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Elaine M. Howle State Auditor

November 21, 2019
2019-106

The Governor of California
President pro Tempore of the Senate
Speaker of the Assembly

State Capitol

Sacramento, California 95814

Dear Governor and Legislative Leaders:

As directed by the Joint Legislative Audit Committee, my office conducted an audit of workers’
compensation insurance (insurance). Our assessment focused on insurance used by state agencies, and
the following report details the audit’s findings and conclusions. In general, we determined that some
agencies are paying millions more than necessary to provide benefits to employees.

State law allows agencies to decide how to provide workers’ compensation benefits to their employees.
Almost 9o percent of them choose to do so using a master agreement that the California Department
of Human Resources (CalHR) negotiated on their behalf with the State Compensation Insurance Fund
(State Fund). Under the master agreement, State Fund administers, processes, and pays employee
benefits for participating state agencies, and the agencies reimburse State Fund for the actual costs
of services rendered. According to CalHR data, nearly 190 agencies provided benefits through the
master agreement in fiscal year 2017-18, while 32 agencies—or portions of agencies—opted to purchase
insurance directly from State Fund.

When we reviewed the costs of 10 of the 32 agencies that purchased insurance directly from State
Fund in fiscal year 2017-18, we found that each of these agencies consistently paid more in insurance
premiums than it would have if it had provided benefits by using the master agreement. We estimate that
from fiscal years 2013—14 through 2017-18, these 10 agencies collectively paid an average of $5.7 million
per year in premiums but they could have saved the State more than $20 million during the period we
reviewed if they had used the negotiated master agreement.

Finally, we found that State Fund does not always provide state agencies with enough time to review
settlement authorization requests (settlement requests) before the mandatory settlement conferences
(settlement conferences) in which State Fund and injured employees attempt to come to agreement
to avoid seeking a trial. State Fund should provide 30 days to review settlement requests before the
settlement conferences. However, for eight of the 15 claims we reviewed, State Fund did not do so.
When State Fund does not make settlement requests available for agencies to adequately review before
settlement conferences, it may delay the settlement authorization process and may lead to agencies’
having to pay additional expenses if the cases go to trial.

Respectfully submitted,

Edoa 7). ool

ELAINE M. HOWLE, CPA
California State Auditor

621 Capitol Mall, Suite 1200 | Sacramento, CA 95814 | 916.445.0255 | 916.327.0019 fax | www.auditor.ca.gov
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Selected Abbreviations Used in This Report

CAL FIRE

CalHR

Caltrans

CHP

DwWC

IDL

Social Services

State Fund

California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection

California Department of Human Resources

California Department of Transportation

California Highway Patrol

Department of Industrial Relations’ Division of Workers’ Compensation
Industrial Disability Leave

California Department of Social Services

State Compensation Insurance Fund
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Summary

Results in Brief

State law requires state agencies—like other California employers—
to provide workers’ compensation benefits to state employees

who are injured or disabled in the course of their employment. In
addition to covering the costs of medical expenses, these benefits
may provide injured employees with a portion of their wages while
they recover, as well as payments for permanent disability. State law
allows agencies to decide how to provide workers’ compensation
benefits to their employees. Almost 9o percent of them choose to
do so using a master agreement that the California Department

of Human Resources (CalHR) negotiated on their behalf with the
State Compensation Insurance Fund (State Fund), a nonprofit
entity that also provides workers’ compensation insurance to
private businesses. Under the master agreement, state agencies
reimburse State Fund for the actual cost of workers’ compensation
claims, rather than paying for insurance or maintaining a

workers’ compensation reserve. According to CalHR data, nearly
190 agencies provided benefits through the master agreement in
fiscal year 2017—18, while 32 agencies opted to purchase insurance
from State Fund.

When we reviewed the costs of 10 of the 32 agencies that purchased
insurance from State Fund in fiscal year 2017-18, we found

that each of these agencies consistently paid more in insurance
premiums than it would have paid had it provided benefits under
the master agreement. We estimate that from fiscal years 2013-14
through 2017-18, these 10 agencies collectively paid an average of
$5.7 million per year in premiums but would have paid an average
of less than $1.6 million per year under the master agreement. For
example, the California Department of Food and Agriculture paid
an average of nearly $1 million per year in premiums, even though
we estimate that its average annual cost under the master agreement
for claims would have been less than $250,000. In fact, had the

10 agencies used the master agreement, they could have saved

the State more than $20 million during the period we reviewed.
However, CalHR is not required to assist agencies in deciding
whether purchasing workers’ compensation insurance or using the
master agreement is likely to be more cost-effective for them.

In addition, we reviewed four state agencies that provide workers’
compensation benefits through the master agreement—the
California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, the California
Department of Transportation, the California Highway Patrol,

and the California Department of Social Services—to determine
whether they met state-mandated timelines for processing claims
and whether any delays affected the ability of injured employees

November 2019

Audit Highlights . . .

Our audit of workers’ compensation
insurance used by state agencies
revealed the following:

» Infiscal year 2017-18, nearly
190 agencies provided workers’
compensation benefits through the
State’s master agreement, while
32 agencies opted to purchase insurance
directly from State Fund.

» The 10 agencies we reviewed who
purchased insurance from State Fund
consistently paid more in premiums than
they would have paid had they provided
benefits under the master agreement.

« These 10 agencies collectively paid
an average of $5.7 million per year
in premiums to State Fund but would
have paid an average of less than
$1.6 million per year under the master
agreement, saving the State more than
$20 million.

» A lack of qualified medical evaluators
has delayed appointments for medical
evaluations, resulting in State Fund
automatically denying some claims
and employees having to wait longer to
receive benefits or return to work.

» State Fund’s failure in some cases to
provide agencies with sufficient time
to review and approve requests for
settlement authority before settlement
conferences has limited its ability to
resolve claims efficiently.
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to receive care. We reviewed eight claims per agency—32 claims
in total—and found that the four agencies missed some deadlines
specified in state law. However, because state law requires agencies
to provide each injured employee with up to $10,000 in medical
benefits until State Fund either accepts or denies a claim, none of
the few delays we noted affected the injured employees’ access to
necessary medical treatments.

Although State Fund also met the majority of the mandated time
frames for processing the claims we reviewed at the four agencies, a
lack of qualified medical evaluators (medical evaluators) to produce
timely medical evaluation reports resulted in it automatically
denying some of these claims. If an employee and State Fund
cannot agree on whether an injury is work-related, the employee
may be required to see a medical evaluator. Upon receiving a
request, the Department of Industrial Relations’ Division of
Workers’ Compensation must generate a randomly selected list of
three medical evaluators (panel). Generally, if the injured employee
is represented by an attorney, the parties each choose one medical
evaluator to remove from the panel, and the injured employee then
schedules an appointment with the remaining medical evaluator.
State regulation requires the selected medical evaluator to be
available within 60 days to conduct an evaluation of the injured
employee. If the medical evaluator is unavailable within this
window, state regulation generally allows the requester to ask for a
replacement panel, thereby restarting the process.

When medical evaluators are unavailable, injured employees

may face delays in receiving benefits. Specifically, State Fund
automatically denied four of 32 claims we reviewed because the
employees could not obtain timely appointments for medical
evaluations within 9o days, the legal deadline to deny claims
before they are presumed to be accepted. Although State Fund
may subsequently accept a claim if a medical evaluator determines
that the injury was work-related, until it is accepted the injured
employee does not receive the appropriate type of workers’
compensation benefit. State Fund did not accept these four claims
until an average of four months later, after the employees finally
obtained appointments with the medical evaluators.

A shortage of medical evaluators likely contributed to these delays
in claim resolutions. Requests for replacement medical evaluators
because the original evaluators were not available for appointments
within the 60-day window more than quadrupled from fiscal

years 2013—14 through 2017-18. Representatives of the four agencies
we reviewed explained that when injured employees do not receive
workers’ compensation benefits because they are unable to obtain
timely appointments for medical evaluations, it may force the
employees to seek temporary benefits from other sources such as
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Nonindustrial Disability Insurance. In addition, having medical
evaluators available to conduct timely appointments for evaluations
can help ensure that employees return to work as soon as they are
medically able and prevent unnecessary disability payments. For
example, we reviewed a claim in which an agency paid an employee
more than twice the amount in disability payments than it might
have if State Fund had received a timely medical evaluation report
declaring that the employee’s condition had reached maximum
medical improvement.

Finally, State Fund does not always provide state agencies

with enough time to review settlement authorization requests
(settlement requests) before the mandatory settlement conferences
(settlement conferences) in which State Fund and injured
employees attempt to come to agreement to avoid seeking a trial.
State Fund must obtain approval from agencies before entering
into settlements, unless the agencies have authorized State Fund
to settle cases without such preapproval. State Fund and several

of the agencies we reviewed indicated that State Fund should
provide agencies with 30 days to review settlement requests before
the settlement conferences. However, State Fund did not provide
agencies with 30 days to respond to the settlement requests

for eight of the 15 claims we reviewed that involved settlement
conferences. When settlement requests are not available for
agencies to adequately review before settlement conferences, it may
delay the settlement authorization process and lead to agencies’
having to pay additional expenses if the cases go to trial.

Selected Recommendations

CalHR

To ensure that all state agencies provide workers’ compensation in
the most cost-effective manner, CalHR should provide each agency
that purchases workers’ compensation insurance with a cost-benefit
analysis every five years that compares the cost of purchasing this
insurance through State Fund with the cost of obtaining coverage
through the master agreement.

State Fund

To ensure that state agencies have adequate time to review settlement
requests and provide settlement authority, State Fund should create
and follow a policy by May 2020 to provide settlement authorization
requests to agencies at least 30 days before settlement conferences.

