from jail. During this time, the probation department
did not have any contact with the offender and did not know the
offender’s whereabouts. Because the court was unaware that the
offender had failed to report to the department, it could not consider
imposing consequences. Although we identified reporting delays

in each of the counties, none of the probation departments could
explain why they had not promptly notified the court of the violations.
However, each department generally agreed that it lacks policies that
set clear expectations of the time frame for such notifications.

Finally, we identified a number of particularly troubling instances

in which probation departments did not notify the courts that
offenders had not completed a program before their probation
periods ended. For example, Contra Costa Probation failed to report
to the court that an offender had not enrolled in a program for more
than two years, despite the probation officer advising the offender to
enroll in a program on seven separate occasions. Once the offender
finally enrolled, Contra Costa Probation recognized that he would
not complete his program before his term of probation expired,

but it did not notify the court as it should have. As a result, the
offender’s probation ended with his completing only 19 of the 52
required sessions. We found similar instances in cases overseen

by San Joaquin Probation. The courts rely on the probation
departments to notify them if offenders have not complied with the
conditions of probation so that they can take appropriate action,
such as modifying or revoking probation and proceeding with
further sentencing. By failing to notify the courts when offenders

do not complete a program, the probation departments are
undermining the court’s ability to take these actions.

The failure of probation departments to notify the courts about
probation violations is not a new concern. Both the 2005 task force
report and our 2006 report found that offenders frequently failed
to complete a program, and our 2006 report noted that offenders
repeatedly violated probation conditions and the probation
departments did not notify the court. The 2005 task force report
found that program providers and probation departments allowed
more absences than the law permits. Our 2006 report found that
San Joaquin Probation counseled offenders who failed to attend
program classes and directed them back to a program without
notifying the court, which allowed the offenders to avoid the
consequences of violating the conditions of their probation.

October 2022
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Currently, San Joaquin Probation’s policies state that a program
provider should discharge the offender on the fourth absence and
that the probation officer must file a probation violation and refer
the offender back to court each time a program provider discharges
an offender for absences. Nonetheless, as part of our current audit,
we found that San Joaquin Probation still directs some offenders
back to programs and cannot always demonstrate that it notifies
the court. According to San Joaquin Probation, its probation
officers consider the totality of the offender’s circumstances before
determining whether to report violations.

In part, probation departments have not held offenders accountable
because they lack sufficient policies and procedures to guide their
probation officers’ supervision of offenders. Specifically, Contra Costa
Probation and Del Norte Probation do not have policies regarding
the supervision of domestic violence offenders, and the remaining
three probation departments—Alameda, Los Angeles, and

San Joaquin—lack adequate policies regarding offender supervision
in a selection of areas, as we show in Figure 6. For example, none

of the probation departments have adequate policies to ensure that
their probation officers conduct an initial assessment as required by
law or that offenders enroll in and appropriately attend a program.
Additionally, only San Joaquin Probation’s policies spell out the
probation officer’s responsibility to notify the court when an
offender does not complete a program within 18 months. Given the
serious nature and consequences of domestic violence, we expected
probation departments to provide their staff with clear direction
regarding how to address offenders who violate the conditions of
their probation and the time frame for doing so.

The Consequences That Courts Issue Offenders Are Often Ineffective and
Weaken the Impact of Programs

The courts are responsible for determining the consequences for
offenders who violate the conditions of their probation. According
to state law, when the court finds that an offender is performing
unsatisfactorily or not benefiting from a program, has not complied
with a condition of probation, or has engaged in criminal conduct,
it must terminate the offender’s participation in the program and
proceed with further sentencing. State law generally provides the
court with the discretion to consider options other than a lengthy
jail or prison sentence for the offender. These options may include
reinstating or modifying the conditions of probation without jail time
or imposing a period of flash incarceration, in which the offender
spends one to 10 days in a county jail. If the court revokes probation
and then reinstates it, the offender must restart a 52-week program,
regardless of how many classes he or she previously attended.
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Figure 6
Five Probation Departments’ Insufficient Policies Have Contributed to Their Inadequate Supervision of Offenders

DOES THE PROBATION DEPARTMENT HAVE SUFFICIENT POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR OFFENDER SUPERVISION?

CONTRA LOS SAN
STATE LAW REQUIRES ... ALAMEDA COSTA DELNORTE | ANGELES JOAQUIN

... probation departments to conduct
an initial assessment of an offgnder if PARTIAL PARTIAL
the court orders formal probation and
completion of a program.

X o«

>, ... offenders to attend consecutive weekly

s sessions with a maximum of three excused
absences granted by the program provider
for good cause.

\x ... offenders to file proof of enrollment in
@ a program with the court within 30 days
of conviction.

CERTITICATE ... offenders to successfully complete a
rogram within 18 months*.
= @ Py prog

Source: State law and the five probation departments’ policies.
* The court may modify this requirement, if it finds good cause to do so.

Despite their important role in holding offenders accountable,

the courts we reviewed frequently did not apply escalating
consequences when offenders violated their probation. As we
discussed previously, we identified 865 probation violations among
the 25 offenders we reviewed. The courts were aware of 756 of these
865 violations but they only imposed escalating consequences for 71
of them, as we show in Table 3. For example, one offender violated
program requirements nearly 175 times by, for instance, failing to
attend consecutive weekly classes and failing to appear for court
hearings. Nonetheless, a Los Angeles court referred him back to

a program repeatedly without escalating consequences. The court
also extended his probation from three years to nearly five years to
allow him to complete his program that state law requires offenders
to complete in 18 months. Although the court had the discretion

to make these determinations, we expected that it would impose
additional consequences when an offender has such a high number
of repeat violations.
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When courts choose not to impose
escalating consequences, they may
weaken the impact of the batterer
intervention system.

Table 3
The Courts Did Not Impose Escalating Consequences for Most
Probation Violations

VIOLATIONS
FORWHICH THE

VIOLATIONS OF COURTS IMPOSED
TOTAL PROBATION WHICH THE COURTS ESCALATING
VIOLATIONS WERE AWARE CONSEQUENCES

865 756 71

Source: Review of a selection of 25 offenders—five from each county.

Particularly troubling were cases in which the courts did not apply
effective consequences when offenders violated protective orders or
were arrested for additional crimes. In our review of 25 offenders, we
identified 21 subsequent protective order violations and arrests for
abusive crimes. The courts were aware of 12 of these violations yet
allowed the offenders to continue on probation following nine of them.
In one instance in Del Norte, the court found that an offender had
violated the protective order on two separate occasions, including one
subsequent domestic violence arrest during the offender’s probation.
The court remanded the offender to jail for a month each time but then
allowed the offender to continue on probation after each violation.
These repeated violations demonstrate that the consequences were not
effective in deterring the offender from committing future incidents of
domestic violence and protecting the victim from further harm.

Because courts have in some cases chosen not to impose escalating
consequences, they may have weakened the impact of the batterer
intervention system, which was designed to strengthen domestic
violence laws. We acknowledge that the decision to either reinstate
probation or terminate probation and sentence the offender to jail
or prison is within the discretion of the courts. Although the courts
ultimately sentenced to jail or prison more than half of the offenders
who did not comply with their probation conditions, we are concerned
that courts may be taking a prolonged approach to these decisions
that may place victims at risk. The 2005 task force report found that
the most common judicial sanction for probation violations was to
refer the offender to a program again, numerous times if necessary.
Although the courts cannot prevent future acts of domestic violence,
imposing escalating consequences for violations sooner could
compel offenders to successfully attend or to complete a program.
Further, when offenders demonstrate that they are not interested in
rehabilitating or in complying with the conditions of their probation,
it may be more effective for the courts to escalate the consequences
or sentence the offender to county jail or state prison, rather than

to reinstate probation on the same terms and conditions. Escalating
consequences might also better protect victims.
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The Judicial Council of California (Judicial Council) does not

have an oversight role with respect to judicial decision making in
legal matters before a court. However, it does provide guidance

to judges about domestic violence through various education
forums. For example, the Judicial Council hosts a Domestic
Violence Institute, a three-day in-person training for judges.

The Judicial Council explained that this year’s training included a
presentation on a model of offender rehabilitation. However, upon
review of the presentation, we did not identify any specific guidance
to judges on how to provide additional consequences for offenders.

In addition, the Judicial Council publishes a domestic violence
bench guide for criminal court judges that it designed to be a
reference to domestic violence law in criminal cases. The guide
includes information on, among other things, pretrial release
considerations, criminal protective orders, and sentencing. It also
includes the recommendation from the 2005 task force report that
the courts, in consultation with the probation departments, develop
a strategy so that multiple reenrollments in programs do not take
place without additional and graduated sanctions for offenders,
such as jail time. However, as we describe in this report, the courts
have not consistently provided additional consequences to hold
offenders accountable. Therefore, we believe the Judicial Council
should provide specific training to the courts in this regard.

Please refer to the section beginning on page 5 to find the
recommendations that we have made as a result of these
audit findings.

October 2022
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Chapter 2

THE PROBATION DEPARTMENTS WE REVIEWED HAVE
LARGELY NEGLECTED THEIR PROGRAM OVERSIGHT
RESPONSIBILITIES

Key Points

«+ None of the five probation departments we reviewed have
established sufficient program standards to serve as a framework
for program oversight and compliance.

« In the absence of adequate policies and practices, the five
probation departments each approved or renewed program
providers that did not comply with state law and may not have
been qualified to rehabilitate offenders effectively.

+ None of the five probation departments could demonstrate
that they conducted on-site monitoring visits of each program
annually, as state law requires.

The Five Probation Departments We Reviewed Have Not Provided
Sufficient Guidance to Program Providers

Many of the problems we identify in Chapter 1 occurred at least

in part because none of the probation departments we reviewed
have established sufficient standards as a framework to ensure
that program providers comply with state law and departmental
expectations. State law requires probation departments to create
standards for program providers to follow, but this law does not
prescribe what they should include in their standards. We found
that Del Norte Probation has not established any standards

and it could not explain why this was the case. For the other

four probation departments, we reviewed three selected areas

of program provider operations: tracking offender attendance,
reporting offenders’ program status to the probation departments
and courts, and charging fees of offenders. Although the four
departments have some standards in most areas, in the three areas
we reviewed we found that their standards are not comprehensive
enough to give program providers the direction necessary to assist
them in complying with state law and adhering to the departments’
expectations as Figure 7 shows.

State law specifies that program providers may allow offenders no
more than three excused absences for good cause, thereby making
the program providers responsible for granting absences for good
cause. However, none of the four departments have provided adequate

October 2022
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Figure 7

The Probation Departments Have Established Inadequate Standards for Their Program Providers

Program providers allowing more
absences than state law permits.

Offender Attendance

Alameda POOR
Contra Costa POOR
Los Angeles POOR
San Joaquin POOR

Reporting Information

Program Fees

|:State law requires probation departments to create standards for their program providers:|

Alameda POOR Alameda POOR

Contra Costa POOR Contra Costa POOR Del Norte has not
Los Angeles POOR Los Angeles POOR created any standards.
San Joaquin POOR San Joaquin POOR

Reports of probation violations submitted
weeks to months after the violations occurred.

Program providers waiving fees, an action
state law says only a court can perform.

Source: State law and review of the five probation departments’standards for program providers and a selection of 20 offender files from each county.

guidance to their providers on how to address unallowed absences,
including unexcused absences and excused absences that exceed the
three allowed. While Los Angeles Probation’s standards do not address
absences at all, the standards of Alameda Probation and San Joaquin
Probation provide more flexibility than state law permits. For example,
Alameda Probation’s standards do not specify that offenders are not
allowed to have unexcused absences. Lacking this specificity, it is not
surprising that Alameda Probation did not identify when program
providers allowed offenders unexcused absences. San Joaquin Probation’s
standards allow up to six makeup sessions—or double the three excused
absences that state law allows. Further, Contra Costa Probation’s
standards incorrectly state that only the probation department can
excuse an absence for good cause, when in fact state law makes this

the responsibility of program providers. At least in part due to this
inadequate guidance, we identified that some program providers did not
report absences consistently or appropriately and that some probation
departments did not take action to correct this incorrect reporting.
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Probation departments’ inadequate standards and practices related
to unallowed absences is not a new issue. The 20035 task force report
found that all of the program providers the task force surveyed
appeared to have policies or practices that, to varying degrees,
excused more absences than the law permitted. More than a year
later, our 2006 report pointed out that probation departments’
attendance policies, including those of Los Angeles Probation and
San Joaquin Probation, were more flexible than state law allowed. In
fact, our 2006 report found that Los Angeles Probation did not
distinguish between excused and unexcused absences, while our
current review found that its standards do not mention absences at
all. Sixteen years later, San Joaquin Probation also continues to
employ the same practice of counseling offenders who fail to attend
program classes and directing them back to a program, rather than

formally notifying the court of violations.

The four probation departments’ standards also
lack sufficient guidance about the timeliness with
which program providers need to report certain
information to the departments. The text box shows
this required information. The batterer intervention
law does not include specific time frames for
reporting this information; instead, it uses terms
such as periodically and immediately. Consequently,
we expected the probation departments to specify
what they consider immediate reporting, such as
the next business day or within two business days,
and what they consider periodic reporting, such

as every three months. However, none of the four
departments’ standards sufficiently specify the time
frames for when program providers must submit all
six of these reports.

Without the framework for probation departments
to oversee program providers, we observed
instances when some program providers had not

Program Reporting Requirements

. Proof of enrollment noting the fee per session.
. Failure to enroll in the program.

