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Dear Governor and Legislative Leaders:

The California State Auditor’s Office aims to provide oversight and to ensure the accountability of 
government operations. As such, my office conducts independent audits as mandated by the Legislature 
through statute or the budget process, or through requests directed by the Joint Legislative Audit 
Committee.While our recommendations are typically directed to the agencies we audit, we also make 
recommendations for the Legislature to consider in the interest of more efficient and effective government 
operations. This special report summarizes those recommendations we made during 2013 and 2014 for the 
Legislature to consider.

In this special report, we include recommendations that will assist the State in enhancing state revenue 
or recovering costs. For example, we found that long‑standing shortcomings with the Department of 
Toxic Substances Control’s recovery of cleanup costs have resulted in nearly $142 million in unbilled 
costs and almost $52 million in costs that were billed but uncollected. In order to allow the department to 
more effectively recover costs, we recommend that the Legislature consider amending state law to allow 
the department to use a higher interest rate for late payments and give the department the authority to 
require financial information from potentially responsible parties.

In some instances, we make recommendations intended to enhance the safety of California’s citizens. For 
example, our audit of the handling of sexual harassment and sexual violence incidents at four California 
universities highlighted that universities do not ensure that all faculty and staff are sufficiently trained 
on responding to and reporting these incidents to appropriate officials, and universities must do more to 
properly educate students on sexual harassment and sexual violence. We recommend that the Legislature 
amend state law to require universities to train all of their employees annually on their obligations in 
responding to and reporting incidents of sexual harassment and sexual violence involving students. 
Additionally, we recommend that state law be amended to expressly require that incoming students be 
provided education on sexual harassment and sexual violence as close as possible to when they arrive 
on campus but no later than the first few weeks of their first semester or quarter.

The Appendix that begins on page 39 includes a listing of legislation chaptered or vetoed during the 
second half of the 2013–14 Regular Legislative Session that was related to the subject matter discussed 
in our audit reports.

If you would like more information or assistance regarding any of the recommendations or the 
background provided in this report, please contact Paul Navarro, Chief of Legislative and Governmental 
Affairs, at (916) 445‑0255.

Respectfully submitted,

ELAINE M. HOWLE, CPA  
State Auditor
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State Athletic Commission
Improve Broadcast Revenue Collection and Oversight of the 
Neurological Account and Address Administrative Deficiencies

Recommendations
1.	 To ensure that it accurately collects revenue, the State Athletic Commission (commission) 

should seek legislation, with the assistance of the Department of Consumer Affairs 
(Consumer Affairs), that requires promoters to submit their broadcast contracts and 
authorizes the commission to impose penalties on those promoters who refuse to submit 
these contracts. 

Status: Partially implemented. Senate Bill 309 (Chapter 370, Statutes of 2013) raises the 
maximum broadcasting fee collected by the commission from $25,000 to $35,000.

2.	 To ensure that it uses the Neurological Examination Account (neurological account) as the 
Legislature intended, the commission needs to conduct a thorough analysis that identifies 
the average cost of neurological examinations and the number of athletes whom it licenses. 
If, after performing such an analysis, the commission determines that it cannot comply 
with the law as it is currently written, it needs to work with Consumer Affairs’ legal counsel 
and the Legislature to determine a reasonable alternative use of the neurological account.

Status: Implemented. Senate Bill 309 (Chapter 370, Statutes of 2013) extends the 
sunset date for the commission to the end of 2015. Among other provisions, this 
bill also requires the commission to use no more than 30 percent of moneys from 
the neurological account to fund special neurological examinations and limits the 
administrative costs associated with managing and distributing the account to no more 
than 20 percent of the prior year’s contributions.

3.	 If the commission fails to implement an action plan it develops to prioritize and resolve its 
most significant deficiencies by the time frame specified, the Legislature should consider 
transferring the commission’s responsibilities to Consumer Affairs.

Status: Not implemented.

Background
The commission is one of 40 regulatory boards, committees, and bureaus within Consumer 
Affairs, and has various responsibilities, including setting standards for amateur and 
professional boxing, kickboxing, and mixed martial arts, and issuing licenses to promoters, 
managers, referees, trainers, and athletes. However, its primary duty is to protect the health 
and safety of athletes by regulating approximately 200 combat events annually. 

The commission’s revenues are generally derived from taxes, assessments, and fees collected 
from the events it regulates. However, because the commission has inconsistently adhered to 
its regulations and processes, it cannot ensure that it has correctly calculated and collected 
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ticket assessments and other sources of revenue. In several cases, however, we could not 
determine if the commission collected the correct amount of revenue because commission 
staff did not obtain or retain the critical information necessary. 

For instance, the commission did not collect or retain copies of the broadcast contract for any 
of the eight events we reviewed where such contracts were applicable. Broadcast contracts 
are required to state the amount promoters receive for selling, leasing, or transferring the 
broadcasting and television rights to radio stations or television networks. State law requires 
the commission to collect 5 percent of the total value of any such broadcast contracts from 
promoters, up to a maximum of $25,000. Given that these contracts could be for significant 
amounts, the existing maximum fee may fall far short of reflecting 5 percent of current 
broadcast contracts. Legislation requiring promoters to submit broadcast contracts and 
imposing penalties on promoters who refuse to provide the contracts would allow the 
commission to determine whether the $25,000 fee on broadcast contracts is adequate or needs 
to be increased.  