November 2019
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Agency Comments

CalHR agreed to implement our recommendation. State Fund did
not agree with our recommendation, asserting that it will strive to
meet a guideline that State Fund will complete settlement requests
at the earliest opportunity.
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Introduction

Background

Before the creation of workers’ compensation systems, civil
courts were responsible for resolving disputes over responsibility
for workplace injuries. The burden of proving that injuries were
the result of employers’ negligence generally fell on the injured
employees. However, by the early 1900s, states began to enact
workers’ compensation laws. In the years that followed, California
passed several workers’ compensation laws, eventually establishing
a no-fault workers’ compensation system. Workers’ compensation
in California is considered no-fault because employees no

longer have to prove that their employers caused their injuries
through negligence.

California’s workers’ compensation system benefits both employees
and their employers. State law requires all employers to provide
workers’ compensation benefits or workers’ compensation
insurance that generally guarantee compensation for injuries,
illnesses, and deaths occurring at and caused by their work.
Furthermore, state law also generally standardized how employees’
permanent disability benefits are calculated. In exchange for these
and other benefits, state law prohibits employees from suing their
employers for most workplace injuries, illnesses, and deaths. For
state employees, their respective agencies decide how to provide
workers’ compensation. In the pages that follow, we discuss the
different options available to state agencies and explain in further
detail how the workers’ compensation system functions.

Workers’ Compensation System

A California employer can provide workers’ compensation benefits
through different methods, in part depending on whether it is a
private entity or a public agency. As Table 1 shows, employers can
be self-insured, insured through another entity, or for state agencies
provide benefits through the state’s master agreement, which we
describe later in the Introduction. Each option involves a different
method of processing and paying benefits to injured workers.

Given the different types of coverage, several state agencies are
jointly involved in various aspects of the oversight and provision of
workers’ compensation benefits, as Table 2 demonstrates.

Under certain conditions, employers can become self-insured by
applying to the Office of Self-Insurance Plans (self-insurance office),
which is within the Department of Industrial Relations (Industrial
Relations). The director of Industrial Relations may approve applicants

November 2019

5



6 California State Auditor Report 2019-106

November 2019

Table 1

California Employers Use Three Approaches to Provide Workers’ Compensation Coverage

TYPE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION COVERAGE

SELF-INSURANCE INSURANCE PROVIDERS MASTER AGREEMENT

Who uses it

How claims are
administered

Some private companies, some
local governments, and the
University of California.

Employers either manage claims
internally or contract with a
third-party administrator to

Private companies and a small
number of state agencies.

Most state agencies, including
CAL FIRE, Caltrans, CHP, and
Social Services.

State Fund administers and
processes claims.

An insurance provider, such as
State Fund, administers and
processes claims.

manage claims.

How claims are paid

Employers pay benefits directly.

Employers make premium payments
to an insurance provider that pays
the cost of claims out of reserves the
insurance provider manages.

Agencies reimburse State Fund
from their operational budgets for
medical and disability payments
made to injured employees.

Source: Analysis of state law, regulations, the master agreement, State Fund data, Department of Industrial Relations’ Office of Self-Insurance Plans’
data, Workers’ Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau of California reports, agency websites, and staff interviews.

Table 2

Multiple Entities Are Responsible for Providing and Overseeing Workers’ Compensation Programs for

California Employees

STATE ORGANIZATION WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ROLE

California Department of Human Resources*

California Department of Insurance

Department of Industrial Relations

Division of Workers’ Compensation

Office of Self-Insurance Plans

State Compensation Insurance Fund*

Workers’ Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau

A state agency that administers the workers’ compensation master agreement between State
Fund and participating agencies.

A state agency that issues licenses to various entities, ensures insurers are solvent, resolves
consumer complaints, and investigates and prosecutes insurance fraud.

A state agency that administers and enforces laws governing medical care and some workers’
compensation benefits.

The division within the Department of Industrial Relations responsible for monitoring the
administration of workers’ compensation claims and for providing administrative and judicial
services to assist state agencies in resolving disputes that arise in connection with claims for
workers’ compensation benefits.

A program within the Department of Industrial Relations responsible for the oversight and
regulation of workers’ compensation self-insurance plans within California.

A self-supporting, nonprofit enterprise fund created by the Legislature in 1913 that provides
workers’ compensation insurance to California employers and that administers claims for state
agencies that participate in the master agreement.

An unincorporated, private, nonprofit association that comprises all workers’ compensation
insurance providers authorized to provide insurance in California. It gathers and compiles relevant
statistics to develop state premium rates. It also collects information on payroll amounts, reserve
amounts, and benefits amounts from insurance providers for the insurance commissioner to use
in administering regulations.

Source: Analysis of state law, the master agreement, and agencies.

* Agencies reviewed for this audit. We include the other agencies in this table to provide additional context on workers’ compensation in California.



if they furnish satisfactory proof of their ability to self-insure and
to pay any compensation that may become due to their employees.
Generally, self-insured private employers must use a certified

third-party administrator for their first three years of self-insurance.

Thereafter, they can choose to administer their claims themselves.
According to the self-insurance office, more than 7,100 employers
were self-insured as of 2017. This total represents 3,500 private
employers and 3,600 public employers, including cities, counties,
school districts, and the University of California.

If employers are unwilling or unable to become self-insurers,

they can obtain coverage for workers’ compensation claims
through insurance providers. Insurance providers manage and
process claims. Insurance providers also pay for benefits out of
funds, known as reserves, that they set aside for this purpose
from employer premiums they receive. Alternatively, employers
can purchase workers’ compensation insurance from the State
Compensation Insurance Fund (State Fund), a nonprofit public
enterprise fund that the Legislature created in 1913 to provide
workers’ compensation insurance to California employers,
including state agencies. State Fund is a quasipublic entity that
competes with other insurers to provide workers’ compensation
insurance to California employers. Although the majority of State
Fund’s unresolved claims involve state agencies, it also provides
insurance to private employers unable to obtain insurance from
private insurers. According to the Workers” Compensation
Insurance Rating Bureau—a nonprofit association that the State
authorized to gather and compile relevant statistics for insurance
providers to develop state premium rates—more than 400 private
workers’ compensation providers wrote 592,000 policies for private

employers in 2018, while State Fund wrote another 121,000 policies.

Although state agencies are generally liable for their employees’
on-the-job injuries, state law does not require them to provide
benefits through an insurer or through self-insurance. Instead,
nearly all state agencies pay their workers’ compensation costs
through a master agreement negotiated between State Fund and
the California Department of Human Resources (CalHR)." Nearly
90 percent of state agencies—or almost 190 agencies—provided
workers’ compensation benefits through the master agreement
during fiscal year 2017-18. Other agencies purchase insurance
policies directly from State Fund, like many private employers.
Specifically, as of June 2018, 32 agencies—21 of which employed
fewer than 70 people—had such policies. Because State Fund
does not separately account for these 32 agencies and the private

T State Fund and CalHR recently renewed this agreement for July 2019 though June 2024.
The previous term of the agreement was from July 2014 through June 2019.

California State Auditor Report 2019-106
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employers that purchase insurance from it, we refer to both the
state agencies and private entities that purchase insurance from
State Fund as insured employers throughout this report.

Under the master agreement, State Fund administers, processes,
and pays employee benefits for participating state agencies, and

the agencies reimburse State Fund for the expenditures and the
actual costs of services rendered. Although state law requires
insurance providers to set aside reserves to pay for the cost of
claims, state agencies under the master agreement reimburse State
Fund using funds from their operational budgets. For example, if

a state employee is injured while at work, the agency submits the
employee’s claim to State Fund, which may pay for medical benefits
or wage replacement. State Fund will then submit an invoice to the
agency requesting reimbursement for any workers’ compensation
expenditures. We discuss this process in more detail in the pages
that follow. Additionally, State Fund charges each agency an
annual fee for the costs of providing specified services, including
administering claims and providing legal representation, based on
that agency’s average number of open claims during the three most
recently completed quarters.

At the Joint Legislative Audit Committee’s request, we focused this
audit on State Fund’s management of workers’ compensation claims
for four entities covered by the master agreement. As Table 3 shows,
these four agencies are the California Department of Forestry

and Fire Protection (CAL FIRE), the California Department of
Transportation (Caltrans), the California Highway Patrol (CHP),
and the California Department of Social Services (Social Services).
We also assessed 10 other state agencies’ decisions to purchase
workers’ compensation insurance from State Fund rather than
participate in the master agreement.

Workers’ Compensation Benefits

Under the workers’ compensation system, injured state employees
have access to certain benefits, regardless of whether their employing
agencies provide those benefits under the master agreement or
through insurance. For example, when a state employee submits a
claim to an agency, state law requires that agency to cover specified
medical costs up to $10,000 while State Fund determines whether
to accept liability for the claim. Accepting liability generally means
that State Fund agrees that the injury occurred while the individual
was working and that the agency is therefore financially responsible
for the associated workers’ compensation benefits. Throughout this
report, we refer to this determination by State Fund as a liability
decision and to instances in which State Fund accepts liability for
work-related injuries as accepted claims.



Table 3

California State Auditor Report 2019-106
November 2019

From Fiscal Years 2015-16 Through 2017-18, State Fund Established Almost 14,000 Claims for the Four Agencies

We Reviewed

TOTALS FROM
FISCAL YEARS 2015-16 THROUGH 2017-18

NUMBER OF NUMBER OF ESTIMATED COST
AGENCY RESPONSIBILITIES EMPLOYEES CLAIMS

CAL FIRE Responds to 5,600 wildfires and 7685 4,345 $76.4 million
350,000 emergency calls per year.
Caltrans Manages more than 50,000 miles of highways
and freeways, provides intercity rail, and 20,160 4,522 74.5 million
oversees airports.
CHP Provides unlferm traffic law gnforcement on 10,59 4232 1275 million
highways statewide.
Social Services Provides aid, services, and protection to needy 4,308 569 7.9 million
and vulnerable children and adults.
Totals for the Four Agencies We Reviewed 42,749 13,668 $286.3 million

Source: Analysis of claims established from fiscal years 2015-16 through 2017-18, CalHR's workers’ compensation cost report for fiscal year 2017-18,

and agency websites.