. Periodic progress reports including attendance,

fee payment history, and program compliance.

. Final evaluation of the offender’s progress, and a

recommendation for either successful or unsuccessful
termination or continuation in the program.

. Immediate notification of protective order violations,

including any new acts of violence or failure to comply
with program requirements.

. Immediate notification of offender unsuitability for

the program.

Source: State law.

reported critical offender information for months. For example,
because unallowed absences are a program violation, we expected

the departments’ standards to describe how soon program

providers should report these absences, such as within two weeks.
However, none of the probation departments’ standards specified
the time frame for reporting such absences, and state law requires
program providers to report attendance only periodically to the
probation department. When the program providers fail to report
required offender information in a timely manner, probation
departments and courts lack necessary information to supervise

offenders effectively.
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Without appropriate guidance
and oversight, program providers
may develop fee scales that do not
comply with state law.

Additionally, we expected the probation departments’ standards
to include specific guidance regarding the content that each type
of report must contain to comply with state law. For example, state
law requires program providers to submit proof of an offender’s
enrollment to the probation department and the court, including
the fee charged to the offender per session. However, Contra Costa
Probation’s standards do not require program providers to disclose
the fee they charge each offender per session in their enrollment
reports. Although the Alameda, Los Angeles, and San Joaquin
probation departments’ standards state that the fee per session
should be included in enrollment reports, we found instances

in which some program providers in each of these counties
apparently failed to report these fees, as the offenders’ files did

not contain a record of them. Additionally, the Contra Costa and
San Joaquin probation departments’ standards do not require
program providers to include the offenders’ fee payment history

in the periodic progress reports they submit to the probation
departments, as state law requires. Without such fee information,
the probation departments cannot evaluate whether the program
providers charged offenders appropriately.

Finally, none of the four probation departments’ standards provide
sufficient guidance to assist program providers in charging offenders
appropriate fees. According to state law, program providers must
develop and use a sliding fee scale that recognizes both an offender’s
ability to pay and the necessity of the program to meet overhead
expenses. Further, state law requires program providers to charge

all offenders at least a nominal fee unless the court waives this fee.
However, the probation departments’ standards we reviewed do not
always require providers to consider both the offender’s ability to
pay and the necessity of meeting the provider’s overhead expenses;
require offenders who are indigent to pay a nominal fee; or prohibit
providers from waiving offenders’ fees.

We found that without such a framework for oversight, some
probation departments have not always identified or taken action
when program providers’ fee scales did not comply with state law.
For example, a program provider in Del Norte County established
a fee scale that waives fees for offenders who earn less than $39,000
annually because the provider considers those offenders to be
indigent. However, this directly contradicts state law, which allows
only a court to fully waive an offender’s fees. Without appropriate
guidance and oversight, program providers may develop fee scales
that do not consider all relevant factors and do not comply with
state law.

Although San Joaquin Probation’s standards reiterate state law and
specifically require program providers to develop fee scales that
consider the offender’s ability to pay and the program’s overhead
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expenses, it does not comply with its standards or with state law in
practice. Rather, San Joaquin Probation requires its program providers
to use a standardized fee scale that it established rather than allowing
them to develop their own. By not allowing providers to determine
the fees they charge, it has exceeded its authority. Further, despite

its standards requiring all offenders to pay at least a nominal fee,

San Joaquin Probation also exceeds its authority by offering free

program options to offenders.

The Five Probation Departments Have Not Adequately
Approved, Renewed, or Monitored Program Providers

As we describe in the Introduction, state law requires
probation departments to design and implement

an approval and renewal process for their programs
and to ensure that program providers comply with
state law. State law establishes a minimum process
for the initial approval and renewal of programs each
year, which the text box describes. The statutory
requirements for both the approval and renewal
processes are the same. Nonetheless, the five
probation departments we reviewed lack sufficient
policies and procedures for approving, renewing,

and monitoring programs. Further, none of the five
probation departments could demonstrate that they
adequately ensured program providers complied with
state law.

We found three issues with these renewal and approval
processes. First, none of the probation departments
could demonstrate that they had established a fair

and equitable process for acquiring new program
providers. Second, none of the probation departments
could demonstrate that they always collected and

Approval and Renewal Requirements

State law sets forth the following minimum requirements
for probation departments'initial approval and annual
renewal of programs:

- The program provider must submit a written application
describing its program.

+ The program provider must demonstrate that it possesses
adequate administrative and operational capability to
operate a program.

- The probation department must conduct an on-site
review of the program, including monitoring a
class session.

- The probation department must review information
relative to a program provider’s performance or failure to
adhere to standards.

- With limited exceptions, the probation department
must charge program providers an annual fee not to
exceed $250.

Source: State law.

appropriately reviewed approval and renewal applications. Lastly, none
of the probation departments have adequate processes to monitor
program providers to ensure they complied with state law before
renewing them. As a result, each of the probation departments have
approved or renewed program providers that did not comply with state
law or may not have been qualified to rehabilitate offenders effectively.

None of the Five Probation Departments Have Adequate Processes for

Soliciting, Approving, and Renewing Programs

To obtain the most qualified program providers in a fair and equitable
manner, we expected probation departments’ approval processes to
be based on common government practices and to include a means
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None of the five probation
departments have established
adequate policies and procedures
for approving and renewing
program providers.

of transparently soliciting new program providers when needed.
Nonetheless, all five probation departments we reviewed either lack
policies or their policies are silent as to how and whether they solicit
new providers. Likely in part as a result, Contra Costa Probation
and Del Norte Probation each explained that they had a single
program provider apply from 2016 through 2020, while the other
three departments did not have any apply. Lacking a solicitation
process, probation departments cannot ensure that they are
acquiring the most qualified program providers to meet their needs.

We found that Los Angeles Probation’s process for acquiring new
providers in particular is preselective. Specifically, Los Angeles
Probation explained that when a need arises for a new provider, it
selects a provider that it believes may be best suited to fulfill that
need based on previous informal communication with the program
provider and on how often the provider informally requests
approval. Los Angeles Probation stated that it does not publicly post
a solicitation or openly solicit all providers who have previously
inquired about offering a program in the county. Los Angeles
Probation stated that since its process is preselective, it has not
received new applications that warrant formal denials.

Although state law requires an approval and renewal process,
none of the five probation departments have established

adequate policies and procedures to ensure consistency in and
hold department personnel accountable for their approval and
renewal practices. For example, Alameda Probation has policies
that generally describe its approval and renewal process, such

as reviewing the written application, collecting a $250 fee, and
conducting an on-site review. However, it lacks clear policies

for probation staff to follow to ensure they consistently review

all required elements of the renewal application and conduct

an adequate on-site review to ensure compliance with state law.
Similarly, Los Angeles Probation and Contra Costa Probation
each have standards that they give to the program providers that
describe the general renewal and approval process, but they do not
have any policies that probation staff must follow for their review
of the applications and on-site reviews. In the case of Del Norte
Probation, it does not have a formal approval and renewal process
at all.

In contrast, San Joaquin Probation has policies and procedures
that clearly describe the approval and renewal process and

the specific steps staff must take during that process to ensure
program providers comply with state law. However, its policies
and procedures are not comprehensive in certain areas, such as
ensuring staff confirm that program providers have confidentiality
agreements with offenders and properly review program providers’
fees. Additionally, neither it nor any of the other four probation
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departments could demonstrate that they adequately reviewed the
program providers’ annual renewal applications. Our 2006 report
found these same issues, including at Los Angeles Probation and
San Joaquin Probation. We are concerned that these departments
appear to have struggled to effectively oversee their program
providers for more than 15 years.

Without documented policies for staft to follow for the approval
and renewal process, departments risk being unable to justify their
decisions. For example, as we mention previously, Contra Costa
Probation and Del Norte Probation explained that they each

had a single program provider apply during our audit period.
Contra Costa Probation informally denied the one program
provider, while Del Norte Probation approved the one program
provider who applied. However, neither department could
demonstrate the basis for its decision, let alone provide the program
providers’ formal applications. As a result, it was unclear whether
either applicant met the program requirements.

Moreover, some of the annual renewal applications we reviewed
were incomplete or missing. Specifically, Alameda Probation,

Los Angeles Probation, and San Joaquin Probation could not
demonstrate that they received renewal applications annually

for some of the providers we reviewed. The remaining two
departments—Contra Costa Probation and Del Norte Probation—
could not demonstrate that providers submitted all required
documentation for their annual renewals. As a result, none of the
five probation departments could ensure that all of their program
providers remained in compliance with state law or their standards
each year. In fact, as we describe later, they each approved some
programs that did not comply with state law.

The most serious and systemic issues we identified involved

Los Angeles Probation, which oversees nearly 150 program
providers. When we requested the probation department’s renewal
documentation for a selection of providers, the department
responded with bankers’ boxes that contained hundreds of renewal
applications dating back to at least 2016. The boxes contained
many unopened envelopes from program providers that included
uncashed checks for the annual renewal fee of $250. Los Angeles
Probation’s failure to review these renewal applications made
apparent that it was automatically renewing each of the program
providers every year, sometimes without depositing the fees.

This lack of program oversight is concerning because it does not
ensure that program providers have complied with state law or are
qualified to rehabilitate offenders effectively.
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The frequency and quality of
the on-site reviews of program
providers varied greatly among
the five counties.

The Five Probation Departments Did Not Adequately Monitor Program
Providers and Renewed Programs That Did Not Comply With State Law

As part of the approval and renewal process, state law requires
probation departments to conduct on-site program reviews before
they initially approve a program provider and annually upon
renewal thereafter. We expected each probation department to have
robust formal procedures that describe the steps it must take and
documentation it must review to ensure that its program providers
comply with its standards and state law. However, we found that
the frequency and quality of the reviews varied greatly among the
five counties. Further, none of the departments had established

a sufficient on-site review process. The departments’ inadequate
monitoring likely contributed to their decisions to renew program
providers that may not be qualified. Specifically, when we reviewed
14 renewals—two to three in each of the five counties—we found
that the probation departments renewed all 14 programs, none of
which demonstrated that they fully complied with state law.

None of the five departments conducted an adequate number

of reviews. For example, from 2016 through 2020, Del Norte
Probation had two program providers instructing offenders. We
expected to see documentation demonstrating that the department
had conducted five annual on-site reviews—one each year—of
each of the two program providers, for a total of 10 on-site reviews.
However, the department could provide documentation of only
one on-site review—and it was incomplete. Although Alameda
Probation, Contra Costa Probation, Los Angeles Probation,

and San Joaquin Probation conducted more on-site visits than

Del Norte Probation, these departments also could not demonstrate
that they conducted on-site visits of each program annually.

Del Norte Probation also did not address significant deficiencies
that it identified in the single on-site review it performed. For
example, according to notes from the visit, the department
observed offenders inappropriately leaving class during the session,
which means they were not attending the full two hours as state
law requires. Although Del Norte Probation formally notified the
program provider of most deficiencies, it failed to mention the
issue of offenders leaving during the required full two-hour session.
Moreover, it also renewed that program the following year without
assurance that the program provider had taken steps to require
offenders to attend full sessions each week.

When we examined documentation of on-site program reviews
that Alameda Probation, Contra Costa Probation, Los Angeles
Probation, and San Joaquin Probation conducted, we found similar
deficiencies in their review processes that leave the departments
vulnerable to approving and renewing ineffective programs. For



California State Auditor Report 2021-113

example, Los Angeles Probation did not review program providers’
progress and enrollment reports to ensure that they contain all
statutorily required information, such as fees. We found similar
deficiencies in a selection of monitoring reviews performed by
Alameda Probation, Contra Costa Probation, and San Joaquin
Probation. Our 2006 report also concluded that the probation
departments did not consistently perform annual on-site program
reviews and that when departments did conduct those reviews,
some of the offenders’ records did not include progress reports,
counseling notes, or attendance records, an essential part of the
on-site review process. The similarity of our past findings to our
current ones suggests that the problems have been ongoing.

Because of their poor processes for conducting reviews, the
probation departments did not always collect the documentation
necessary to ensure program providers complied with state law.
Further, within the documentation they did collect, the departments
did not identify areas of noncompliance. When we reviewed a
selection of program providers, we identified deficiencies that the
probation departments either did not identify or did not review. As
a result, the probation departments inappropriately renewed these
programs. For example, state law requires program staff, to the
extent possible, to have specific knowledge regarding spousal abuse,
child abuse, substance abuse, sexual abuse, the dynamics of violence
and abuse, the law, and procedures of the legal system. However,
neither Contra Costa Probation nor Del Norte Probation ensured
that their providers submitted the appropriate training certificates,
nor did they identify the fact that none of the 13 available training
records for the facilitators we reviewed had training certificates in
all of the required areas.

Further, state law requires program providers to have a written
agreement with offenders that includes an outline of program
content, attendance and sobriety requirements, and notification
that the program provider may remove the offender from the
program if he or she is disruptive or not benefiting from the
program. However, Alameda Probation and San Joaquin Probation
did not always ensure that their providers include all required
components that inform offenders of program expectations in
their written agreements. Nonetheless, Alameda Probation and
San Joaquin Probation continued to renew the programs.

Finally, we also found that Alameda Probation did not comply
with state law when it revoked the approval of one of its programs.
According to state law, when a probation department determines
that a program does not comply with the batterer intervention

law or department standards, it must notify the program provider
of the noncompliant areas. The program provider must then
submit a written plan of corrections within 14 days, describing
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We identified program deficiencies
that the probation departments
either did not identify or did not
review before inappropriately
renewing the programs.
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each corrective action and a time frame for implementation. The
probation department must approve or disapprove all or any part

of the provider’s plan in writing. Alameda Probation revoked the
approval of one program for not complying with the department’s
standards but did not provide it with written notice of noncompliant
areas or allow it to provide a plan of corrections. Alameda Probation
could not explain why it took such abrupt action.

In another example, Contra Costa Probation sent a noncompliance
notice to a program provider, but the provider did not submit

its corrective action plan within 14 days. Although Contra Costa
Probation asserted that it revoked the approval of the program
because its plan of correction was not timely, it could not
demonstrate that it had formally revoked the approval. The other
three departments explained that they did not formally deny or
revoke approval of any programs from 2016 through 2020.

Please refer to the section beginning on page 5 to find the
recommendations that we have made as a result of these
audit findings.
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Chapter 3

INCREASED STATE OVERSIGHT AND GUIDANCE IS VITAL
TO IMPROVING THE BATTERER INTERVENTION SYSTEM

Key Points

+ Legislative changes are necessary to improve the batterer
intervention system. These changes include requiring initial
assessments of all offenders before sentencing, defining ability to
pay and indigence related to program fees, and specifying time
frames for probation departments and program providers to
report program and probation violations to the courts.

+ Other states we reviewed have more comprehensive and robust
standards than California, and most have state oversight agencies
responsible for approving, monitoring, renewing, and providing
guidance to program providers.

+ California would benefit from a state oversight agency responsible
for overseeing program providers, probation departments’
supervision of offenders, the establishment of statewide
comprehensive standards, and a system to track critical offender
and program data. With this additional oversight, it would allow
policymakers to easily access relevant data to make informed
decisions to improve the effectiveness of programs and rectify
longstanding problems with the batterer intervention system.

Legislative Changes Are Necessary to Ensure Proper Offender
Supervision and Program Oversight

The Legislature could rectify some of the ineffectiveness and
inconsistencies we identified in our review by including additional
definitions, requirements, and safeguards in state law. As described
in Chapter 1 and in previous reports by our office and others, the
probation departments, program providers, and the courts do not
adequately supervise offenders to ensure that they successfully
complete their programs and meet the conditions of their probation.
As we also discussed, some of the probation departments did

not always assess offenders on formal probation and the batterer
intervention law does not require them to assess offenders on
informal probation. We also found that program providers, probation
departments, and courts do not always transparently disclose
program fees to offenders, and some have applied fee requirements
inappropriately. As a result, we believe the Legislature could improve
the performance and operation of the batterer intervention system
with some statutory changes, as we show in Figure 8.
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Figure 8

Changes to State Law Would Improve the Impact and Operation of the Program
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The Legislature Should Require Probation Departments to Assess All
Offenders and Collect Adequate Information Before Courts Order Probation

Requiring probation departments to assess all domestic violence
offenders eligible for probation for underlying issues, such as
substance abuse or mental health concerns, before courts order
probation could have a significant impact on program completion.
State law requires probation departments to conduct these
assessments only on some offenders—those placed on formal
probation—and only after the offender has been granted probation.
However, we believe these assessments should occur before the
court orders probation in both felony and misdemeanor cases,

so that the court can consider each offender’s underlying needs
and risks when deciding whether to grant probation and when
setting the terms and conditions of probation. The information
collected from these assessments may also help the court determine
whether it is more appropriate for the probation department

or the court to supervise the offender. For example, if the initial
assessment identifies a mental health or substance abuse concern,
the probation department and court can ensure that the offender
receives treatment and the court may consider delaying enrollment
in a program until after the offender receives such treatment.
Considering offenders’ needs and risks is critical to setting them up
for successful program completion.

Of the 100 offenders we reviewed, 39 were on informal probation
and thus did not require an initial assessment. Of the remaining

61 offenders who were on formal probation and required an initial
assessment, 32, or more than 50 percent, did not complete a
program. However, as we discuss previously, three of the probation
departments did not always conduct these required assessments,
and all of the assessments the five probation departments did
conduct lacked some of the required components. The probation
departments later identified that at least 20 of these 32 offenders
had potential substance abuse, mental health, or financial issues,
underlying conditions that may have contributed to the offenders’
failure to complete a program. The court records did not provide
sufficient detail for us to identify similar issues for the offenders on
informal probation, but some of them may have also had underlying
conditions that affected their ability to complete a program.

If the Legislature required initial assessments on all offenders
before sentencing, the courts and probation departments could
appropriately refer them to services to address these underlying
issues and remove potential barriers to their completing a program.

It would also benefit the courts and the probation departments if
state law required more comprehensive assessments. For example,
state law requires all offenders to pay a fee for their program unless
the court waives the fee because the offender does not have the
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None of the five probation
departments we reviewed could
demonstrate that they fully disclose
program fees to offenders.

ability to pay. Although the batterer intervention law requires
probation departments to assess the economic backgrounds of
offenders on formal probation, it does not require probation
departments to assess offenders’ financial means to pay for a
program. If the assessment identified that the offender does not
have the financial means to pay, the court could approve a fee
waiver or refer the offender to employment services.

Further, the batterer intervention law requires offenders to attend
ongoing same-gender group sessions, but it does not require
probation departments to assess offenders’ gender identities

or sexual orientations. Transgender, gender-nonconforming,

or not heterosexual individuals may not feel safe and welcome
participating in a program that does not focus on LGBTQ
relationships. Consequently, these offenders may not receive
appropriate rehabilitation from a same-gender program.

Additional Definitions and Safequards Are Needed Related to Program Fees

Although the batterer intervention law requires program fees and
fee waivers be based on the offender’s ability to pay, it does not
define ability to pay. The Legislature could include in the batterer
intervention law similar parameters to those in Government Code
section 68632. This section authorizes the waiver of court fees for
certain individuals, such as individuals who are receiving certain
public benefits, who have incomes that are 200 percent or less of the
current poverty guidelines, or who cannot pay court fees without
using money that would normally pay for the common necessaries
of life. Further, while the batterer intervention law allows indigent
offenders to negotiate a deferred payment schedule for program
fees, it does not provide a definition of indigence. Perhaps because
state law does not define these key terms and the assessments do
not address them, we found that the courts generally could not
demonstrate that during sentencing they considered the offenders’
ability to pay or whether they were indigent.

In the interest of transparency and to help offenders make informed
decisions when selecting a program provider, the Legislature should
require the courts, probation departments, and program providers
to disclose and make easily accessible information on program

fees. We found that none of the five probation departments we
reviewed could demonstrate that they fully disclose program

fees to offenders. For example, although Contra Costa Probation
provides offenders with a listing of providers and some limited fee
information, it does not include specific pricing for all programs.
Further, San Joaquin Probation explained that it only verbally
describes program fees to offenders.
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In fact, we found that probation departments generally do not
maintain program fee information and therefore have likely not
provided such information to the courts. As a result, probation
departments and courts have not disclosed program fees to
offenders when referring them to a program. The batterer
intervention law does not require the probation departments or the
courts to disclose program fees to offenders or to advise them of the
availability of fee waivers. Without such disclosures, we question
how offenders can fully understand program fees or the option

to request a fee waiver from the court before agreeing to attend

a program as a condition of their probation. Further, they may be
unaware that they can also request a fee waiver at any time during
their probation term, should their financial situation change.

Additionally, the majority of program providers do not
transparently disclose their fees on their websites. According to a
2021 study that the University of California, Los Angeles, conducted
regarding program fees in Los Angeles County, some program
providers would not fully disclose their sliding fee scales over the
phone. Rather, an individual seeking information about sliding fee
scales needed to go to the program provider in person and provide
documentation of his or her financial situation. Further, the report
found that although over half of the 83 programs the researchers
interviewed had websites, only eight advertised their fees on their
websites. When we evaluated websites for 26 program providers
across the five counties we reviewed, we found that the majority
of them did not transparently or sufficiently disclose their fees or
their sliding fee scales. Requiring program providers to disclose
their fees clearly and transparently will allow offenders to obtain
sufficient information to select a program that is most suitable to
their financial situation.

Additional Guidance in State Law Could Help Probation Departments
and Providers Administer Programs Consistently

The Legislature could rectify some of the issues we discuss in
Chapter 1 pertaining to excessive absences by adding specific
direction into state law. Although the batterer intervention law
allows program providers to grant no more than three excused
absences for good cause, this law does not specify whether
offenders must make up any such missed classes. When we
reviewed a selection of program provider policies, we found that
some require offenders to make up missed classes and attend
the full 52 weeks, whereas others allow offenders to attend only
49 classes, taking into consideration the three excused absences
that state law allows. Further, the batterer intervention law does
not provide direction on how program providers should address
unexcused absences. Although we believe that an unexcused
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Because program providers do not
always report program violations
in a timely manner, the system may
lack information necessary to hold
offenders accountable for violating
conditions of probation.

absence is a program violation that providers should prioritize
reporting to probation departments and the courts, we found
instances where some providers did not report these absences
for months, as we describe earlier in this report. It is critical for
the Legislature to provide this additional direction to ensure that
all offenders receive consistent rehabilitative programming and
that the probation departments, courts, and program providers
consistently enforce the conditions of probation.

Further, although state law allows only the court to authorize fee
waivers to certain offenders, some probation departments did

not identify or correct the practices of program providers who
inappropriately waived program fees without the court’s approval,
as we describe in Chapter 2. We believe the law is clear as it is
currently written. However, given that some probation departments
and providers have not adhered to state law, we believe the
Legislature could emphasize the requirements by expressly
prohibiting probation departments and program providers from
waiving offenders’ program fees.

Finally, with the exception of requiring program providers to
immediately report protective order violations, the batterer
intervention law does not specify the time frame and circumstances
in which providers must report any other program violations.
Consequently, program providers do not always report program
violations to probation departments and the courts in a timely
manner, as we discuss in Chapter 1. As a result, courts and
probation departments may lack the information necessary to
hold offenders accountable for violating the conditions of their
probation. Including in the batterer intervention law specific and
reasonable time frames for reporting offenders’ program violations
would provide additional assurance that program providers clearly
understand the requirements and would improve consistency in
reporting throughout the State.

Other States Have Established Oversight Systems and Standards That
Could Benefit California

To identify best practices for effective program oversight and
standards, and to determine whether the type of agency that oversees
the program may improve effectiveness, we reviewed five states with
batterer intervention programs, as Figure 9 shows. Specifically, we
interviewed representatives from Kansas, where a law enforcement
agency oversees programs; Oregon, where a criminal justice agency
oversees programs; and Washington, where a health and human
services agency oversees programs. We also reviewed publicly
available information from Massachusetts and Texas.
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Figure 9
Other States We Reviewed Have Statewide Standards and Systems for Ensuring Collaboration

CALIFORNIA MASSACHUSETTS TEXAS WASHINGTON

Standards
Statewide Council
Statewide
Oversight Agency

Type qf Statewide Law Enforcement  Public Health N/A Criminal Justice  Social anq Health
Oversight Agency System Services
Number of Certified

Program Providers Unknown' 42 16 42 127 70

in the State

Source: Interviews, reports, and publicly available information from each state.
N/A = Not applicable.
* Although California has standards, they are not sufficient, as we describe in this report.

T Although we could not determine the current number of program providers in California, the five counties reviewed reported having a total of
168 program providers.

We found that each of these states has adopted best practices

for oversight and collaboration that might benefit California.
Specifically, Kansas, Massachusetts, Texas, and Washington have
state oversight agencies that approve, monitor, and renew their
programs. Further, each of these state oversight agencies provide
guidance to program providers within their states. Oregon has
established an advisory committee under its attorney general’s
office that recommends regulatory standards for its programs.
Oregon’s advisory committee also approves demonstration projects
that deviate from its current standards in the interest of testing
innovative, alternative means of addressing domestic violence.

Four of the five states we reviewed—Massachusetts, Oregon, Texas,
and Washington—have more comprehensive and robust standards
than California and consequently provide more detailed guidance to
their program providers. For example, Washington has established
specific qualification requirements for its program providers and
their direct treatment staff, which vary by position but can include
certain education, specialized training, experience, background
checks, and counseling credentials. These robust requirements
contrast with California’s minimal program instructor requirements,
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Examples From Washington’s Standards

Providers must document ...

.. offender’s understanding of accountability for his or her
abusive behaviors and resulting behavioral changes.

.. offender’s understanding of how children have
been impacted by the offender’s abuse and the
incompatibility of domestic violence and abuse with
responsible parenting.

.. aminimum of three separate examples of how the
offender has taken accountability since beginning
their program.

Source: Washington law.

which focus largely on the types of training program
facilitators should have received. California does not
require the instructors to be licensed counselors or
have college or university degrees. Washington also
requires its providers to document offenders’ cognitive
and behavioral changes over the duration of their
program. We provide some examples of the required
documentation in the text box. California does not
have a similar requirement.

Furthermore, Kansas and Massachusetts dedicate

an entire section of their standards to curriculum
requirements. These two states’ standards provide far
more extensive detail on the minimum requirements
that program curricula must contain than California’s
standards do. If California provided additional
guidance on curriculum content and required
documentation of offenders’ progress over the

course of their programs, it would be in a better position to conduct
consistent reviews of program outcomes and to identify areas for
ongoing content improvement.