When injured state employees are unable to work
but State Fund has not yet accepted their claims,
they may be able to apply for California State
Disability Insurance (disability insurance) through
the Employment Development Department (EDD).
Disability insurance provides partial wage
replacement benefits for illnesses and injuries that
are not work-related. It is funded by deductions
from employees’ wages and state employers’
contributions. As the text box describes, state law
provides at least two options for eligible state
employees to receive disability insurance for
injuries that are not work-related, depending on
several factors. The disability insurance options are
the California State Disability Insurance, which is
also available to employees of private entities, or
Nonindustrial Disability Insurance, which is
available to certain state employees only. Because
disability insurance is for injuries that are not
work-related, employees are generally no longer
eligible for it if State Fund accepts their claims.
However, if State Fund rejects their claims, state
employees may continue utilizing disability
insurance until they can return to work, while
paying for their medical care through their health
insurance. If state employees are not eligible for or

State Employees Have Access to Different
Wage Replacement Programs Based on Their
Employer and the Nature of Their Injury

Non-Work-Related Injury:

- California State Disability Insurance—\Wage replacement

program that, among other things, replaces about
60 percent to 70 percent of an injured employee’s
income, up to $1,252 weekly, for a maximum of 52 weeks.

Nonindustrial Disability Insurance—Wage replacement
program that replaces up to $250 per week for a maximum
of 26 weeks.

Work-Related Injury:

Industrial Disability Leave—Wage replacement program
intended to replace an employee’s wages for a maximum
of 52 weeks within a two-year period from the date of
disability. The injured employee is entitled to receive

full pay minus withholdings for the first 22 days and
two-thirds pay thereafter.

Source: State law, CalHR, Industrial Relations, EDD,
Nonindustrial Disability Insurance and California State Disability
Insurance informational brochures from EDD.

9
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choose not to apply for either type of disability insurance, they may
be able to utilize vacation or sick days or to take unpaid leaves
of absence.

Once State Fund accepts claims for work-related injuries, state

law requires agencies to provide specific benefits to compensate
workers based on the severity of their injuries, as Figure 1 describes.
In addition to paying for the cost of authorized medical expenses,
agencies must also provide Industrial Disability Leave (IDL)
payments to eligible state employees who are temporarily disabled
because of work-related injuries. Once State Fund has accepted
their claims, employees can receive IDL payments for up to

52 weeks within two years from the first day of their disabilities.?
If the employees’ injuries become permanent, they can receive
permanent disability payments according to their calculated level
of disability. In addition, since at least 2004, agencies have been
able to offer employees modified or alternative work assignments,
depending on their disabilities and circumstances. Currently, if

an agency does not offer regular, modified, or alternative work
meeting specific criteria to employees whose injuries have resulted
in permanent disabilities, the employees are eligible for vouchers
to pay for education, retraining, or professional certification fees
for use in another field. If injuries are fatal, agencies are responsible
for reasonable burial expenses and paying to support surviving
dependents for a specified time.

In total, State Fund paid more than $600 million in costs associated
with state agencies’ workers’ compensation claims under the master
agreement during fiscal year 2017-18. According to State Fund,
more than $125 million of this amount related to 19,000 new state
employee claims that agencies submitted during this time. State
Fund’s data indicate that 76 percent of state employees’ claims that
it closed from fiscal years 2015—16 through 2017-18 incurred less
than $10,000 each in total costs.

Processing and Resolving Claims

In accordance with state law and the master agreement, all

agencies have an obligation to promptly report workplace injuries

to State Fund. Within one business day of receiving notice or
knowledge that an employee has incurred an injury meeting specific
conditions that may be work-related—generally defined as the date
of knowledge—an agency must provide the injured employee or the
employee’s dependents an employee claim form (employee form).

2 Generally, State Fund may also provide temporary disability benefits to injured employees once
they have exhausted the 52 weeks of IDL benefits.
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Figure 1
Several Types of Benefits Are Available Through California’s Workers’ Compensation System

Workers’ Compensation

Types of Benefits

Benefits covering authorized Benefits covering reasonable
injury-related medical expenses, burial expenses and payments
including doctor visits, surgeries, generally made to the

prosthetics, and therapeutic services. employee’s dependents.

[
I\
E |
INDUSTRIAL DISABILITY LEAVE (IDL) PERMANENT DISABILITY TRAINING VOUCHER
Partial wage replacement program Compensation benefits paid Avoucher to help pay for educational
equating to the employee’s full pay according to a calculated permanent retraining or skill enhancement if an
minus withholdings for the first 22 days disability level within legally established agency does not offer the employee

and two-thirds pay thereafter. Payments minimum and maximum limits. a return-to-work option.

generally continue until the injured state

employee has returned to work or
52 weeks, whichever occurs first.

11

Source: Analysis of state law, regulations, and Industrial Relations’ Injured Workers Guidebook.
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The agency must then file within five days an employer’s report of
the injury (employer report) with State Fund.® After the employee

or the employee’s dependents return the employee form, the agency
has one working day to authorize up to $10,000 in approved medical
treatment until State Fund accepts or rejects the claim.

State Fund plays a key role in processing claims, as Figure 2

shows. Generally, state regulations require State Fund to notify

the employee regarding its decision to accept, reject, or delay its
liability decision within 14 days of the date of knowledge. State Fund
can delay a claim if the employee has not yet provided requested
documentation or if it is waiting for the employee to receive a
comprehensive medical evaluation. However, if State Fund does not
accept or deny the claim within 9o days of the submission date of
the employee form, the claim is presumed accepted.

If the injured employee and the agency do not agree on whether an
injury is work-related or disagree about other issues, the employee
may be required to see a qualified medical evaluator (medical
evaluator) in an appropriate specialty.* Under the oversight of
Industrial Relations’ Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC),
medical evaluators conduct evaluations and generate reports to help
resolve disputes. These disputes may involve disagreement about
whether injuries are work-related, the period of temporary disability,
the degree of permanent disability, or the need for future medical
treatment. To become medical evaluators, physicians must be licensed
to practice in California, spend at least one-third of their total practice
time providing direct medical treatment, not have specified conflicts
of interest, and pass a medical evaluator competency exam. Certain
types of medical providers must meet other requirements as well.

Within five working days of an employee or agency requesting a
medical evaluator, DWC is responsible for providing a randomly
selected list of three medical evaluators (panel) to both parties.
Generally, if the injured employee is represented by an attorney
(represented employee), the parties each choose one medical
evaluator to remove from the panel, and the injured employee then
schedules an appointment with the remaining medical evaluator. An
employee without legal representation generally selects one of the
three evaluators from the panel and schedules an appointment. In
both cases, the medical evaluator usually has up to 60 calendar days

3 The employee form documents the date and type of injury, along with other facts. The employer
report documents additional information about the employee’s injury and employment status. For
example, the report specifically identifies the type of activity being performed at the time of the
injury, the type of equipment involved, and the employee’s work schedule.

4 Medical evaluators in California may specialize in one or more of 30 areas, including internal
medicine, neurology, pain medicine, psychiatry, and hand and spine issues. According to state law,
a claim administrator and a represented employee can resolve a disputed case by using a medical
evaluator whom they select by agreement.
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to conduct the evaluation (60-day window), unless the scheduling
requirement is waived. If the medical evaluator is unavailable
within the 60-day window and the scheduling requirement has
not been extended or waived, state regulations generally allow the
parties to apply for a replacement medical evaluator or panel from
DWLC. Such a request restarts the process. After the in-person
evaluation, the medical evaluator submits a report to the employee
and State Fund for use in resolving the dispute.

In addition, State Fund reviews treatments and medication
proposed by an employee’s workers’ compensation physician and
approves those deemed medically necessary—a process known as a
utilization review. Once the employee’s physician determines the
employee’s condition has stabilized and, with or without medical
treatment, is not expected to get any better or any worse within a
year, the employee is considered to have reached maximum medical
improvement (maximum improvement). Once the employee
reaches maximum improvement, State Fund can

decide how to resolve the employee’s claim, as
Figure 3 indicates. If the employee no longer
requires any medical treatment and does not
receive permanent disability benefits, State Fund
may close the claim administratively. However, if
the employee has some degree of permanent
disability, a treating physician or medical evaluator
may determine the extent of the disability and any
work restrictions resulting from the injury. We
describe in the text box the ways in which an
employee with a permanent disability may return to
work. State Fund uses this information to determine

The State Provides Injured Workers
Multiple Ways to Return to Work

Generally, if an employee has some permanent disability and
if a doctor has determined the employee can perform the
physical requirements of a proposed job, the employer may
provide the employee the following ways to return to work
or may provide supplemental job displacement benefits.

+ Regular work—The regular occupation or position at
which the employee previously worked with wages and

compensation equivalent to those paid at the time of injury.

future disability payments and a possible settlement
authorization request (settlement request).

State Fund and injured employees can consider
two types of settlements, either a compromise

and release agreement or stipulations with request
for award (stipulations). Under a compromise and
release agreement, the employee and State Fund
negotiate the value of the claim payout, considering
factors such as disability payments and possible
future disability medical costs. If the employee

and State Fund reach an agreement, the employee
agrees to forego future benefits in exchange

for a lump sum payment, and the agency is not
responsible for providing future medical care to the
employee. Alternatively, the employee may agree
to stipulations, the terms of which may include
specified disability payments and the right to
receive medical treatment in the future.