Texas’s guidelines are similar to those in California’s law in many

ways, but they also outline more specific reporting requirements. For
example, Texas’s guidelines require providers to provide exit reports
within five business days of an offender’s termination or completion

of a program to the agency that referred the offender to the program.
California’s standards do not specify an expected reporting time frame.

Finally, many states use a process to improve their standards that
encourages collaboration among relevant stakeholders. Specifically,
from 2014 through 2016, Portland State University researchers
interviewed officials in 49 states to understand how they monitor
and certify programs for compliance with their standards.10 At that
time, 46 states reported that they had established statewide standards
and two more reported that they were developing such standards.
According to the Portland State University presentation, 31 states
reported having standards committees that were generally responsible
for making recommendations for program improvements and for
providing guidance for implementing new or existing program
standards. According to the states we interviewed, these committees
are usually composed of multiple relevant stakeholders, such as
probation officials, court officials, mental health professionals, and

victim advocates. California currently does not have such a committee.

10 Eric Mankowski, Ph.D. “Connecting Research, Policy, and Practice Evidence: Findings from a National
Survey of Batterer Intervention Program Standards,” Portland State University, November 2016.
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Improving California’s Program Will Likely Require Statewide
Oversight and Collaboration

We believe that identifying a state oversight agency and
implementing a collaborative statewide approach would allow
California to strengthen its program administration and
effectiveness, as Figure 10 describes. Specifically, the Legislature
could task a single state agency with overseeing program providers
to ensure their compliance with state law. That state agency could
also monitor probation departments’ supervision of offenders

to ensure that the departments fulfill their responsibilities in a
timely and consistent way. In addition, it could collaborate with
the Judicial Council to ensure that it provides sufficient guidance
to the courts regarding holding offenders accountable when they
violate the conditions of their probation. Finally, the state agency
could work with stakeholders—such as law enforcement officials,
rehabilitative experts, and victim advocates—to establish statewide
comprehensive standards as well as a system to track critical
offender and program data, such as completion rates.

Figure 10
The State Could Benefit From a Centralized Entity That Is Responsible for Overseeing Its Batterer Intervention Efforts

[ 1990 | 2005 [ 2006 ——] 2009 2022

Program reviews from each of these years identified similar problems in
California's implementation of its batterer intervention efforts.

Source: Review of historic program reports, the five probation departments’ policies and standards, and 100 offenders.
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Virtual classes have expanded

the geographic area in which
program providers can operate,
and California could streamline its
oversight efforts by approving only
those providers most qualified to
rehabilitate offenders.

As we previously discuss, none of the probation departments

we reviewed have adequately approved, monitored, or reviewed
program providers. Centralizing such oversight would create
consistency and allow the State to select only the most qualified
and effective providers. We considered the size of California and
scalability to determine whether state oversight of programs is
feasible. Most of the other states we looked at have fewer than 100
certified program providers statewide. As Figure 9 shows, Texas had
the most with 127 program providers and Massachusetts had the
least with 16 program providers. In notable contrast, we identified
about 170 program providers in just the five counties we reviewed.

That said, we believe California has an opportunity to reduce the
number of program providers throughout the State. Specifically, the
probation departments in the five counties we reviewed explained
that after the onset of the pandemic, some of their program
providers more commonly made live-streamed classes available

for offenders. The availability of these virtual classes has expanded
the geographic area in which program providers can operate.

For example, one program provider we interviewed stated it is an
approved provider in 18 California counties and conducts virtual
classes for roughly 800 offenders per week. We are not advocating
eliminating in-person classes, as we recognize some offenders may
benefit more from in-person instruction or do not have sufficient
access to technology. However, we believe California could
streamline its oversight efforts by approving only those program
providers that are the most qualified to rehabilitate offenders. Thus,
statewide approval, renewal, and monitoring of program providers
is a feasible consideration.

In addition, a state agency could develop robust standards and
guidance for program providers in collaboration with a council of
stakeholders. The standards should include state law’s requirements
and address all of the deficiencies identified in this report and
earlier reports, including attendance, probation violations,
facilitator training, and reporting requirements. The standards
should also enhance guidance regarding program curricula to make
them more effective and consistent. The curriculum requirements
in the batterer intervention law are limited to one sentence that
states that each program shall consist of “educational programming
that examines, at a minimum, gender roles, socialization, the nature
of violence, the dynamics of power and control, and the effects of
abuse on children and others”” Likely as a result of this minimal
guidance, our review found that program providers vary in terms of
the topics they cover. Further, some do not have well-documented
curricula that extend beyond a high-level weekly topic list.
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To facilitate ongoing improvement, the state oversight agency

could also require the collaborative council of stakeholders to

meet periodically to discuss program outcomes, relevant program
data, and potential statewide improvements to increase program
effectiveness. For example, because the State currently lacks
centralized data regarding offenders, including whether they
complete a program, accurately determining program effectiveness
is challenging, if not impossible. The statewide oversight agency
could address this issue by tracking and analyzing statewide
offender and program data to ensure that providers are effectively
achieving the desired outcomes. These data could include offenders’
demographics, program completions, and reasons for failing to
complete a program. In collaboration with the stakeholder council,
the oversight agency could analyze these data and use them to make
informed policy decisions that reduce domestic violence.

As we discuss in Chapter 1, there is some indication that offenders’
participation in programs may have a rehabilitative effect.
However, until California improves offender accountability and
tracks program outcomes, it is premature to ascertain whether the
batterer intervention system might improve if it were overseen by
a health and human services agency rather than a criminal justice
agency. Some of the states we interviewed explained that they
track some data on their offenders, but none of the states described
how they use data available to analyze the effectiveness of their
programs. For example, Washington evaluates program outcomes
on an offender-by-offender basis, and therefore, it does not have
centralized data available. It is also unclear from the other states’
data whether a criminal justice agency or a health and human
services agency is better suited to oversee program standards

and effectiveness.

To gain additional perspective regarding the possibility of statewide
oversight and to determine the best agency that might provide such
oversight, we interviewed officials from four potentially relevant
state agencies—the Board of State and Community Corrections, the
California Department of Public Health, the California Department
of Social Services, and the California Department of Justice
(Justice). None of the agencies offered strong opinions regarding the
most appropriate state oversight agency. However, each expressed
that collaboration among stakeholders, including law enforcement
and health and human services representatives, would be beneficial
to program effectiveness. The departments generally explained

that they currently have no direct involvement in the batterer
intervention system or that their involvement is mostly limited to
services they provide to domestic violence victims, rather than the
rehabilitation of offenders.

October 2022

A statewide oversight agency

could track and analyze statewide
offender and program data to
ensure that providers are effectively
achieving the desired outcomes.
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The California Department of Justice,
under the direction of the Office of the
Attorney General, is the state agency
that is best positioned to oversee
batterer intervention programs.

We believe that Justice, under the direction of the Office of the
Attorney General (Attorney General), is the state agency that

is best positioned to oversee programs statewide. In 2003 the
Attorney General convened a 26-member task force to learn how
local criminal justice systems have carried out their responsibilities
to, among other things, hold offenders accountable for domestic
violence crimes. In 2005 the task force reported that it found
problematic practices related to program standards and program
provider performance. Further, Justice has a research center that is
dedicated to applying a scientific approach to legal review, policy
and data analysis, and empirical studies leading to data-driven
decisions through collaboration. Because the Attorney General is
the chief law enforcement officer of the State and because Justice
is already responsible for tracking criminal data, such as domestic
violence crimes, we believe that Justice is well positioned to lead
statewide efforts to reduce domestic violence.

We shared our recommendations regarding state oversight with
Justice. Justice stated that it needed more time to explore the
recommendations and that it was not in a position to make a public
statement about its potential role. It explained that it would need to
discuss the possibility internally because the work involved would
not fit clearly into any of its existing sections and because it believes
that another state agency might be able to more appropriately
perform the required responsibilities.

Please refer to the section beginning on page 5 to find the
recommendations that we have made as a result of these
audit findings.

We conducted this performance audit in accordance with generally accepted government auditing
standards and under the authority vested in the California State Auditor by Government Code
section 8543 et seq. Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain sufficient,
appropriate evidence to provide a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on the
audit objectives. We believe that the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for our findings
and conclusions based on our audit objectives.

Respectfully submitted,

i ot

MICHAEL S. TILDEN, CPA

Acting California State Auditor

October 18, 2022
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Appendix
Scope and Methodology

The Joint Legislative Audit Committee (Audit Committee) directed
the California State Auditor to conduct an audit of batterer
intervention programs in Alameda, Contra Costa, Del Norte,

Los Angeles, and San Joaquin counties to determine whether their
programs were effectively reducing domestic violence. Further,

the Audit Committee directed us to review program oversight and
determine whether a health and human services oversight agency,

rather than a law enforcement agency, would improve program
effectiveness. The table below lists the objectives that the Audit
Committee approved and the methods we used to address them.

Audit Objectives and the Methods Used to Address Them

AUDIT OBJECTIVE METHOD

1 Review and evaluate the laws, rules, and Reviewed and evaluated state laws and regulations related to the batterer intervention
regulations significant to the audit objectives. system, and county policies, procedures, and standards for programs.
2 Evaluate the counties’ probation departments’ - Reviewed and analyzed each probation department’s policies, procedures, and
roles in approving and monitoring programs by practices for approving, monitoring, and renewing programs to ensure that they
doing the following: comply with the requirements in law. We interviewed department staff for perspective.
a. Assess what criteria and data probation + Reviewed probation departments’ denial letters from 2016 through 2020 to determine
departments use when deciding whether to their reasons for the denial and, to the extent possible, whether they were justified.
approve or recertify a program. Identify the We interviewed probation department staff for perspective.
reasons that programs have been deniedby . compared probation departments’ policies, procedures, practices and program
these departments. standards to determine the extent to which they monitored program performance and
b. Evaluate the extent to which the probation to identify best practices.
departments review the performance of - For each county, reviewed documentation from one annual on-site visit for a selection
programs, and dfetermlne how program of up to three program providers and assessed the extent to which probation
standards established by probation departments collect and analyze data. We interviewed probation department staff
departments compare across jurisdictions for perspective.
and to state-level standards.
¢. Determine what data probation
departments collect from programs and
how they use the data.
3 Assess the probation departments’ oversight + Reviewed approval, monitoring, and renewal documentation obtained from the

and monitoring of program fees, including
fee waivers and sliding scales, to ensure
compliance with state law. Analyze whether
program fees pose barriers to program
completion. As part of that review, consider
fee transparency, costs per class and for
registration, and the availability of fee waivers
and payment plans.

counties to determine whether counties oversee and monitor program fees, including
fee waivers and sliding scales.

For a selection of 20 offenders from each county, compared ranges of program fees to
program completion rates to identify how program fees may affect completion rates.
We did not identify any correlation between the program fees and completion rates.

For a selection of up to 15 program providers in each county, reviewed documentation
and program provider websites to assess whether they transparently disclose fees.

Interviewed probation department staff and a selection of program providers to obtain
perspective regarding the transparency of program fees.

continued on next page ..
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AUDIT OBJECTIVE METHOD

4

For a selection of programs operating in
Alameda, Contra Costa, Del Norte, Los Angeles,
and San Joaquin counties, assess program
outcomes by doing the following:

a. Determine the percentage of people who
fail to complete program courses. To the
extent possible, identify the reasons that
participants fail to complete courses.

b. To the extent possible, evaluate the
effectiveness of programs at reducing future
incidents of violence among participants
who complete the full program, as well as
those who fail to complete the full course.

¢.  Analyze the demographics and income
levels of program participants and identify
any correlation with course completion and
recidivism rates.

Evaluate whether the State’s requirements for
programs sufficiently address the causes of
intimate partner violence and its public health
impacts by doing the following:

a. Determine the extent to which the
programs reviewed under Objective 4
are informed by public health data
and address the impacts of trauma,
mental illness, substance use disorder or
addiction, social determinants of health
like poverty and structural racism, and
concepts like patriarchy, misogyny, and
gender-based evidence.

b. Assess how program requirements, such
as concurrent counseling for substance
abuse—including detoxification and
abstinence—and the exclusion of family
counseling, impact programs.

¢. Tothe extent possible, assess whether
programs are meeting the needs of people
who voluntarily seek help—those who are
at risk of causing harm but are not engaged
with the criminal legal system.

Assess whether the probation departments’
administration of programs meet the needs
of participants with different backgrounds,
including gender, sexual orientation, and race
or ethnicity.

- For a selection of 20 offenders in each county, reviewed documentation or file notes to
determine the number who failed to complete a program and, if possible, the reasons
for failure; participant income; participant sexual orientation; and participant gender.

- To identify previous and subsequent crimes, reviewed offenders’ criminal histories
using information from Justice. We found evidence that Justice does not always possess
complete information on offenders’ crimes—an issue that was recognized in our
2017 report, California Department of Social Services: Its Caregiver Background Check
Bureau Lacks Criminal History Information It Needs to Protect Vulnerable Populations
in Licensed Care Facilities, Report 2016-126, March 2017. Justice has established an
advisory council to address this issue. Although Justice’s data are incomplete, we were
able to use information from its system to draw limited conclusions as to whether
offenders committed previous or subsequent domestic violence or abuse-related
crimes. Probation departments did not maintain sufficient data that would allow us
to identify any trends in offenders’ demographics (age, race, ethnicity, and gender),
income levels, program completion, and recidivism rates.