- Modified work—Generally, a modified version of the

employee’s regular occupation or position that enables
the employee to perform all the functions of the job with
wages and compensation that are at least 85 percent of
those paid at the time of injury.

« Alternative work—Generally, work that the employee

has the ability to perform that may be different from
regular duties with wages and compensation that are at
least 85 percent of those paid at the time of injury.

- Supplemental job displacement benefit—A voucher

to help pay for an employee’s educational retraining or
skill enhancement if the employer does not offer the
employee a work assignment that falls into one of the
above categories within 60 days of receipt of a report
finding the employee has reached maximum medical
improvement or if the work assignment the agency offers
is for less than 12 months.

Source: Analysis of state law and regulation.
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Figure 2
State Fund Follows a Process for Handling the Medical Aspects of a Workers’ Compensation Claim

* s

e
Employee is injured on the job.

-

Employee notifies agency of work-related injury and submits a claim.*

[ 4 Employing agency authorizes up to $10,000 for medical treatment
\\ until the claim is accepted or denied. ‘
b ] =
"
- o’

7
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION PHYSICIAN STATE FUND ’

Workers' compensation physician State Fund decides
provides emergency medical 4} whether or not the agency g
treatment or initial evaluation. is liable for the injury.

Claim approved ~ Claim denied

__ Workers' compensation physician o '~ ) S Treatmentis not
Q proposes treatment. {' * provided through
! Workers' compensation.
: { State Fund reviews treatment plan

D against established medical standards

Further through an authorization process.
treatment
needed . .
i Workers’ compensation physician Medically Not medically
| provides treatment and may determine hecessary necessary _
I___ _ whenthe employee has reached maximum /R ) L N Treatment s not
medical improvement—the point at which provided through
the employee’s condition is generally not Workers’ compensation.
expected to get any better or any worse.
[ } Claim closure process may begin.
(See Figure 3)

Source: Review of state laws, regulations, and State Fund’s procedure manuals.

Note: A qualified medical examiner may be required when the employee and State Fund cannot agree on whether the injury was work-related or the
level of permanent disability, among other things.

* The date an agency learns that one of its employees has suffered from a work-related injury is defined as the date of knowledge.
= Step must be completed under time requirements, which vary under different circumstances.
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Figure 3
State Fund Has Established a Process for Closing Claims
v
Workers’ compensation physician or medical evaluator f
determines that employee has reached
maximum medical improvement.
(See Figure 2) |
Additional benefits _J L Additional benefits are
may be required typically not required 1 §_"|__,()_§___E_D-

Administrative Closure—State Fund closes

State Fund determines the employee’s
- -)- disability rating and submits settlement
authorization request to employee’s agency.

| .
No ¢

| N
{ The agency decides whether or not to
approve the settlement authorization request.

claims when no further benefits are due.

e fes —————- \
A 4
State Fund presents
— settlement options to employee. —
1 —
— 1 —_—

Stipulations—Workers’ compensation judge approves an
agreement wherein the agency and employee agree to the
amount and duration of permanent disability payments.
The agency will continue to pay for injury-related
medical care, if needed.

Compromise and Release—Workers' compensation
judge approves an agreement wherein the employee
releases State Fund and the agency from future liability
in exchange for a lump-sum payment to cover all costs
associated with the injury.

v

Conference may resultin. . .

If the employee and State Fund cannot agree to a

' compromise and release agreement or stipulations, either party '
may request a mandatory settlement conference. If the parties
cannot reach an agreement, the case is scheduled for trial.

|

W )
v

Findings and Award—If the workers’ compensation judge decides

compensation is owed, he or she outlines the type and amount of
payments and future care that the agency will provide to the employee.

Source: Review of state law and State Fund’s procedure manuals.
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Under the master agreement, State Fund must obtain approval from
an agency before entering into a settlement, unless the agency has
established prior settlement authority for State Fund to settle cases
without preapproval.

After the injured employee or the employee’s attorney has
negotiated a settlement with State Fund, a workers’ compensation
judge or the appeals board must approve it. If the injured
employee and State Fund are unable to reach an agreement,

both parties may appear at a mandatory settlement conference
(settlement conference). If the parties are unable to reach an
agreement at the settlement conference, the judge will generally
schedule the claim for trial. After a trial, a judge will determine
the outcome of the case and issue a finding and award if the judge
determines compensation is owed to the injured worker.
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Audit Results

Some State Agencies Are Overpaying for Insurance Rather Than
Providing Benefits Through the Master Agreement

As we describe in the Introduction, nearly 9o percent of state
agencies and departments provide workers’ compensation coverage
through the master agreement. However, according to CalHR,

32 agencies or units within agencies opted to purchase insurance
from State Fund rather than use the master agreement during fiscal
year 2017—18. These agencies pay premiums to State Fund to cover
the cost of potential claims, rather than reimbursing State Fund
for administering their claims and for the actual costs associated
with the claims. According to the program manager for CalHR’s
benefits division, agencies usually identify funding-related reasons
for choosing to pay for insurance coverage. These include the
predictability of premiums compared to the unpredictable costs

of workers’ compensation claims and the difficulty of funding a
large workers’ compensation claim.

Although agencies can purchase insurance to mitigate the risk

of unpredictable costs, historical trends do not justify the cost of
insurance premiums for some state agencies. We identified

10 state agencies that each had 9o or more employees and
purchased insurance from State Fund in fiscal year 2017—18. When
we analyzed these agencies’ workers’ compensation costs and
premiums from fiscal years 2013—14 through 2017-18, we found
that each consistently paid more in insurance premiums than

it would have had it instead used State Fund to administer its
claims under the master agreement. We estimate that under the
master agreement, these 10 agencies would have collectively paid
an average of less than $1.6 million annually for the costs of the
claims and State Fund’s administrative fees during the five years we
reviewed. Instead, they collectively paid an average of $5.7 million
per year in premiums.

As Table 4 shows, we estimate that the State could have saved
more than $20 million during the period we reviewed had these
10 agencies provided workers’ compensation through the master
agreement rather than purchasing insurance. For example,

over the five-year period, the California Department of Food

and Agriculture paid an average of nearly $1 million per year in
premiums, even though we estimate that its average annual cost
under the master agreement would have been less than $260,000.
Similarly, the annual premiums for the Secretary of State’s Office
over the five-year period ranged from $520,000 to $970,000,
whereas its annual master agreement costs would have never
exceeded $360,000 and would have averaged about $250,000 based
on its claim activity.

November 2019
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Table 4

The State Overpaid for Workers’ Compensation Coverage for 10 State Agencies

2013-14
20714-15
2015-16
2016-17

2017-18

Totals

Annual average

ESTIMATED MASTER SAVINGS IF AGENCIES USED
LB IS ST, JUL Y AGREEMENT COST THE MASTER AGREEMENT

$5,280,000 $2,190,000 $3,090,000
6,590,000 2,600,000 3,990,000
9,520,000 1,030,000 8,490,000
3,510,000 1,010,000 2,500,000
3,630,000 910,000 2,720,000
$28,530,000 $7,740,000 $20,790,000
$5,706,000 $1,548,000 $4,158,000

Source: Analysis of CalHR data and State Fund data for 10 insured state agencies for fiscal years 2013-14 through 2017-18.

Considering the amount that these agencies could have saved if they
had used the master agreement, we believe that CalHR should advise
agencies that do not participate in the master agreement if doing

so might result in workers’ compensation savings. Although CalHR
and State Fund perform an assessment to determine an agency’s
ability to pay for its workers’ compensation costs if that agency wants
to participate in the master agreement, this assessment does not
consider the cost-effectiveness of using the master agreement instead
of an insurance policy. Moreover, the master agreement does not
require either entity to assist agencies in deciding which workers’
compensation option is more cost-effective. When we asked the

10 agencies why they provide workers’ compensation coverage by
purchasing insurance, eight indicated that they did so because they
believed it would be the most cost-effective way to provide coverage.’
However, as we describe above, our analysis indicates that this belief
is erroneous.

The program manager for CalHR’s Benefits Division stated that
CalHR’s ability to conduct this type of analysis may require additional
legislative authority to compel agencies to share the claim data
necessary to conduct the analyses. Given that part of the intent of the
master agreement is to protect the public through the implementation
of effective cost-containment programs, we believe that it is
appropriate for CalHR to conduct cost-benefit analyses for each agency
that intends to purchase insurance from State Fund and compare the
costs of purchasing insurance and using the master agreement.

5 The ninth agency indicated that it prefers insurance for its consistent costs because it relies on
federal funding, which can be sporadic. The tenth stated that another state agency reimburses it for
its workers’ compensation insurance.
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Injured Workers Received Timely Medical Care Even When Agencies
Failed to Meet Deadlines for Submitting Claims

Although the four agencies we reviewed missed some deadlines
for providing forms to injured employees or submitting workers’
compensation claims to State Fund, we found no evidence that
these delays affected the timely delivery of medical care to the
employees. As we discuss in the Introduction, state law generally
requires agencies to provide an employee form to an injured
employee within one business day of the date of knowledge of a
claim and requires agencies to submit an employer report to State
Fund within five days of the date of knowledge. According to a
claims compliance director at State Fund, when an agency submits
an employer report to State Fund in a timely manner, it provides
State Fund with the maximum amount of time to determine
whether to accept or deny that claim.