Obtained and reviewed a selection of up to three program providers’ course curricula
to identify whether those curricula address the impacts of trauma; mental illness;
substance use disorder or addiction; social determinants of health like poverty and
structural racism; and concepts like patriarchy, misogyny, and gender-based evidence.
Of the 14 program curricula we reviewed, we only identified three that address the
impacts that each of these issues have on domestic violence.

Interviewed selected program provider directors to determine whether they use public
health data to inform their program curriculum, whether they accommodate those who
might voluntarily enroll, and whether other treatment or counseling impedes or adds
value to programs. Most of the program providers we interviewed stated that they do
not use public health data to inform their curricula. Most providers advised that they
accommodate voluntary enrollments but had not experienced many. The majority of
providers expressed that concurrent counseling—for example, for substance abuse—
can be an effective treatment and adds value to programs.

Reviewed a selection of studies to identify the needs of offenders with different
backgrounds based on published best practices.

Interviewed probation department staff in each county to determine what efforts they
have made to meet the needs of offenders with different backgrounds. We found that
none of the five probation departments have considered the needs of offenders with
different backgrounds in selecting the program providers that serve offenders in their
respective counties.

continued on next page ...
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7 Tothe extent possible, determine whether the
effectiveness of programs would be improved
if they were overseen by a public health—or
human services—oriented agency rather than
probation departments. As part of this analysis,
evaluate, to the extent possible, whether such
a shift may improve prevention of violent
incidents, increase the number of people
who voluntarily seek treatment, and increase
program completion rates.

8 Review and assess any other issues that are
significant to the audit.

Source: Audit work papers.

California State Auditor Report 2021-113
October 2022

- Identified any significant trends or patterns in offender demographics, underlying
issues, completion rates, and recidivism that could inform whether the effectiveness
of programs would improve if overseen by an agency outside the justice system.
Probation departments did not maintain sufficient data that would allow us to identify
any trends in offenders’ demographics (age, race, ethnicity, and gender), income levels,
program completion, and recidivism rates.

Interviewed representatives from Kansas and Oregon, which have their programs
overseen by law enforcement or a criminal justice system, and from Washington, where
a health and human services agency oversees its program, to identify best practices.

We reviewed publicly available documentation from these states, as well as from

Texas and Massachusetts, to determine the effectiveness of each state’s program and
whether they were improved when overseen outside of law enforcement or the criminal
justice system.

« Interviewed three counties in California’s pilot programs to determine how they have
structured their courses and gain perspective on their courses’ effectiveness.

None identified.
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ALAMEDA COUNTY
PROBATION DEPARTMENT

P.O. Box 2059
1111 Jackson Street
Oakland, CA 94604-2059

MARCUS DAWAL
Interim Chief Probation Officer

September 26, 2022

Michael S. Tilden, Acting California State Auditor™®
621 Capitol Mall, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95814

Subject: California State Auditor’s Report 2021-113: Batterer’s Intervention Programs
Dear Mr. Tilden,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the findings and recommendations of the California State Auditor’s
Batterer’s Intervention Programs (BIP) report 2021-113, dated October 18, 2022. The Alameda County Probation
Department (ACPD) is in receipt of that report and has the following response to the areas of deficiency identified
in the report.

Recommendation 1: Regarding the State Auditor’s recommendation, “Alameda Probation should by April
2023, formalize and implement comprehensive policies and procedures for domestic violence case
management...”

ACPD has a policy entitled Adult Services Manual section 111, Domestic Violence Supervision. This comprehensive (1
policy outlines the expectations placed on ACPD staff regarding managing clients with terms and conditions of
community supervision related to domestic violence offenses. The policy outlines the mandatory intervals of client
contact, assessments that must be conducted, interactions with victims and treatment providers, and sets regular case
reviews to measure the progress and compliance of clients on domestic violence supervision caseloads. Currently,

this policy is undergoing the meet and confer process required under the Meyers-Milias-Brown Act with the last
remaining impacted employee bargaining unit. The meet and confer process for this policy began on October 31,

2018, and ACPD anticipates that the meet and confer process will conclude before April 2023.

Recommendation 2 and 3: Regarding the State Auditor’s recommendation, “Alameda Probation should by
April 2023, formalize comprehensive program standards for program providers...” and “...should develop
and follow formalized policies and procedures for approving, renewing, and conducting comprehensive
ongoing monitoring of program providers by April 2023.”

ACPD has an existing 33-page document entitled Standards for Batterer’s Programs and Certification dated January
15,2008. These program standards are outdated and compliance by ACPD has not been maintained. The ACPD will
update the program standards to align with state law. Program standards will provide clear guidance on the
department’s expectations and the documentation it will review to verify compliance with state law as recommended
by the State Auditor. ACPD also agrees that these program standards should be distributed to program providers
during the initial application and approval process and annually during the renewal process.

ACPD has an existing policy entitled, Adult Services Manual Section 497, Certification and Monitoring of Domestic
Violence Batterer’s Intervention Programs. However, this policy was last updated in 2004 and is outdated. Further,
ACPD’s compliance with said policy has not been maintained. As a result, ACPD is updating the Certification and
Monitoring of Batterer’s Intervention Programs policy. This comprehensive policy will outline the responsibility of

*  (alifornia State Auditor's comment appears on page 57.
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ACPD staff regarding the approval, denial, suspension, revocation, and monitoring of Batterer’s Intervention
Programs serving ACPD clients.

ACPD is committed to not only updating its existing policy, but also ensuring staff are trained and following all laws
and procedures related to the certification of batterer’s intervention programs. In response to this recommendation,
ACPD will immediately educate staff on issues pertaining to certification of batterer’s intervention programs and
monitor compliance with said requirements while the policy development process continues.

Recommendation 4: Regarding the State Auditor’s recommendation, “Alameda Probation should
immediately implement record retention policies to maintain documentation on all offenders for five years
after the offenders complete or are terminated from probation”

ACPD agrees with this recommendation. ACPD has an existing policy entitled, Administrative Manual section 127,
Case Records. This policy outlines requirements of ACPD staff to maintain a case record of all pertinent client
documents. Client records related to domestic violence caseloads and treatment provider referrals and notes are
covered by this policy. However, ACPD acknowledges that compliance with this policy has not been maintained.
Therefore, the education of staff on this issue and subsequent monitoring for compliance will take place immediately.
Further, the draft Domestic Violence policy referenced in ACPD’s response to Recommendation 1 also has
additional domestic violence case entry requirements. ACPD has also developed and implemented an information
technology solution. ACPD has transitioned to a fully electronic case management system. Physical files are no
longer utilized and instead all client case documents, activities, case notes, case plans, assessments, and treatment
provider notes are recorded and stored in ACPD’s online Case Management System. Specifically, ACPD’s Case
Management System has a “Provider Portal” where treatment provider information can be captured. All data is stored
and backed up on cloud storage.

Recommendation 5: Regarding the State Auditor’s recommendation, “Alameda Probation should maintain
standard program fee information and sliding fee scales for each of the providers they oversee. The probation
departments should make this information available to the courts by April 2023”

ACPD agrees with this recommendation. ACPD will be maintaining standard program fee information and sliding
fee scales for each provider. ACPD will establish a process to make this information available to the courts.

In addition to the strategies and interventions listed above, ACPD will create a Corrective Action Plan (CAP)
outlining all areas of deficiency related to the State Auditor’s recommendations and findings. The purpose of the
CAP will be to track and monitor progress towards reaching full compliance by assigning items of improvement to
specific personnel and regularly reviewing progress of said items. The CAP will be reviewed by executive
management no less than quarterly.

ACPD looks forward to achieving full compliance with the State Auditor’s recommendations and appreciates the
feedback and assistance offered by the State Auditor’s Office.

Sincerely,
2207, /,/

Marcus Dawal
Interim Chief Probation Officer

cc: Susan S. Muranishi, County Administrator
Donna Ziegler, County Counsel
Chris Pedrotti, Deputy Chief Probation Officer
Dante Cercone, Deputy Chief Probation Officer



Comments

CALIFORNIA STATE AUDITOR’S COMMENTS ON
THE RESPONSE FROM THE ALAMEDA COUNTY
PROBATION DEPARTMENT

To provide clarity and perspective, we are commenting on the
Alameda County Probation Department’s response to our audit.
The number below corresponds to the number we have placed in
the margin of its response.

As Alameda Probation points out in its response, its policy
related to domestic violence supervision is undergoing the meet
and confer process required by state law and, therefore, is still in
draft form. We look forward to reviewing the finalized policy and
Alameda Probation’s efforts to implement it as part of our regular
follow-up process.

California State Auditor Report 2021-113
October 2022

57



58 California State Auditor Report 2021-113
October 2022



California State Auditor Report 2021-113 59
October 2022

Esa Ehmen-Krause, MPA

CHIEF PROBATION OFFICER

Probation Department

Martinez Office

50 Douglas Drive, Suite 200
Martinez, CA 94553
925-313-4000

Michael S. Tilden September 26, 2022
Acting California State Auditor*

621 Capitol Mall, Suite 1200

Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: Contra Costa County’s Response to California State Audit of Batterer Intervention
Program

Dear Michael Tilden:

On behalf of the Probation Department of Contra Costa County, thank you to the team of state
auditors who conducted an audit of the policies and practices of our Batterer Intervention Program
(“BIP”). We understand it was an arduous effort, and the recommendations will assist us in improving
our BIP.

The batterer intervention law, namely California Penal Codes sections 1203.097 and 1203.098, has
always been our primary source when setting policies, practices, and expectations for our BIP,
including when supervising domestic violence offenders, certifying and monitoring BIP providers, and
working with outside agencies and the courts regarding the same. We understand and agree,
however, that the batterer intervention law, at times, is not specific with what it requires, and we see
the benefits of further developing and clarifying our policies and practices to help ensure compliance
with the law. Our response to the audit team’s recommendations are set forth below:

Recommendation No. 1: To ensure that offenders are held accountable for
complying with the conditions of probation, Contra Costa Probation should, by
April 2023, formalize and implement comprehensive policies and procedures for
domestic violence case management that clearly describe the department’s
expectations for probation staff's compliance with state law.

We are currently in the process of developing a Domestic Violence Offender Supervision protocol that
will, among other things, set forth clear and unequivocal expectations, policies, and/or practices to:
hold offenders accountable; define mandated violations according to Penal Code section 1203.097;
offer appropriate supervision strategies according to the risk assessment tool and the offenders’
needs; and define the specific roles of the courts, our department, and the BIP providers. We expect
this protocol to be formalized and implemented by April of 2023.

*  (alifornia State Auditor's comments appear on page 63.
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Recommendation No. 2: To ensure program compliance with state law, Contra Costa
Probation should, by April 2023, formalize comprehensive program standards for program
providers that present clear guidance on the department’s expectations and the documentation
it will review fo verify compliance with state law. The probation department should distribute
these standards to program providers during its initial application and approval process and
again annually during the renewal process.

We agree with the draft report when it states that state law does not currently prescribe what should
be included in our standards for overseeing BIP providers, or the guidance that we must provide to
such providers. Nonetheless, we will further develop and enhance our current standards and
practices to better inform BIP providers of both their legal requirements and our expectations, and we
will pay close attention to concerns mentioned in the draft report. As examples, we will specify what
we expect to be timely reporting of certain information, and the steps that will be taken if non-
compliance is observed. We agree that the best practice should be to distribute these standards both
during the initial application and approval process, as well as annually during the renewal process,
and we will incorporate this suggestion into our standards. We expect these updated standards will
be finalized by April of 2023.

Recommendation No. 3: To ensure that program providers comply with Contra Costa
Probation’s standards and state law, the probation department should develop and follow
formalized policies and procedures for approving, renewing, and conducting comprehensive
ongoing monitoring of program providers by April 2023. These policies should specify the
frequency of monitoring, the documentation the department will require of the program
providers to demonstrate compliance, and the specific actions the department will take when a
provider is noncompliant.

Our current approval, renewal, and monitoring process for BIP providers mirrors the requirements set
forth in California Penal Code sections 1203.097 and 1203.098. We will further enhance and improve
upon our procedure and process to help ensure BIP providers comply with relevant standards and
state law. As suggested, we will update our policies to specify, among other things: the
documentation we will require from BIP providers; the frequency upon which we will conduct on-site
reviews and assessments; and the steps we will take should non-compliance be observed. We will
review this process to determine if including it in our Domestic Violence Offender Supervision protocol
is appropriate, or develop a separate procedure all together. We expect these improvements to be
formalized by April of 2023.
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Recommendation No. 4: To comply with state law, Contra Costa Probation should
immediately implement record retention policies to maintain documentation on all offenders for
five years after the offenders complete or are terminated from probation.

We have updated our record retention policies in accordance with the recommendation, and are in
the process of finalizing the policies. We have also directed appropriate staff to immediately begin
complying with the anticipated changes in the updated policies.

Recommendation No. 5: To ensure the courts can provide an offender with a selection of
available program providers and their costs before the offender agrees to attend a program as
a condition of probation, Contra Costa Probation should maintain standard program fee
information and sliding fee scales for each of the providers they oversee. The probation
departments should make this information available to the courts by April 2023.

We agree with the draft report when it states that the batterer intervention law does not require

probation departments or the courts to disclose program fees to offenders or to advise them of the
availability of fee waivers. That being said, we already currently provide the Contra Costa Superior (@
Court with information about each available BIP provider, the services they each provide, and their
costs. We also understand that the Contra Costa Superior Court makes this information available to

the public through their website at: https://www.cc-
courts.org/family/docs/2021CombinedReferralLists.pdf. Going forward, we will create a process to
demonstrate that we have retained and provided such information to the Contra Costa Superior

Court.

Respectfully submitted,

%M%robaﬁon Officer
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Comments

CALIFORNIA STATE AUDITOR’S COMMENTS ON THE
RESPONSE FROM THE CONTRA COSTA COUNTY
PROBATION DEPARTMENT

To provide clarity and perspective, we are commenting on the
Contra Costa County Probation Department’s response to our
audit. The numbers below correspond to the numbers we have
placed in the margin of its response.

We question Contra Costa Probation’s assertion that its approval,
renewal, and monitoring process for providers mirrors the
requirements in state law because it has not formalized this
process in policies and procedures for probation staft to follow.
As we describe on page 34 of our report, although Contra Costa
Probation has standards that it gives to program providers that
describe the general renewal and approval process, it does not
have any policies that probation staff must follow for their review
of applications and on-site reviews. We look forward to reviewing
Contra Costa probations’ efforts to develop and follow formalized
policies and procedures for approving, renewing, and conducting
comprehensive ongoing monitoring of program providers as part of
our regular follow-up process.

As we explain on page 42, Contra Costa Probation provides
offenders with a listing of providers and some limited fee
information; however, it does not include specific pricing for all
programs. As part of our audit work, we reviewed the list that the
court makes available on its website and found that it also does not
provide fee information for each of its available programs. Thus, we
stand by our recommendation that Contra Costa Probation should
maintain program fee information and sliding fee scales for each of
the providers it oversees and should make this information available
to the court.

October 2022
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Batterer Intervention Programs Audit

Report 2021-113

Del Norte County Probation Department Response

Response to Recommendations:

The State Auditor has made four primary recommendations that are pertinent to Del

Norte County Probation. They are:

1.

4.

Formalize and implement policies and procedures for domestic violence case
management,

Formalize comprehensive program standards to be provided to program providers,
Formalize and implement policies and procedures for approval and renewal of batterers
intervention program providers,

and Provide program fee information for every BIP to the Courts.

These recommendations include a timeline for these items to be completed and implemented
by April 2023.

While disagreeing with some of the interpretation of data and practice that have led the

Auditor to their conclusions, it is my firm belief that in every arena there is room for

improvement, no matter the level of performance that is currently in place. Therefore, in large

part | find these recommendations reasonable and have much of the groundwork already laid for

full implementation. My response to the recommendations follows.

1.

In response to recommendation #1: The Department is already in the process of
formalizing and implementing multiple standard operating procedures (SOP) for case
management Department-wide. While not complete and implemented yet, such an SOP
for the domestic violence offender caseload is currently being drafted and will be fully
completed and implemented before the end of 2022. This SOP will be coordinated with
and inclusive of a SOP for approval and renewal of BIP programs.

In response to recommendation #2: Any BIP provider is required to meet the standards
set by Sections 1203.097 & 1203.098 of the California Penal Code. These sections are
prescriptive in the requirements that providers must meet to operate a BIP and provide
clear, general guidance regarding the implementation and practice of programs. As a

*  (California State Auditor’s comments begin on page 71.

65



66

California State Auditor Report 2021-113
October 2022

result, the Department has never felt compelled to reiterate what statute already states,
finding such a practice unnecessarily redundant and onerous. Despite this, and in context
of the recommendations and responses for items #1 & 3, the Department will, as a part
of the SOPs to be issued, include program standards reiterating the statutory
requirements to BIP providers.

3. In response to recommendation #3: Similarly to a case management SOP, although
practice has largely followed statutory guidelines in the past, it has been recognized that
a SOP for approval and renewal of programs would be helpful and beneficial to all parties
involved. A draft of this SOP already exists and is being finalized at the current time. It
also will be completed and implemented before the end of 2022.

4. Inresponse to recommendation #4: As local implementation of systems varies from locale
to locale, although the Auditor may have found that program fees have been an
unexpected obstacle in some specific cases, it has never appeared to be so in Del Norte
County. This is information that would typically be shared at the local Domestic Violence
Task Force meetings which occur each month and would require a coordinated response
from all the partners involved in addressing the rehabilitation of domestic violence
offenders in Del Norte County. Additionally, this is a topic that, were it an ongoing issue,
the judges (Del Norte County has two) would take a direct interest in when sentencing
domestic violence offenders. As the Court has the ultimate authority when it comes to
the processes and information that is required for sentencing, this recommendation will
be taken under advisement, discussed with the Court and other local partners, and
implemented or not at the Court’s direction.

Response to Audit conclusions:

Based upon the information currently provided to the Department, it appears that the
overarching conclusion that is reached by the Auditor is that due to numerous factors, including
insufficient screening and assessment of offenders by probation departments, a lack of
accountability by those same departments leading to offenders failing to complete BIP programs,
and a lack of appropriate guidance and accountability for those programs provided by, again,
probation departments, the State should reform statute in some fashion so as to transfer the
responsibility for program approval and oversight from the local community to State control to
achieve better results for offenders and increased safety for victims and the community. It
appears that the Auditor believes that this is the most appropriate recommendation given the
information that they have. In some sense | agree that there is some logic to that conclusion and
that it may result in a more streamlined and efficient approach to standardize programming and
achieve what would appear to be more consistency in outcomes across the state.

What | believe is missing in such a recommendation is the recognition that each county is
unique, with different resources, justice partners, and expectations of their populace regarding
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priorities of the local government. This lack of recognition is twofold: failing to recognize the
unique circumstances of each domestic violence offender themselves, and a failure to recognize
the local dynamics involved in the regular interaction of the different agencies (most specifically
BIP providers) involved in engaging with DV offenders. While the Auditor is not incorrect in
pointing out certain flaws and failures in case management or the approval and renewal
processes of BIP providers, there are faces and stories behind the numbers and case notes. These
conversations in a lobby or office, or lunch meetings with 15 people discussing the local response
to DV are not always accounted for by the files or emails the Auditor reviews.

First, each unique offender requires probation departments to tailor their responses just
as uniquely to each offender to hold them to account for their actions and provide opportunity
for their rehabilitation | believe the Auditor’s fundamental misunderstanding of this can most
clearly be seen in the report in Chapter 1, discussing “lax supervision” of offenders by the
probation departments. In that chapter it is argued that because of a failure to appropriately
hold offenders accountable, the majority of offenders were terminated from probation and
unable to complete the required BIP program, thus resulting in greater recidivism. This is a
circular argument and a logical fallacy, assigning superhuman abilities to probation officers to
somehow force offenders to comply with every term of probation so as to not be violated,
thereby enabling them to complete the required program and reduce their likelihood of
committing further violence.

It is not within probation departments’ power to force compliance from offenders, no
more so than any government agent can force another citizen to make right and appropriate
decisions. Rather it is our mandate to provide opportunities for rehabilitation, hold offenders
accountable when they fail to meet the requirements of the Court, and to promote public safety
while carrying out these duties.

In Del Norte County’s case, it is illogical to argue that because 11 out of 20 offenders that
the Auditor investigated failed to complete their BIP program and were terminated from
probation we did not hold them accountable. Rather, ultimately due to the efforts of the
Department, the Court, and other local justice partners, 12 offenders who refused the
opportunity of rehabilitation (1 who completed the BIP program was terminated from probation
for other reasons) were held to account for their crimes and paid their debt to society by
incarceration. This fulfilled the mission of the Probation Department in ensuring public safety
when other measures were not sufficient and when the offender failed to abide by their
agreement to a grant of probation. Numerous violations of probation were filed against these
individuals, and due to the unique circumstances of each individual and case, those cases wended
their way through the local justice system in different fashions, ultimately ending in termination.
On the other hand, even individuals who successfully completed the BIP program and discharged
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from probation also had violations filed against them, however due to the unique circumstances
of their lives and cases they ended with a different result, a more positive result in those cases.
Finally, it is worth pointing out that 8 of the 9 offenders who completed their BIP program
successfully discharged from probation.

Another factor pointed out by the Auditor in regards to Del Norte’s case management is
the failure to “conduct an initial assessment for any of the 20 offenders [they] reviewed.” This is
not debatable in regards to 15 of the 20 offenders as they were misdemeanor cases. Del Norte
is one of the few, if not the only to my knowledge, who supervise misdemeanor DV offenders.
This has been a standing practice for decades and is based upon a long-ago agreement between
former judges and chiefs for which the Department does not receive any funding or resources to
support this population which typically makes up 70-80% of our DV caseload at any given time.
This is essentially done as a courtesy to support the Court in its desire to have someone play a
more active role with DV offenders than informal probation allows. As such, standard practice is
to not complete the standard assessments which are expected to occur for felony offenders
through the presentence report process as well as the risk/need assessment tool utilized by the
Department. | would point out that this is no different than every other misdemeanor DV
offender in the state who is placed on informal probation.

In regards to the felony offenders, in each case a presentence report was written and
provided to the Court which provides information regarding the offense, an analysis of the plea
agreement, and most pertinent to this conversation, personal information regarding the
defendant’s “antecedents, character, history, family environment, and offense of such person”
as is required in statute. In each case these reports were completed and the information
provided to all parties for consideration at the sentencing hearing. In addition, although the
additional risk/need assessment was not completed as it should have been in 4 out of 5 cases,
one of these offenders did also receive that assessment as part of the presentence process. This
information was provided to the Auditor. When considered objectively, any practitioner can
clearly see that although a formal tool was not used in most of these cases an assessment that
meets most of the requirements of 1203.097 PC was conducted on each of these felony offenders
and even presented for argument and discussion as part of the sentencing process.

My point in addressing the accountability of these offenders and assessments conducted
or not conducted is not to contend that Del Norte is perfect in its case management, but rather
that accountability and assessments do not equate to successful completion of BIP; the
Department would be “lax” in our responsibilities if we forced such an outcome. It was the
accountability provided by the Department that resulted in 12 offenders being terminated from
probation and assisted 8 others to successfully discharge from probation. The reason the Auditor
sees such a dramatic decline in recidivism in those that successfully completed BIP is not because
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of assessments and violations filed, but rather because of the personal choice of those offenders
to change their own legacies.

The second prong upon which the Auditor bases their conclusion is a systemic lack of
guidance and accountability provided to programs by probation departments. Once again, | will
not contend that Del Norte Probation is the epitome of efficiency or success in this aspect, as is
reflected in my acceptance of the criticism and efforts currently being made to improve in this
area. However, | will again contend that the critical aspect of local relationships is what is missing
in the Auditor’s consideration.

Del Norte has only ever had 2 BIP providers at most; for a good portion of the last 6 years
we operated with 1 provider only. This is not unusual for a community who struggles to attract
and retain clinical experts in every field. Additionally, there has been long-standing cooperation
and coordination between different entities and agencies through the local Domestic Violence
Task Force group that meets monthly to make our local response as effective as possible. In a
small community like ours there is very little that goes unnoticed and the same applies to the
response to our DV offenders. These relationships are key in a small community, and the effort
to maintain these in order to provide opportunities for offender rehabilitation involves face to
face meetings and conversations which the Auditor cannot account for because those face to
face conversations do not have documents attached to them.

In such a small community with close relationships being relied upon to keep the system
operating effectively, expectations are pared down to the bare necessities. This has been the
case in the program approval process and the occasional need to address deficiencies in the
programs. Statute provides clear, general guidance for the operation of a batterer’s intervention
program and in the spirit of expediency, there has never been an operating procedure created to
double down on what the statute already requires. When this was questioned during the
Auditor’s inquiry it was repeatedly pointed out that statute is prescriptive and clear in regards to
the responsibilities of program providers and the requirements for approval and renewal. While
relying solely on statutory guidance may not the best way to conduct business, it allows business
to continue and programs for offenders to engage with and an opportunity to meet the
requirements of the Court in their grants of probation.

In conclusion, while | believe there are flaws in the logic leading to the Auditor’s
conclusions, | do believe that there is always opportunity to improve the systems that we use and
the outcomes they produce. If the Joint Legislative Audit Committee and the Legislature believe
that action must be taken to reform domestic violence treatment and prevention system in any
way, | would propose the following: engage with the probation departments and treatment
providers around the state to find a workable solution to the problems that are identified. This
is already occurring in a few pilot counties that are exploring the possibility of better outcomes
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with shorter program requirements. This has occurred with the help of the Legislature opening
the door to innovative responses provided by Probation and program providers.

This type of response is in the same vein as actions taken in 2007 when the State realigned
a struggling juvenile justice system to the local probation departments. Likewise, in 2009 and
2011 aspects of the adult criminal system were realigned to Probation; and Prop 57 in 2016 and
DJJ realighnment in 2020-2021 have relied on Probation to implement solutions to statewide
problems. History would show that Probation is a problem-solver, and in this case Probation can
bring perspective and expertise to the table to enable better outcomes for DV offenders and
communities. Perhaps with that input it will be discovered that aspects of the system should be
shifted to State control, and perhaps other solutions that have yet to be considered will be
discovered instead. Ultimately a collaborative partnership rather than a unilateral decision-
making process is more likely to reveal better outcome for our communities.



Comments

CALIFORNIA STATE AUDITOR’S COMMENTS ON
THE RESPONSE FROM THE DEL NORTE COUNTY
PROBATION DEPARTMENT

To provide clarity and perspective, we are commenting on the
Del Norte County Probation Department’s response to our audit.
The numbers below correspond to the numbers we have placed in
the margin of its response.