We reviewed eight workers’ compensation claims at each of the
four agencies we reviewed—a total of 32 claims—and found that all
four agencies we audited failed to meet the required deadlines for
providing either the employee form or employer report for one or
more claims. For instance, Caltrans and CHP each submitted

four of eight employer reports more than five calendar days after
their dates of knowledge of work-related injuries. We also noted
one instance in which CAL FIRE submitted an employer report
late to State Fund and one in which Social Services did not provide
an employee form to an injured employee within the one-day time
frame. Managers in units handling workers’ compensation claims
at CAL FIRE, CHP, and Caltrans explained that supervisors did not
always submit the employer reports on time because of limitations
such as remote worksites and difficulties in contacting employees
to obtain required information. In addition, they explained that
some injured employees did not return employee forms in a timely
manner because the employees initially believed that they did not
need medical treatment or that they could self-treat rather than
report the injuries to their supervisors.

However, because the agencies provide up to $10,000 of specified
medical benefits—as state law requires—until State Fund either
accepts or denies a claim, none of the initial claim intake delays
affected the injured employees’ ability to obtain necessary medical
treatment for the claims that we reviewed. For example, one of the
employees involved had an injury that required more than $1,000 in
medical care during the nine days following his injury. Even though
the agency did not send the employer report to State Fund until

26 days after the injury, the employee received medical care before
State Fund accepted the claim. For each of the claims we reviewed

November 2019

Because the agencies provide up

to $10,000 of specified medical
benefits—as state law requires—
until State Fund either accepts or
denies a claim, none of the initial
claim intake delays affected the
injured employees’ ability to obtain
necessary medical treatment for the
claims that we reviewed.
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State Fund met the majority of the
mandated periods for processing
the claims we reviewed at the
four agencies, and in all cases,

the injured employees received
access to health care.

that did not meet all required timelines, we found that employees
still received medical treatment up until the point that State Fund
either accepted or denied their claims.

State Fund met the majority of the mandated periods for processing
the claims we reviewed at the four agencies, and in all cases, the
injured employees received access to health care. State regulations
generally require State Fund to notify an employee within 14 days
of the date of knowledge if it delays its decision on a claim. If it

does not deny a claim within 9o days from when the employee files
the employee form, the claim is presumed accepted. Although we
identified two instances in which State Fund missed deadlines for
notifying employees that it was delaying their claims, it made all
claim decisions within the 9o-day time frame. Our testing showed
that in both of these instances, the injured employees continued

to receive medical treatment through the $10,000 in medical
benefits they are entitled to until State Fund accepted or denied
their claims. According to a claims compliance specialist at State
Fund, notification of a delay is important for informing an employee
of a claim’s status but has no significant impact on the delivery of
benefits or the liability decision.

In addition, our testing showed that for six medical emergencies
that were likely to exceed this $10,000 threshold, State Fund
approved the claims within an average of 11 days, significantly

less than the 9o days allowed under state law. For example,

one employee who was involved in an automobile accident had
already incurred nearly $10,000 in medical care as of the date State
Fund established the claim. However, State Fund accepted this
claim only six days later.

State Fund also approved medical treatments for injured employees
within required time frames. State law requires State Fund to
establish a process to review treatments and to approve them if it
determines they are compensable. For example, state law generally
requires that once State Fund is in receipt of the information it
needs to make its determination, it must approve, modify, or deny
a physician’s request for treatment within 72 hours for urgent cases
and five business days for nonurgent cases. Our testing showed that
State Fund approved, modified, or denied all treatment requests in
accordance with these time frames.

A Lack of Available Medical Evaluators Has Resulted in Delays and
Automatic Denials of Claims

Our review found that a lack of available medical evaluators
has at times delayed appointments for medical evaluations,
resulting in State Fund’s automatically denying claims and some



California State Auditor Report 2019-106

injured employees’ having to wait to receive benefits. State Fund
automatically denied four of 32 claims we reviewed because the
employees could not obtain timely appointments for medical
evaluations. It did not accept these four claims until an average of
four months later, after medical evaluators finally saw the injured
employees and determined the injuries were work-related. The
agencies for which these employees worked explained that in some
cases, untimely appointments for medical evaluations can also
delay an employee’s return-to-work process and may unnecessarily
increase a state agency’s workers’ compensation costs.

Some Employees Are Unable to Receive Medical Evaluations Before
State Fund Automatically Denies Their Claims

A lack of available medical evaluators has delayed some injured
employees’ appointments for medical evaluations, resulting in the
automatic denial of their claims and postponing the resolution

of their benefit payments. As we explain in the Introduction, the
workers’ compensation process may rely on medical evaluators

to resolve claim disputes. Upon receiving a request for a medical
evaluator, DWC must generate a randomly selected panel according
to the requested specialty. For represented employees the employee
and State Fund can each remove one medical evaluator and

the injured employee then schedules an appointment with the
remaining medical evaluator.

The medical evaluator then has a 60-day window to conduct the
evaluation, unless the party scheduling the appointment—generally
the employee—waives this requirement and agrees to extend the
window by 30 days. When a medical evaluator is unavailable
within the extended 9o-day window, state law generally allows
either party to request a replacement panel or to waive the go-day
requirement altogether. Similarly, if the parties need to replace

a medical evaluator or panel for other specified reasons—for
instance, if the employee has moved to a new area—DW(C issues a
replacement panel. However, DWC is not legally required to issue

a replacement panel within a specific time frame. Further, once

it issues a replacement panel and a new evaluator is selected, the
60-day window restarts. Thus, each replacement panel may result in
a further overall delay in claim resolution.

During fiscal year 2017-18, DWC generated about 145,000 medical
evaluator panels to resolve medical disputes. In that same year,
DW(C received a total of nearly 19,000 requests for replacement
panels because the medical evaluators on the initial panels were not
available within the 60-day window. For example, one employee
requested a replacement panel because of a conflict of interest

November 2019

A lack of available medical
evaluators has delayed some
injured employees’ appointments
for medical evaluations, resulting in
the automatic denial of their claims
and postponing the resolution of
their benefit payments.
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During fiscal year 2017-18,

42 percent of all replacement panels
DWCissued were because medical
evaluators were not available

for appointments within the
60-day window.

with one medical evaluator and an availability issue with another.
Ultimately, that employee did not see an evaluator until 195 days,
or more than six months, after the initial panel request.

State law requires that regardless of the availability of a medical
evaluator, State Fund must deny a claim within 9o days after an
employee files it or it is presumed to be accepted. According to
State Fund’s claims compliance director, State Fund automatically
denies a claim within 9o days if an unresolved dispute exists about
whether the employer is responsible for the injury. State Fund cites
in its decision a lack of medical evidence, even when the delay

is the result of a lack of available medical evaluators. However,

if it denies a claim because of pending medical evidence, State
Fund may subsequently accept the claim if a medical evaluator
determines that the injury was work-related. Once State Fund
denies a claim, it no longer pays for the employee’s medical care,
and it does not pay benefits.

Our testing indicated that some employees have found it difficult
to obtain appointments for medical evaluations before the end

of State Fund’s 9o-day decision period. For example, State Fund
automatically denied one claim because the employee was not

able to obtain a medical evaluator’s report until five months after
State Fund denied the claim. As a result, the employee did not
receive any workers’ compensation benefit payments. According to
CAL FIRE, he had to use accrued time off for almost nine months
until the evaluator provided a report and State Fund subsequently
accepted the claim. After accepting the claim, the agency
retroactively restored the employee’s accrued time off and provided
IDL payments from his first day of disability. Of the 32 claims we
reviewed, State Fund automatically denied four—or 12.5 percent—
because the employees had not yet seen medical evaluators.

When we asked DWC about the increased number of replacement
panels, the chief of medical services administration questioned
whether an unavailability problem exists and stated that she has
seen no indication of an access problem to obtain an appointment
with a medical evaluator. However, our analysis indicates that

42 percent of all replacement panels DWC issued during fiscal
year 2017—-18 were because medical evaluators were not available
for appointments within the 60-day window. As Figure 4 shows,
the number of panels DWC replaced because of unavailability of
medical evaluators more than quadrupled from fiscal year 2013—14
to fiscal year 2017—18. In addition, our data indicate that during
this period, the number of medical evaluators decreased by 375,
while the proportion of all panels that were replacement panels
due to unavailability of medical evaluators increased from
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4 percent to 13 percent. In fact, in the past four fiscal years, the total
number of panel requests increased by 37 percent, while the total
number of medical evaluators decreased by 12 percent.

Figure 4
The Number of Panels DWC Had to Replace Because of Unavailable Medical
Evaluators More Than Quadrupled From Fiscal Years 2013-14 Through 2017-18
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15,000
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8,360

5,000

Not Available Within 60 Days

4,573

Number of Panels Replaced
Because Medical Evaluators Were
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Fiscal Year

Source: Analysis of panel requests from DWC's medical evaluators database for fiscal years 2013-14
through 2017-18.

Further, according to a State Fund specialist, a shortage of medical
evaluators in certain medical specialties and geographic areas has
contributed to some injured employees’ being unable to schedule
appointments promptly. For example, from fiscal years 2013—14
through 2017-18, the number of panel requests for the field of
orthopedic surgery increased by 66 percent, while the number of
evaluators decreased by 7 percent. Addressing this issue will require
that DWC secure and maintain enough medical evaluators to

meet demand.
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State employees are not eligible for
either IDL or permanent disability
payments while they are waiting
for State Fund'’s decisions on

their claims.

Delayed Appointments for Medical Evaluations May Result in Employees
Waiting Longer to Receive Disability Payments or Return to Work

When a lack of medical evaluators delays appointments for
evaluations to determine whether injuries are work-related or to
resolve other disputes, the employees may not receive or may be
delayed in receiving the appropriate type of disability benefits.