We disagree with Del Norte Probation’s position that creating
program standards is unnecessarily redundant. As we describe

in the section beginning on page 29, state law requires probation
departments to create standards for program providers to follow.
Nothing in the batterer intervention law alleviates Del Norte
Probation of this requirement. Further, as we describe throughout
the report, program providers—including those from Del Norte
County—did not always comply with state law pertaining to
offender absences, program fees, and reporting program violations
to the probation department and the court. This condition
underscores the importance of Del Norte Probation implementing
our recommendation to develop comprehensive program
standards for program providers that present clear guidance on the
department’s expectations.

Del Norte Probation is incorrect that its practice for the approval
and renewal of programs has largely followed statutory guidelines.
As we describe on page 34, Del Norte Probation does not have

a formal approval and renewal process. Further, as we state on
page 35, Del Norte Probation could not demonstrate that program
providers submitted all required documentation for their annual
renewals. Moreover, we explain on page 36 that Del Norte
Probation could only demonstrate that it conducted one of

ten required on-site reviews during our audit period and, even
then, it did not address significant deficiencies that it identified.
Therefore it is important for Del Norte Probation to implement our
recommendation to develop policies and procedures related to the
approval and renewal of programs.

Del Norte Probation suggests that it has shared program fee
information at its local domestic violence task force meetings and
that our conclusions related to program fees are only applicable

to other counties. That suggestion is incorrect and unsupported.
During our audit, Del Norte Probation provided us with several of
its task force meeting minutes, none of which included discussions
of program fees. As we state on page 43, we found that probation
departments, including Del Norte, generally do not maintain
program fee information and therefore have likely not provided
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such information to the courts. Additionally, we explain on page 32
that a program provider in Del Norte County established a fee scale
that waives fees for offenders who earn less than $39,000 annually.
However, this program’s practices directly contradict state law,
which allows only a court to fully waive an offender’s fee. Given that
Del Norte Probation was not able to demonstrate that it had shared
fee information with the court and allowed a program to operate
with a fee scale that contradicts state law, we believe it is important
for the department to implement our recommendation to share fee
information with the court.

In accordance with audit standards, we provided Del Norte
Probation with a redacted draft report that included information
pertinent to the department. Pursuant to state law, we did not
provide Del Norte Probation with our findings and conclusions
related to the other probation departments or courts we reviewed.
We disagree that our conclusions related to statewide oversight

of the batterer intervention system are missing a recognition of
counties’ unique and different resources and partners. On page 47
we recognize the importance of a state oversight agency working
with stakeholders, such as law enforcement officials, rehabilitative
experts, and victim advocates to establish statewide comprehensive
standards as well as a system to track critical offender data. Such
collaboration would necessarily include a consideration of the
diverse needs and resources throughout the State.

Nowhere in our report do we conclude that because of a failure to
appropriately hold offenders accountable, the majority of offenders
were terminated from probation and unable to complete the
required program, thus resulting in greater recidivism. Rather, as
we state on page 16, programs are most effective when offenders
complete them—which requires courts, probation departments and
program providers to hold offenders accountable for complying
with the conditions of their probation. Further, we did not conclude
that probation departments have the power to force compliance
from offenders as Del Norte Probation incorrectly claims. Instead,
as we state on page 21, state law requires probation departments

to inform the courts when offenders violate the conditions of their
probation. Although Del Norte Probation claims to have filed
numerous violations of probation against offenders we reviewed,
we found many instances—nearly 8o violations—when Del Norte
Probation failed to report violations to the court. Thus, we stand by
our conclusion that Del Norte Probation did not sufficiently inform
the courts of all probation violations and thereby did not hold
offenders accountable.

Del Norte Probation’s practice of not completing assessments of
misdemeanor offenders does not comply with batterer intervention
law, which, as we describe on page 18, requires probation



departments to conduct initial assessments of all offenders after
they are placed on formal probation. State law does not alleviate
Del Norte probation from complying with this requirement based
on whether the court has convicted the offender of a misdemeanor
or felony. Further, Del Norte Probation indicates that although

it did not complete formal assessments of all felony offenders, it
completed pre-sentence reports that contain most—not all—of the
areas that state law requires. Again, this approach does not comply
with batterer intervention law. Thus, we stand by our conclusion
that Del Norte Probation must conduct initial assessments that
address all areas required in state law of all offenders placed on
formal probation.
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JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA
455 Golden Gate Avenue + San Francisco, California 94102-3688
Telephone 415-865-4200 + Fax 415-865-4205 « TDD 415-865-4272
TANI G. CANTIL-SAKAUYE MARTIN HOSHINO
Chief Justice of California Administrative Director

Chair of the Judicial Council

September 26, 2022

Mr. Michael S. Tilden, CPA
Acting California State Auditor
621 Capitol Mall, Suite 1200
Sacramento, California 95814

Dear Mr. Tilden:

I appreciate the opportunity to respond to your draft audit report focusing on the Batterer’s
Intervention Program (program). Domestic violence is a serious public safety issue, and |
appreciate your efforts to improve program oversight and accountability. Your draft report
provides examples of offenders who have repeatedly failed to complete the program, only to
have courts order them to reenroll instead of proceeding to sentencing, as required by law.

Your draft report correctly acknowledges the Judicial Council’s limited role in providing training
and resources to judicial officers, who themselves retain full judicial discretion when
adjudicating the offenders appearing in their courtrooms. To this end, the Judicial Council has
published a Domestic Violence Bench Guide (bench guide) as a resource for judicial officers.

The bench guide reiterates Penal Code section 1203.097(a)(12), which partially states: “If the
court finds that the defendant is not performing satisfactorily in the assigned program...the court
must terminate the defendant’s participation and proceed with further sentencing.” The council’s
bench guide also reflects the findings of the Attorney General’s 2005 task force on domestic
violence, which recommends that judicial officers—along with local probation departments and
prosecutors—develop strategies to ensure multiple reenrollments in the program do not take
place without additional and graduated sanctions.

Based on the draft report provided for the council’s official comments, I generally agree with
your report’s findings. My staff will share the final published report with those who serve on the
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Mr. Michael S. Tilden, CPA
Acting California State Auditor
September 26, 2022

Page 2

council’s relevant advisory and policy committees. The council will provide a more specific
corrective action plan once it has had an opportunity to review the data and full context provided
in the final, published audit report. The Judicial Council understands and accepts the State
Auditor’s rationale for redacting significant portions of the draft audit report (parts of chapter 1
and all of chapters 2 and 3), and we greatly appreciate the audit team’s efforts to provide us with
as much context as they did. Nevertheless, the specifics and full context behind the audit team’s
findings at the trial courts will undoubtedly further inform the council’s specific corrective
action.

I thank the audit team for their professionalism, and my staff look forward to providing future
updates on our efforts to implement the sole recommendation directed to the Judicial Council. If
you have any further questions regarding this response, please feel free to contact Grant Parks,
Principal Manager—Audit Services at 916-263-1321.

Sincerely,
@L ;L/L\
Martin Hoshino

Administrative Director
Judicial Council

MH/gp
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COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES
PROBATION DEPARTMENT

9150 EAST IMPERIAL HIGHWAY — DOWNEY, CALIFORNIA 90242
(562) 940-2501

ADOLFO GONZALES
Chief Probation Officer

September 26, 2022

Michael S. Tilden, CPA*
Acting State Auditor

621 Capitol Mall, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95814

Subject: 2021-113 - Confidential Draft Audit Report for Review

Dear Mr. Tilden:

The Los Angeles Probation Department has reviewed the redacted copy of the draft California State
Auditor report regarding local government batterer intervention programs, which details the audit was
conducted as the resuit of a Joint Legislative Audit Committee request. As required by State law we
have kept this draft report confidential.

Please see the Department’s attached written response to this draft report. Our complete response
will be sent in both Word and PDF formats attached to an email to Karen Wells, team leader, at
karenw@auditor.ca.gov by 5:00 p.m. on September 26, 2022.

For any further information, please contact Richard Giron, Deputy Director, at (562) 940-2594.

Sincerely,

i éx/} <L
ADOLFO GONZALES
Chief Probation Officer

Rebuild Lives and Provide for Healthier and Safer Communities

*  (alifornia State Auditor's comments appear on page 85.
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Los Angeles County Probation Department’s Response to Batterer Intervention
Program (BIP) Audit conducted by California State Auditor

Responses to Recommendations

Recommendation # 1 - To ensure that offenders are held accountable for complying with the
conditions of their probation, formalize and implement comprehensive policies and procedures
for domestic violence case management that clearly describe the department’s expectations for
probation staff’s compliance with state law.

Response: The Probation Department has policies and procedures for domestic violence case
management; however, the policies and procedures are not in a singular comprehensive
document. The Department agrees to develop and implement a comprehensive and cohesive
policy and procedure manual for domestic violence probation staff, including case management
expectations.

Recommendation # 2 - To ensure program compliance with state law, LA County Probation
should by April 2023, formalize comprehensive program standards for program providers that
present clear guidance on the department’s expectations and the documentation it will review
to verify compliance with state law. The probation department should distribute these standards
to program providers during its initial application and approval process and again annually during
the renewal process.

Response: The Department agrees with this recommendation and will develop and implement,
by April 30, 2023, program standards and expectations for program providers. Once completed,
the standards and expectations will be distributed to providers at the initial approval process and
annually thereafter.

Recommendation #3 - To ensure that program providers comply with LA County Probation’s
standards and state law, the department should develop and follow formalized policies and
procedures for approving, renewing, and conducting ongoing monitoring of program providers
by April 2023. These policies should specify the frequency of monitoring, the documentation the
department will require of program providers to demonstrate compliance and the specific
actions the depart will take when a provider is noncompliant.

Response: The Department currently has a dedicated unit that is responsible for monitoring
program providers, including approving and renewing eligibility to be placed on the list of BIP
providers. The Department will revise our current policies and develop more comprehensive
monitoring guidelines and corrective action plans addressing providers who are noncompliant.
The written guidelines and updated policies will be implemented by April 30, 2023.
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Los Angeles County Probation Department’s Response to Batterer Intervention
Program (BIP) Audit conducted by California State Auditor

Recommendation #4 - To ensure that the courts can provide an offender with a selection of
available program providers and their costs before the offender agrees to attend a program as a
condition of probation. LA County Prob should maintain standard program fee information and
sliding fee scales for each of the providers they oversee. The probation department should make
this information available to the courts by April 2023.

Response: The Department provides the courts with a list of BIP providers. The Department
agrees that clients should be made aware of fees associated with attending a BIP program,
therefore, the Department will modify the BIP provider list to include a fee range. The Department
will also maintain standard program fee information and sliding fee scale for each of the
providers. This will be updated and implemented by April 30, 2023.

Responses to Findings

Los Angeles Probation did not assess all offenders for underlying issues, such as mental health
and substance abuse concerns that might interfere with the offender’s ability to complete the
program. (Chapter 1)

The batters’ intervention law only requires probation departments to conduct initial assessments
of offenders on formal probation. We therefore expected that Los Angeles Probation conducted
assessments of offenders on formal probation fully and consistently...Nonetheless, Los Angeles
Probation did not always perform these assessments of offenders on formal probation...of the
initial assessments that Los Angeles Probation did complete, both were missing at least one
required aspect. Finally, the assessments from our review that Los Angeles Probation conducted
did not always assess offenders economic background, a verbal consultation, or efforts to
coordinate with the victim, or a determination of the probability the offender would commit
murder.

Response: The Los Angeles County Probation Department assesses probation clients using three
(3) validated assessment tools. The Modified Wisconsin (DRAD), which is completed at the
investigation phase; the Level of Service Case Management Inventory (LS/CMI) risk/needs
assessment that contains specific responsivity factors and a case planning component, is
completed within 30 days of case assignment; and Spousal Assault Risk Assessment (SARA) which
is an evidence-based decision support tool, that utilizes a 20-item checklist designed specifically
for assessing and managing risk of intimate partner violence including the likelihood of murder
(lethality). The SARA gathers data from: interviews with the client and victims, police reports,
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Los Angeles County Probation Department’s Response to Batterer Intervention
Program (BIP) Audit conducted by California State Auditor

victim statements, criminal records, history of drug and alcohol use, mental health evaluations,
and use of standardized measures of physical and emotional abuse.

The results from the three (3) assessments administered by the Los Angeles County Probation
Department are recorded in the Adult Probation System (APS) and a hard copy of the assessments
is stored in the probation client’s physical file. The Department systematically addresses staff’s
non-compliance with monthly review of probation statistical data which is used to address staff’s
deficiencies with timely administration of assessments.

The Department acknowledges and agrees that for the two assessments reviewed by the Auditor,
at least one of the required aspects was missing. The Department will revise the client intake and
orientation process to ensure that all aspects are assessed. This will be completed by April 30,
2023.

Los Angeles Probation and its program providers have not adequately held offenders
accountable for probation and program violations. (Chapter 1)

...Los Angeles Probation did not adequately assess offenders as required to identify obstacles,
which could prevent them from completing a program. Additionally, Los Angeles Probation and
its providers did not always notify the courts when offenders violated probation...