As we explain in the Introduction, eligible state employees are
generally entitled to receive IDL payments for a maximum of

52 weeks within two years from the first day of disability. However,
they receive these benefits only after State Fund has accepted

their claims. In addition, State Fund provides permanent disability
payments when doctors determine that injured employees have
reached maximum improvement and will never recover completely
or will always be limited in the work they can perform. However,
state employees are not eligible for either IDL or permanent
disability payments while they are waiting for State Fund’s
decisions on their claims. As we describe previously, we identified
one employee in our review whose IDL payments were delayed by
several months because he was unable to obtain an appointment for
a medical evaluation when needed.

According to the four agencies we reviewed, when injured
employees do not receive IDL and permanent disability payments
because of their inability to promptly obtain appointments for
medical evaluations, the burden to seek out other benefits falls

on those employees. Although state law requires the agencies to
provide up to $10,000 worth of specified medical treatment after an
employee files a employee form, it does not require them to make
disability benefit payments until the claim is accepted. CAL FIRE’s
injury and accommodations unit manager (unit manager) explained
that when State Fund automatically denies claims while employees
wait for appointments for medical evaluations, those employees can
apply for insurance payments through EDD for non-work-related
disabilities. The unit manager explained that employees’ other
options while awaiting their medical evaluations include applying
for catastrophic leave—which is accrued leave donated by other
state employees—or taking unpaid leaves of absence.

In addition to possibly delaying benefit payments to injured
employees, the four agencies we reviewed agreed that in some cases,
not promptly obtaining appointments for medical evaluations

has delayed employees’ return-to-work processes and may have
unnecessarily increased the agencies’ workers’ compensation

costs. Injured employees can return to work when their primary
workers’ compensation physicians release them to do so. However,
representatives from several of the agencies we reviewed stated that
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when an employee and an agency cannot agree on the employee’s
work status, a timely medical evaluation report is necessary to
determine whether that employee is ready to return to work. For
example, Caltrans’ return-to-work program branch chief (branch
chief) explained that in certain situations, Caltrans may believe
that an employee can return to work even though the employee’s
primary workers’ compensation physician has placed the employee
on total temporary disability status, which generally means that the
employee is unable to perform job duties while healing. Similarly,
CAL FIRE’s unit manager explained that at times an employee
may disagree with a workers’ compensation physician’s decision to
release that employee to return to work. In these instances, a state
agency or the employee may request a medical evaluation to help
determine the nature of work, if any, an employee is capable of
performing. According to CAL FIRE’s unit manager and Caltrans’
branch chief, a lack of available medical evaluators to resolve such
disputes has led to delays in employees returning to work, reducing
the agencies’ workforce productivity and increasing their backfill
and overtime costs.

In addition, under most circumstances, agencies pay IDL
payments at a higher rate than permanent disability. Because

an agency is generally required to pay IDL until a physician says
that an employee can return to work or has reached maximum
improvement, the CAL FIRE and Caltrans managers concluded that
a delayed appointment for a medical evaluation to determine an
employee’s disability status might result in that employee receiving
higher overall benefit payments in the meantime. For example,

in one case, State Fund may have paid a Caltrans employee

who exhausted his IDL benefits more than twice the amount in
disability payments—almost $1,500 in total—than it would have

if it had promptly received an evaluation report declaring he had
reached maximum improvement. Had it received such a report,
State Fund may have transitioned this employee to permanent
disability sooner.

Ensuring that medical evaluators are available for appointments
to evaluate injured employees will require DWC to recruit more
evaluators and to improve the panel assignment process. In
November 2019, we issued Report 2019-102, titled Department

of Industrial Relations: Its Failure to Adequately Administer the
Qualified Medical Evaluator Process May Delay Injured Workers’
Access to Benefits, which provides additional information on

the causes of medical evaluator unavailability and presents
recommendations for addressing this issue.
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Ensuring that medical evaluators
are available for appointments
to evaluate injured employees
will require DWC to recruit more
evaluators and to improve the
panel assignment process.
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The practice of resolving claims
through compromise and release
agreements is less common

for state agencies than using
other methods.

State Agencies Have a Variety of Options for Effectively and Efficiently
Resolving Claims

Employers and injured employees have multiple options for resolving
workers’ compensation cases once the injured employees have
reached maximum improvement. In many instances, the resolutions
are fairly straightforward: of the claims that State Fund closed from
fiscal years 201516 through 2017-18, 69 percent involving state
agencies using the master agreement were closed administratively
because of inactivity or because all necessary treatment had been
provided, and resulted in an average of $4,000 in total costs paid

per claim. According to State Fund’s claims compliance director,
State Fund administratively closes claims if injuries do not result

in permanent disability and do not require additional medical care.
For example, an employee suffering from a shoulder injury would
receive medical treatment until the treating doctor determines that
the employee has no permanent disability, has reached maximum
improvement, and requires no further treatment. State Fund may
then close the claim.

However, other claims end in a settlement, such as a compromise
and release agreement or a stipulation. In a compromise and

release agreement, the employee agrees to forgo future benefits in
exchange for a lump-sum payment, and the agency is no longer
responsible for future medical care related to the case. Alternatively,
the agency and the injured employee may voluntarily enter

into a stipulation, whereby the agency generally agrees to make
permanent disability payments up to a specified limit over time

and to cover future medical costs related to the claim through the
workers’ compensation system.

If the agency and the injured employee cannot agree on a
settlement, either party may request a settlement conference
with a workers’ compensation judge who assists in resolving the
dispute. If the parties do not resolve their dispute at the settlement
conference, the judge may set the case for trial. During the trial,
the judge will review the evidence and determine the outcome
of the case. If a claim goes to trial, both parties lose a degree of
control because the judge may find in favor of either the injured
employee or the agency on disputed aspects of the case, such as
whether the claimed injury was work-related or how much the
employee will receive in disability benefits.

The practice of resolving claims through compromise and release
agreements is less common for state agencies than using other
methods. As Table 5 shows, State agencies using the master
agreement settled 5 percent of their claims through compromise
and release agreements from fiscal years 2015-16 through 201718,
compared to 16 percent of claims resolved through stipulations and



10 percent through findings and awards. The decision about the
type of resolution that the parties agree to during their settlement
negotiations depends on many different and often complex factors.
Consequently, it is not possible to determine whether those claims
resolved through compromise and release would have cost the state
agencies less through a different resolution type.

Table 5
State Agencies That Used the Master Agreement During Fiscal Years 2015-16
Through 2017-18 Rarely Closed Cases Through Compromise and Release

STATE AGENCIES USING THE MASTER AGREEMENT

OPTIONS FOR
RESOLVING CLAIMS PERCENTAGE OF TOTAL AVERAGE PAID PER CLAIM

Compromise and

release agreement >% ALY
Findings and award 10 72,000
Stipulations 16 68,000
Administrative closure 69 4,000
Average $24,000

Total number of claims 66,895

Total benefits paid over $1,598,935,000
the life of the claims

Source: Analysis of all State Fund workers’ compensation claim closures for fiscal years 2015-16,
2016-17,and 2017-18 and CalHR data for State Fund administrative costs per claim for fiscal
years 1998-99 through 2017-18.

Using compromise and release agreements for settling state
employee claims offers certain advantages and disadvantages

for agencies and employees depending on the circumstances.
Specifically, compromise and release agreements do not allow
employees to file for new and additional disability benefits if their
conditions deteriorate. Further, if their injuries lead to death, their
dependents may be unable to file for death benefits. In addition,
Social Services’ workers’ compensation unit manager stated that
the focus for current employees should be on medical care, and
compromise and release agreements do not necessarily address
medical care as well as stipulations. Similarly, a CAL FIRE unit
manager stated that not all employees want to settle through
compromise and release agreements because they prefer to
maintain their rights to future medical treatment related to

their injuries. In other instances, compromise and release
agreements can reduce the amounts agencies pay to State Fund
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To allow an agency 30 days to
review the settlement request and
grant authority for the settlement
conference, State Fund would
need to provide the request

more than 30 days before the
settlement conference.

in administrative fees, and because they limit future liability the
agreements allow agencies to determine their actual costs so they
can budget more effectively.

State Fund'’s Failure to Provide Timely Settlement Documents to
Agencies Has Affected Its Ability to Resolve Claims Efficiently

State Fund has frequently failed to provide state agencies with
sufficient time to review and approve requests for settlement
authority before settlement conferences, which can limit its ability
to negotiate an agreement. Under the master agreement, State
Fund must obtain approval from an agency before entering into

a settlement, unless the agency has established prior settlement
authority with State Fund. To this end, State Fund completes a
request for settlement authority and submits it to the agency before
the settlement conference. According to the agencies’ staff we
interviewed, if an agency reviews a settlement request and believes
that State Fund has overlooked some issues, it may return the
request for correction. State Fund cannot enter into stipulations

or a compromise and release agreement on behalf of an agency
participating in the master agreement unless the agency has agreed
with State Fund on the proposed settlement or the proposed
settlement is within State Fund’s pre-established authority. If State
Fund and the injured employee are unable to resolve the dispute,
the case may proceed to trial, which can add time and expense

to the process. Further, because of the uncertainty of a trial’s
outcome, the agency may have to pay far more to resolve the claim.

Several of the agencies we spoke with explained that they need State
Fund to provide them with 30 days to review a settlement request
prior to the settlement conference. Some state agencies indicated
that they need this time to properly review the documents and
allow State Fund to correct any discrepancies. Settlement requests
can include numerous pages and may require multiple levels of
review within state agencies. The vice president of State Fund’s
claims operations (vice president) stated that State Fund attempts
to provide the settlement requests at least 30 days before settlement
conferences. Although we did not identify specific timeline
requirements in law or regulations for State Fund to provide
settlement requests to state agencies, the master agreement requires
CalHR and State Fund to work together to develop guidelines

for the interactions between State Fund and state agencies. The
guidelines state that an agency should generally provide a reply to
State Fund’s request for authorization within 30 days of receiving

it. To allow an agency 30 days to review the settlement request

and grant authority for the settlement conference, State Fund
would need to provide the request more than 30 days before the
settlement conference.
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Nonetheless, our review of 15 claims at CAL FIRE, Social
Services, and Caltrans found that in many cases, State Fund

did not provide agencies with at least 30 days to respond to the
settlement requests before the settlement conferences, which may
have limited the agencies’ ability to effectively resolve the claims
through stipulations or compromise and release agreements in
some instances.® State Fund provided less than 30 days for eight,
or 53 percent, of the 15 claims that we selected. We found that
State Fund’s ability to negotiate a settlement was hindered in at
least four of these cases because it did not have authority from
the agencies in place before the settlement conferences. In fact, in
these four instances, State Fund did not resolve the claims until an
average of 10 months after the settlement conferences.

We found similar results when performing a more extensive
analysis of Social Services’ and CAL FIRE'’s settlement tracking
logs for fiscal years 2015—16 through 2017-18.” As Table 6 shows,
State Fund provided the agencies with less than 30 days before
the settlement conference to review settlement requests for 57, or
63 percent, of the 9o claims that went to settlement conferences.
Until State Fund consistently provides settlement requests

to agencies at least 30 days before settlement conferences, it
risks undermining the settlement conference process because
the agencies may not have enough time to provide it with
settlement authority.

Table 6
State Fund Provided Most Settlement Proposals to Social Services and CAL FIRE Less Than 30 Days Before
Settlement Conferences

NUMBER OF SETTLEMENT PROPOSALS STATE FUND PROVIDED TO THE AGENCY
WITHIN THE SPECIFIED DAYS BEFORE A SETTLEMENT CONFERENCE

PERCENTAGE LESS
30 DAYS OR MORE LESS THAN 30 DAYS THAN 30 DAYS

Social Services 25 7 18 72%

CAL FIRE 65 26 39 60%
Totals 920 33 57 63%

Source: Analysis of Social Services’ and CAL FIRE's settlement logs for fiscal years 2015-16 through 2017-18.
Note: We did not conduct this testing for CHP and Caltrans because these agencies did not maintain sufficient electronic information for us to do so.

6 We were unable to review settlement requests that State Fund sent to CHP because CHP does not
maintain the information necessary to determine which claims CHP received settlement requests
for before settlement conferences.

7 We did not perform a similar analysis of Caltrans’ claims because its settlement log did not
provide sufficient detail.
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Various circumstances may hamper State Fund’s ability to meet
the 30-day timeline for some claims. In certain time-sensitive
situations, such as when the injured employee’s attorney files
paperwork to proceed to conference before State Fund has
completed its settlement request, State Fund may have a shortened
time frame within which to act. In some of these instances, it may
be unable to request settlement authority from the agency 3o days
before the settlement conference. Additionally, the vice president
indicated that State Fund could miss this deadline if it is waiting
for medical reports that may impact the settlement amount.
Nonetheless, it is important that agencies have adequate time

to review settlement requests before the settlement conferences
because delays in the settlement authorization process may result
in the agencies’ paying more in the end, including higher ongoing
medical expenses and court-related expenses if cases go to trial.

Recommendations

CalHR

To ensure that all state agencies provide workers’ compensation in
the most cost-effective manner, CalHR should provide each agency
that purchases workers’ compensation insurance with a cost-benefit
analysis every five years that compares the cost of purchasing

this insurance through State Fund with the cost of obtaining
coverage through the master agreement. It should begin providing
these analyses to state agencies no later than six months after the
Legislature gives it authority to request the necessary information
from these agencies.

Legislature

To ensure CalHR has the data necessary to compare insurance and
master agreement costs for agencies using State Fund insurance
policies, the Legislature should give CalHR the authority to obtain
that information.

State Fund

To ensure that state agencies have adequate time to review settlement
requests and provide settlement authority, State Fund should create
and follow a policy by May 2020 to provide settlement authorization
requests to agencies at least 30 days before settlement conferences.
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We conducted this audit under the authority vested in the California State Auditor by Government
Code 8543 et seq. and according to generally accepted government auditing standards. Those
standards require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to
provide a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our audit objectives specified in
the Scope and Methodology section of the report. We believe that the evidence obtained provides a
reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our audit objectives.

Respectfully submitted,

Edone 7. freote

ELAINE M. HOWLE, CPA
California State Auditor

Date: November 21, 2019
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Appendix A

BENEFITS PAID ON STATE FUND’S OPEN CLAIMS AS OF
JANUARY 1, 2019

We obtained summary-level data from State Fund for all

open claims as of January 1, 2019, that involved state agencies
participating in the master agreement. These data included the total
incurred costs and total benefits paid for claims that were less than
one year old, from one to two years old, and more than two years
old. Table A shows that the average cost of benefits paid per claim
increased significantly with the age of the claims.

Table A
State Fund’s Master Agreement and Insurance Claims Open as of January 1, 2019

STATE AGENCIES USING THE MASTER AGREEMENT

BENEFITS | AVERAGECOST | ESTIMATED COST
ALREADYPAID | PERCLAIM NOT YET PAID e

Claims open 9,142 $31 million $3,400 $208 million $239 million
less than one year

Claims open 5,078 81 million 16,000 232 million 313 million
from one to two years

Claims open 32,043 3.3 billion 104,200 2.5 billion 5.8 billion

more than two years

Source: State Fund’s summary of all open workers’ compensation claims in its database as of January 1, 2019.
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Appendix B

AGENCIES IDENTIFIED IN OUR
COST-EFFECTIVENESS ANALYSIS

As we describe in the Audit Results, some state agencies or
units within those agencies have overpaid to provide workers’
compensation coverage through insurance with State Fund
rather than through the master agreement. Table B presents the
10 agencies we selected for our analysis.

Table B
Agencies Identified in Our Cost-Effectiveness Analysis

10

California Department of Food and Agriculture

California Department of Pesticide Regulation

California Department of Transportation

California Department of Veterans Affairs

California Military Department

Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training
Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development
Secretary of State’s Office

State Council on Developmental Disabilities

State Treasurer’s Office

Source: Analysis of CalHR data.
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Appendix C

SCOPE AND METHODOLOGY
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The Joint Legislative Audit Committee (Audit Committee) directed
the California State Auditor to review the management of workers’
compensation claims by State Fund and four state agencies—

CAL FIRE, Caltrans, Social Services, and CHP. Table C lists the
audit objectives that the Audit Committee approved and the
methods we used to address them.

Table C
Audit Objectives and the Methods Used to Address Them

AUDIT OBJECTIVE METHOD

1

Review and evaluate the laws, rules, and
regulations significant to the audit objectives.

For each of the four agencies and State Fund,
evaluate the intake process for employees
filing claims to identify areas of strength

or weakness.

Review each agency'’s policies and practices for
handling claims in order to do the following:

a. Determine whether the agencies are
complying with key requirements in the
law for reviewing and processing claims.
To the extent that the agencies outsource
these duties, assess their oversight of
contractors’ performance.

b. Compare and contrast the agencies’ policies
and practices to identify the most effective
ways to handle claims.

- Identified and reviewed the laws, rules, and regulations for State Fund, CAL FIRE, Caltrans,
CHP, and Social Services related to processing claims.

- Identified CalHR’s role in managing the State’s master agreement with State Fund.

- Reviewed the four agencies’ policies and procedures related to claim intake and tracking
and determined that they processed claims in a similar manner. We did not observe any
best practices that resulted in more accurate or timely claim submission. In addition,
although CAL FIRE submitted claims electronically to State Fund, that process did not
improve the accuracy or timeliness of its claims.

- Reviewed training programs and determined that CalHR and the four agencies provide
training on the claims process for return-to-work coordinators and supervisors.

Evaluated eight claims from each of the four agencies and determined that the agencies
generally complied with key elements for reviewing and processing claims. Based on our
compliance testing at the four agencies, we determined that none of the agencies we
reviewed used a contractor to oversee claims that State Fund processed.

Reviewed the four agencies’ policies and procedures related to claim intake and tracking. We
determined that the monitoring mechanisms ensured that State Fund administered claims
efficiently and effectively. All four agencies adequately tracked claims from the time they
submitted them to State Fund until their resolution.

continued on next page.. ..
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AUDIT OBJECTIVE METHOD

4

5

Identify any best practices the agencies have
implemented for setting their reserve amounts
for claims.

To the extent possible, evaluate whether

State Fund and the agencies efficiently and
effectively care for employees receiving workers’
compensation by doing the following:

a. Fora selection of claims, assess whether
workers’ compensation claims are processed
in a timely and appropriate manner.

b. Calculate the average rate of completion
for each agency’s claims and compare those
rates to industry standards.

Evaluate loss run reports focusing on total
incurred costs, total benefits paid, and
outstanding reserves for all open claims,
including reports on those claims that have
been open for more than a year and those that
have been open for more than two years.

Review and assess any other issues that are
significant to the audit.

Interviewed staff at the four agencies to determine how they budget staff benefits,
including workers’ compensation benefits, and fund their claim-related costs. We
determined that state agencies do not maintain reserves but develop reasonable workers
compensation budgets annually.

’

Reviewed industry best practices and determined if they are applicable to these agencies.

Interviewed State Fund, CalHR, and University of California Office of the President staff to
determine whether they have implemented any best practices that might be applicable.