Response: It is the Los Angeles County Probation Department’s responsibility to hold clients
accountable and notify the court. The Department disagrees with the characterization that the
Department is not holding clients accountable. During the audit period from 2016 - 2020, the
Department supervised 1,998 domestic violence cases and submitted numerous probation reports
and violations. The Department takes client accountability very seriously. We reviewed the three
(3) sample cases and verified that probation violations were submitted, including one (1)
probation violation that resulted in the court revoking probation and imposing a state prison
sentence.

Probation officers are required to review potential violations with their supervisor within 24-hours
of becoming aware of the potential violation and to report to the court within 30 days.
Furthermore, clients are provided with an orientation which includes a review of the terms and
conditions of their supervision and are assessed using the Level of Service Case Management
Inventory (LS/CMI) and Spousal Assault Risk Assessment, evidence-based risk/needs assessment
tools which would reveal if a client had any obstacles in completing the terms and conditions of
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Los Angeles County Probation Department’s Response to Batterer Intervention
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their supervision as ordered by the court. Probation Officers work with the client and utilize
existing resources to provide targeted service delivery.

Some of the offenders did not complete their 52-week program. (Chapter 1)

The Batterer Intervention law does not require the counties or any state entity to track the data
that the State needs to evaluate offenders’ completion of programs or programs effectiveness at
stopping domestic violence. As a result, Los Angeles Probation does not maintain comprehensive
data on offenders, including the reasons why they may have failed to complete the program...Los
Angeles Probation did not maintain complete documentation on all offenders as state law
requires.

Response: The Department acknowledges that BIP law does not require counties to track data,
but we agree that comprehensive data collection is needed to evaluate the effectiveness of the
program. We are in the process of enhancing our data collection to include outcomes of program
participation. Probation utilizes a case management system that is utilized to maintain records
for each client and will be enhancing our system to include outcome data.

Los Angeles Probation and its providers did not sufficiently inform the courts of all probation
violations. (Chapter 1)

In our review of 20 offenders from Los Angeles County we found that 18 offenders violated their
probation requirements at least once. These violations ranged from having unallowed program
absences, to making contact with the victim in violation of a criminal protective order, to
committing a subsequent abusive crime.... Because our review of the 25 offenders did not include
offenders that Los Angeles Probation supervised, we conducted an additional review of three
offenders that the probation department supervised. In this separate section we found that Los
Angeles Probation did not report violations to the court.... In part, Los Angeles Probation has not
held offenders accountable because it lacks sufficient policies and procedures to guide its
probation officer’s supervision of offenders. Los Angeles Probation does not have adequate
policies to ensure that its probation officers conduct initial assessments as required by law or to
ensure that offenders enroll in and appropriately attend a program. Additionally, Los Angeles
Probation’s policies do not spell out the probation officers’ responsibility to notify the court when
an offender does not complete a program within 18 months.
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Los Angeles County Probation Department’s Response to Batterer Intervention
Program (BIP) Audit conducted by California State Auditor

Response: The Los Angeles County Probation Department has policies that detail supervision
officer’s procedures which include holding the probation client accountable. We will review and
enhance our policies to ensure our probation officers adherence to state law. In regard to
reporting violations, Los Angeles County Probation policy states that DPOs are to clear all
violations with their supervisor within 24-hours and report to the court any potential violations
within 30-days of becoming aware of a potential violation. There is also a requirement for the
DPO of Record to have a mandatory minimum of one (1) contact with the program provider (52-
week program) within 30 days after the probation client produces proof of enrollment. The Los
Angeles County Probation Department is committed to enhance policy and procedures for
communicating with program providers on client progress. The Department will revise our
current policy and provide training to probation staff by April 30, 2023.

Los Angeles Probation has not provided sufficient guidance to program providers. (Chapter 2)

Los Angeles Probation has not provided adequate guidance to its providers on how to address
unallowed absences, including unexcused absences and excused absences that exceed the three
allowed. Los Angeles Probation standards do not address absences at all... Los Angeles Probation
standards also lack sufficient guidance about the timeliness with which program providers need
to report certain information to the department...Finally, Los Angeles Probation did not provide
sufficient guidance to assist program providers in charging offenders’ appropriate fees.

Response: The Los Angeles County Probation Department is committed to review and update
current policies relating to program standards and reporting guidelines for program providers,
including the reporting of absences. The Department will develop written guidelines for program
providers and will seek to enhance procedures related to program fees. In addition, the
Department conduct training to staff and providers to address program absences and reporting
timelines. This task will be completed by April 30, 2023.

Los Angeles Probation has not adequately approved, renewed or monitored program
providers. (Chapter 2)

Los Angeles Probation lacks sufficient policies and procedures for approving, renewing and
monitoring programs.

Response: The Los Angeles County Probation Department is committed to reviewing and
updating policies and procedures for approving, renewing, and monitoring programs. The Los

5



California State Auditor Report 2021-113
October 2022

September 26, 2022

Los Angeles County Probation Department’s Response to Batterer Intervention
Program (BIP) Audit conducted by California State Auditor

Angeles County Probation Department has already initiated efforts in collaboration with the
Information Technology department to establish a digital storage library for all documents
pertaining to the approval, renewal, and monitoring of the BIP programs. The Department’s BIP
monitoring unit is responsible for monitoring 147 unduplicated program providers. The
Department is in the process to restructure the monitoring unit and implementing corrective
measures. This task will be completed by April 30, 2023.

Los Angeles Probation does not have adequate processes for soliciting, approving, and
renewing programs. (Chapter 2)

Response: The Los Angeles County Probation Department is committed to reviewing and
updating policies and procedures for soliciting, approving, and renewing programs. This task will
be completed in collaboration with our Contracting Unit to enhance our current solicitation
process. The updated procedures and policies will be completed and implemented by April 30,
2023.

Los Angeles Probation did not adequately monitor program providers and renewed programs
that did not fully comply with state law. (Chapter 2)

Response: The Los Angeles County Probation Department is committed to reviewing and
enhancing our program monitoring to ensure that guidelines are written, published, and
distributed to the program providers. The updated guidelines will be completed and distributed
by April 30, 2023.

Los Angeles Probation could not demonstrate that it fully discloses program fees to offenders.
(Chapter 3)

Los Angeles Probation does not maintain program fee information and therefore has likely not
provided such information to the courts.

Response: The Los Angeles County Probation Department is committed to establishing a
program fee schedule for providers that service probation clients and provide the information
with the client and the court. The Department will revise policy to maintain program fee
information. The program fee schedule process will be updated and made available to the courts
and clients by April 30, 2023.
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Comments

CALIFORNIA STATE AUDITOR’S COMMENTS ON THE
RESPONSE FROM THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES
PROBATION DEPARTMENT

To provide clarity and perspective, we are commenting on the
County of Los Angeles Probation Department’s response to our
audit. The numbers below correspond to the numbers we have
placed in the margin of its response.

Los Angeles Probation focused its response on the compilation of
its policies and procedures into a single document. However, when
it develops the policy and procedure manual it describes, it will

be important for the department to address the areas in which we
found its existing policies and procedures to be inadequate, an issue
we describe on pages 24 and 25, and in the section beginning on

page 33.

Los Angeles Probation understates the extent of the problems we
identified. As Table 1 on page 20 shows, we found that Los Angeles
Probation conducted only two of its three required assessments.

During Los Angeles Probation’s review of the draft audit report, it
notified us that the documentation related to reporting probation
violations that it had provided us during the audit was incomplete.
It provided additional documentation regarding the three offenders
we reviewed. However, our review of this additional information
did not change our initial findings. As we indicate on page 21, we
found at least one instance when Los Angeles Probation did not
report a probation violation to the court. Further, as we describe
on pages 22 and 23, even when probation departments—including
Los Angeles—did report violations to the court, they did not always
ensure that those reports were timely. For example, we identified
one instance when Los Angeles Probation did not notify the court
of a violation for nearly seven months.

October 2022
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SAN JOAQUIN COUNTY

Supporting a Safer, Stronger Community

Steve Jackson CHIEF PROBATION OFFICER

September 22, 2022

Michael S. Tilden*

Acting California State Auditor
621 Capitol Mall, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: State Audit Report (2021-113)- Batterer Intervention Programs
Dear Mr. Tilden,

On behalf of the San Joaquin County Probation Department, this letter provides a response to the draft
redacted State Audit report titled, “Batterer Intervention Programs: State Guidance and Oversight Are
Needed to Effectively Reduce Domestic Violence”

In response to the draft audit report recommendations, the Probation Department provides the
following:

Recommendation #1: To ensure that offenders are held accountable for complying with the conditions
of their probation, [San Joaquin Probation] should by April 2023, formalize and implement
comprehensive policies and procedures for domestic violence case management that clearly describe
the departments’ expectations for prohation staff’s compliance with state law.

Response #1: The San Joaquin Probation Department has policies and procedures in place for domestic ©)
violence case management. However, we understand, and will ensure officers strictly follow the letter
of the law, along policies and procedures.

Recommendation #2: To ensure program compliance with state law, [San Joaquin Probation] should by
April 2023, formalize comprehensive program standards for program providers that present clear
guidance on the department’s expectations and the documentation it will review to verify compliance
with state law. The probation department should distribute these standards to program providers
during [its] initial application and approval process and again annually during the renewal process.

Response #2: The San Joaquin County Probation Department has Domestic Violence Provider @
Expectations, which is given to all providers upon certifying, and recertifying programs. To comply with
state law, we will ensure our expectations are more comprehensive and distributed to program

providers.
Juvenile Court and Field Services Juvenile Detention Facilities Adult/AB 109 Services Administration
575 W. Mathews Road 535 W, Mathews Road Canlis Building, 24 S. Hunter Street 575 W. Mathews Road
French Camp, CA 95231 French Camp, CA 95231 Stockton, CA 95202 French Camp, CA 95231
209.953.7812 209.468.4200 209.468.4100 209.468.4068

*  (California State Auditor’s comments appear on page 89.
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Supporting a Safer, Stronger Community

Steve Jackson CHIEF PROBATION OFFICER

Recommendation #3: To ensure that program providers comply with [San Joaquin Probation’s]
standards and state law, [the probation department] should develop and follow formalized policies and
procedures for approving, renewing, and conducting comprehensive ongoing monitoring of program
providers by April 2023. These policies should specify the frequency of monitoring, the documentation
the department will require of program providers to demonstrate compliance, and the specific actions
the department will take when a provider in noncompliant.

® Response #3: The San Joaquin Probation Department recognizes a more comprehensive monitoring and
improved guidance on the department’s expectations, and the documentation we review to verify
Batterer Intervention Programs (BIP) are in compliance with state law.

Recommendation #4: To comply with state law, [San Joaquin Probation] should immediately follow its
record retention policies to maintain documentation on all offenders for five years after the offenders
complete or are terminated from probation.

® Response #4: The San Joaquin Probation Department does follow its record retention policy; however,
we do recognize our organization of closed files could be streamlined to ensure that all documents are
retained according to policy.

Recommendation #5: To ensure the courts can provide an offender with the selection of available
program providers and their costs before the offender agrees to attend a program as a condition of
probation, [San Joaquin Probation] should maintain standard program fee information and sliding fee
scales for each of the providers they oversee. The probation departments should make this information
available to the courts by April 2023.

Response #5: Although this recommendation is not mandated by law, the San Joaquin Probation
Department agrees this is good business practice. We will ensure this information is made available to
the Court.

Steve C. Jacks
Chief Probation Officer

Juvenile Court and Field Services Juvenile Detention Facilities Adult/AB 109 Services Administration
575 W. Mathews Road 535 W. Mathews Road Canlis Building, 24 S. Hunter Street 575 W. Mathews Road
French Camp, CA 95231 French Camp, CA 95231 Stockton, CA 95202 French Camp, CA 95231

209.953.7812 209.468.4200 209.468.4100 209.468.4068




Comments

CALIFORNIA STATE AUDITOR’S COMMENTS ON
THE RESPONSE FROM THE SAN JOAQUIN COUNTY
PROBATION DEPARTMENT

To provide clarity and perspective, we are commenting on the

San Joaquin County Probation Department’s response to our audit.
The numbers below correspond to the numbers we have placed in
the margin of its response.

Although we recognize that San Joaquin Probation has policies and
procedures for domestic violence case management, as we describe
on pages 24 and 25, its policies and procedures are inadequate

to ensure that probation officers conduct initial assessments

as required, that offenders enroll in and appropriately attend a
program, or to provide officers with clear direction regarding how
to address offenders who violate the conditions of their probation
and the time frame for doing so. Thus, as we indicate in our
recommendation, San Joaquin Probation should formalize and
implement policies and procedures that comprehensively describe
the departments’ expectations for probation staff’s compliance with
state law.

As we acknowledge throughout the section beginning on page 29,
although San Joaquin Probation has some standards, they are

not comprehensive enough to give program providers the
direction necessary to assist them in complying with state law and
adhering to the department’s expectations. We look forward to
reviewing San Joaquin Probation’s progress in implementing our
recommendation as part of our regular follow-up process.

It is unclear from San Joaquin Probation’s response whether it
agrees with our recommendation and what actions it intends

to take to implement our recommendation. We look forward to
reviewing San Joaquin Probation’s subsequent responses as part of
our regular follow-up process.

As we describe on page 15, some probation departments,
including San Joaquin Probation, did not maintain complete
documentation on all offenders, or did not appropriately maintain
complete documentation for five years. Thus, we stand by our
recommendation that San Joaquin Probation immediately begin
following state law and its record retention policy.

California State Auditor Report 2021-113
October 2022
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