Analyzed the four agencies’ injury reports and found that the agencies generally track
and use injury data to identify trends and inform changes to policies and procedures.

Interviewed staff and analyzed documentation from the Orange County Risk Management
Office concerning its efforts to limit claim costs. We found that although Orange County
realized some cost savings, state agencies cannot adopt some of its strategies because of
structural differences in how it processed and paid claims. We found that other cost-saving
strategies Orange County implemented are already a part of the process at the state level.

Reviewed a total of 32 claims that the four agencies submitted to State Fund and found
that State Fund generally processed them in a timely and appropriate manner.

Determined whether CAL FIRE, Social Services, and Caltrans were able to settle claimsin a
timely and efficient manner by reviewing 15 settlement requests that State Fund created
and gave to the agencies before settlement conferences. We also analyzed CAL FIRE's and
Social Services’ settlement tracking logs.

Analyzed State Fund claims data from fiscal years 2013-14 through 2017-18 and determined
the claim closure rates for all of State Fund's state agencies using the master agreement,
including administrative closures, stipulations, compromise and release agreements,

and findings and awards. In addition, we determined the closure rates for each of the

four agencies selected for review. We attempted to compare these data to information

State Fund maintains about its insured employers, but State Fund asserted that information
was confidential.

+ Obtained summary-level data from State Fund for claims open as of January 2019 and
determined the total incurred costs and total benefits paid for all state agencies using
the master agreement, including claims less than one year old, from one to two years old,
and more than two years old. We attempted to compare these data to information State
Fund maintains about its insured employers, but State Fund asserted that information
was confidential.

Compared the costs for 10 agencies of using insurance policies from State Fund to
estimated master agreement costs for fiscal years 2013-14 through 2017-18.

Reviewed external and internal claim compliance audits of State Fund and determined
that it had followed up on findings and implemented recommendations.

Interviewed CalHR staff to determine the steps CalHR takes to oversee its master
agreement with State Fund.

Source: Analysis of Audit Committee’s audit request number 2019-106, planning documents, and analysis of information and documentation
identified in the table column titled Method.
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Assessment of Data Reliability

The U.S. Government Accountability Office, whose standards

we are statutorily required to follow, requires us to assess the
sufficiency and appropriateness of the computer-processed
information that we use to support our findings, conclusions, and
recommendations. In performing this audit, we relied on State
Fund’s claims data. To evaluate these data, we performed dataset
verification procedures and electronic testing of the key data
elements and found the data used are sufficiently reliable for the
purposes of selecting a sample for our claims testing. We verified
accuracy of the data by randomly selecting claims from State
Fund’s database and tracing key data elements from each claim to
supporting evidence maintained by three of the four agencies we
reviewed. We also verified completeness of the data by haphazardly
selecting claims from independent claims databases maintained by
three of the four agencies we reviewed and ensuring that each claim
existed in State Fund’s data. According to CHP’s injury and illness
program manager, its independent claims database is primarily
populated with data from State Fund, so we were therefore unable
to use CHP’s data to verify the accuracy or completeness of State
Fund’s database.

In addition, to assess State Fund’s administration of claims during
the settlement process, we reviewed a selection of claims from
settlement logs maintained by three of the four agencies we
reviewed. For a selection of records in these logs, we confirmed
key dates by reviewing supporting documentation. In addition, we
analyzed the data in the settlement logs for two of the agencies we
reviewed. Because the agencies update these logs as settlements
progress, we were unable to verify their completeness. However, we
assessed the information we obtained to be sufficiently reliable in
total for the purpose of supporting our findings and conclusions.

November 2019
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CAL,HR -
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT or HUMAN RESOURLCES Executive Office
Office of the Director Governor Gavin Newsom
1515 S Street, North Building, Suite 500 Acting Secretary, Government Operations Agency Julie Lee
Sacramento, CA 95811 Director Eraina Ortega

(916) 322-5193  Fax (916) 322-8376

October 29, 2019

Elaine M. Howle, CPA
California State Auditor

621 Capitol Mall, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: Report 2019-106
Dear Ms. Howle,

This is the response of the California Department of Human Resources (CalHR) to the
draft audit report regarding Workers' Compensation Insurance. CalHR is committed to
administering the State’s workers' compensation program in an efficient, effective, and
fiscally responsible manner.

The report concludes that CalHR should, in the interest of fiscal responsibility, provide a
cost-benefit analysis to each of the insured state departments comparing the estimated

cost of participation in the master agreement with State Compensation Insurance Fund
(State Fund) with the cost of insurance.

CalHR will work with State Fund to prepare these estimates and provide them to the
affected departments. We will provide details about our efforts in our follow-up
responses to you.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have questions.

Sincerely,

Eraina Ortega
Director
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STATE

COMPENSATION

INSURANCE

FUND

October 29, 2019

Elaine M Howle, CPA*
California State Auditor

621 Capital Mall, Suite 1200
Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Ms. Howle:

State Compensation Insurance Fund (State Fund) hereby provides response to the draft finding of the
California State Auditor (CSA) report entitled, Some State Agencies Are Paying Millions of Dollars More than
Necessary to Provide Benefits to Their Employees. The CSA conducted this audit and issued one
recommendation.

State Fund appreciates the work performed by the CSA and the opportunity to respond to the
recommendation. Attached are our comments and response to the recommendation contained in the draft
report.

If you have questions or require additional information, please contact Donna Babineau, Claims Compliance

Director, at (323) 981-3113.

Sincerely,
iOnsa M Robursan
Donna Babineau

Claims Compliance Director
State Compensation Insurance Fund

Enclosure: State Fund’s Response to Draft State Audit Report
Workers’ Compensation Finalizations

Cc: Vern Steiner, President and CEO, State Compensation Insurance Fund
Margie Lariviere, General Counsel, State Compensation Insurance Fund

*  California State Auditor's comments appear on page 45.
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STATE FUND RESPONSE TO DRAFT STATE AUDIT REPORT
State Fund has prepared the following comment and plan.

Recommendation: To ensure that the State Agencies have adequate time to review settlement
requests and provide settlement authority, State Fund should create and follow a policy by May
2020 to provide settlement authorization requests to agencies at least 30 days before settlement
conferences.

Comment and Plan: The Agencies and State Fund have established guidelines for communicating
finalizations which contemplate that State Fund will complete a settlement authorization request
(SAR) at the earliest opportunity. Pursuant to the guidelines, State Fund strives to provide the SAR
to the agencies within 30 days of receipt of all Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI) reports. This
means that the proposed finalization worksheet will generally be forwarded to the agencies at least
30 days before settlement conferences. However, as stated in the Audit Report, there are factors
outside State Fund’s control that make it impossible for us to anticipate and submit a SAR 30 days
prior to a hearing in every single instance. The established finalization guidelines take these factors
into consideration. There are also exceptions to the SAR recommended timelines such as
agreements with specific agencies for delegated authority. State Fund will continue to make every
effort to provide the agencies as much time as possible to review the SAR by following the guidelines
and providing oversight to ensure adherence.

The finalization guidelines are enclosed and available at
https.//www.calhr.ca.gov/employees/Pages/workers-comp-finalizations.aspx.

Target Completion Date: May 2020

State Fund also provides the following comment to the audit’s factual findings:

The amounts in Table 4 do not include the liability reserve for incurred but not reported (IBNR)
claims. IBNR refers to claims that have been incurred during the policy period and have not yet been
reported to the insurance company and future development on claim reserves that have been
reported to the insurer. While most insurance claims can be settled within a few years of the date
of injury, some claims, due to their size and complexity may take years, or even decades to reach
resolution. The amount of the adjuster case reserve estimate is not known with certainty until the
claim is resolved. The IBNR reserve exists to ensure that adequate funds are set aside and available
to pay all costs associated with the claim benefits due to the injured worker and also the
administration costs of administering the claims incurred against the policy.



California State Auditor Report 2019-106

Comments

CALIFORNIA STATE AUDITOR’S COMMENTS ON
THE RESPONSE FROM STATE COMPENSATION
INSURANCE FUND

To provide clarity and perspective, we are commenting on State
Fund’s response to our audit. The numbers below correspond to the
numbers we have placed in the margin of State Fund’s response.

State Fund’s comment is misleading. Although State Fund is

correct that the guidelines it mentions establish a time frame

for completing settlement requests, State Fund has consistently
failed to comply with these guidelines. We reviewed 15 settlement
requests and found only one instance in which State Fund sent

the settlement request within 30 days of receiving the maximum
medical improvement (MMI) report. More importantly, the state
agencies we reviewed assert and our testing demonstrates that

the amount of time State Fund provides agencies to review the
settlement request is not meeting the needs of the agencies that
receive services from State Fund. As we state on page 29, our testing
found that State Fund did not provide agencies with at least 30 days
to respond to many settlement requests, which limited the agencies’
ability to delegate the authority necessary to effectively resolve
claims during settlement conferences.

State Fund’s claims compliance director clarified in subsequent
correspondence that State Fund does not intend to implement the
recommendation. Rather, she indicated that State Fund will assess
how well it is meeting the guideline and implement any changes by
May 2020.

We acknowledge State Fund’s perspective that there is a degree of
uncertainty in estimating the cost of workers’ compensation claims,
as we state on page 17 and further discuss throughout the report
when describing the various factors associated with settlement
alternatives. In addition, as State Fund notes, the amount of such
reserves is not known with certainty until the claim is resolved.
However, this uncertainty also encompasses the possibility of costs
being greater than or less than the estimated incurred cost we

used to develop our estimates. Based on the significant difference
between the estimated costs and the cost of insurance purchased
by these agencies, we stand by our conclusion that the State could
save significant amounts by using the master agreement rather than
purchasing insurance.
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