The commission has also failed to adequately administer its neurological account, which the 
Legislature established in 1986 to pay for neurological examinations that might detect physical 
conditions that could place athletes at risk for serious or permanent injury. Although the fund 
balance in the neurological account reached $712,000 as of June 30, 2012, the commission has 
not used the account to pay for examinations since at least 1998, stating that it could not do so 
because of the excessive cost of the examinations. Instead, it has used the neurological account 
only to pay for state operations, such as a portion of the salary and benefits of the staff person 
who is responsible for verifying the accuracy of the neurological assessment calculation. The 
commission is considering requesting legislation that would change its responsibilities related 
to paying for these examinations. However, until the Legislature makes such a change, the 
commission is failing to use the funds to fulfill the intent of the law.

Moreover, over the past 10 years, a number of audits and reviews have noted serious 
deficiencies in the commission’s administration, yet the commission has consistently failed 
to address these issues. This calls into question whether the commission will promptly and 
adequately address the serious concerns we raise in our report. If the commission, with the 
assistance of Consumer Affairs, is able to develop and follow a plan to correct the issues 
we have noted, it may be able to demonstrate that it can operate effectively. However, if the 
commission is unable to make significant improvements within a specified time frame, we 
believe the Legislature should consider transferring the commission’s responsibilities to 
Consumer Affairs.

Report
2012-117 State Athletic Commission: Its Ongoing Administrative Struggles Call Its Future Into 
Question (March 2013)

State Athletic Commission



3California State Auditor Report 2014-701

January 2015
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
Improve the State’s Ability to Protect the Public Through Effective 
Regulation of Postsecondary Institutions

Recommendation
To address ongoing issues at the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (bureau) and 
improve the State’s ability to protect the public through effective regulation of postsecondary 
educational institutions (institutions), the Legislature may want to consider the following 
options for regulating private postsecondary education:

•	 Continue the bureau in its current form but increase the level of oversight it receives from 
the California Department of Consumer Affairs (Consumer Affairs) and the Legislature.

•	 Reduce the bureau’s responsibilities by reassigning some of them to other entities in 
Consumer Affairs.

•	 Transfer the powers and duties set forth in the California Private Postsecondary 
Education Act of 2009 (act) from the director of Consumer Affairs to another state entity 
or entities. 

Status: Not implemented.

Note: The following legislation addressing issues related to the audit was enacted during 
the 2013–14 Regular Legislative Session:

Senate Bill 1247 (Lieu, Chapter 840, Statutes of 2014) requires the bureau, beginning 
July 1, 2015, to (1) contract with the Office of the Attorney General or other appropriate 
state agency to establish a process for bureau staff to be trained to investigate complaints 
filed with the bureau; (2) post specified information on its Web site; (3) establish a task force 
to identify standards for specified educational and training programs and provide a report 
to the Legislature regarding its work; and (4) adopt minimum operating standards for an 
institution that ensure, among other things, that an institution offering a degree is or plans 
to become accredited. The bill also requires the bureau to submit a report to the Legislature, 
on or before March 15, 2015, relating to an independent review of its staffing resources needs 
and requirements.

Background
One of 40 regulatory entities within the Consumer Affairs, the bureau has been responsible 
for regulating private institutions in California since 2010. The long and troubled past of 
the entities that previously performed the same functions as the bureau have been well 
documented in reports by the California State Auditor and others. In fact, the problems 
these reports identified were so severe that a former governor vetoed a bill that would have 
extended the sunset date of the immediate predecessor to the bureau—the Bureau for Private 
and Postsecondary and Vocational Education—in 2007. Unfortunately, during our current 
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audit of the bureau, we found that many of the problems of the past persist today, four years 
after the Legislature reestablished the bureau to fill the regulatory void left by the sunset of 
its predecessor.

As of July 2013 the bureau regulated 1,047 institutions. Although its statutory responsibilities 
include licensing institutions, conducting inspections, and investigating complaints, it 
has struggled to meet these and other responsibilities designed to protect the public and 
students. The bureau has struggled to identify proactively and sanction effectively unlicensed 
institutions, thereby exposing the public to potential risk from institutions that operate 
illegally. The bureau has further placed the public at risk because it has performed compliance 
inspections for far fewer institutions than state law requires and it failed to identify 
violations during the inspections that it did perform. Moreover, the bureau failed to respond 
appropriately to complaints against institutions, even when students’ safety was allegedly 
at risk.

Report
2013-045 Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education: It Has Consistently Failed to Meet Its 
Responsibility to Protect the Public’s Interests (March 2014)

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
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California Department of Education
Clarify Migrant Education Program State Parent Council 
Open‑Meeting Requirements

Recommendation

To help the state parent council meet the State’s open-meeting requirements, the Legislature 
should consider whether it needs to clarify its intent as to which open-meeting law applies to 
the state parent council.

Status: Not implemented. 

Background
The migrant education program (migrant program) is a federally funded program that 
provides supplemental education services to California’s migrant children. Children can 
receive migrant program services if they or their parents or guardians are migrant workers in 
the agriculture or fishing industries and their families have moved in the last three years for 
the purpose of finding temporary or seasonal employment.

Federal law requires that each state operating a migrant program seek input from migrant 
parents regarding the content of the State’s program. State law also requires the California 
Department of Education (Education) to take steps to ensure effective parent involvement, 
including the establishment of a state parent council comprised of members who are 
knowledgeable of the needs of migrant children. State law requires the council to meet 
a minimum of six times a year to provide input on issues relating to the operation of the 
migrant program.

In 2011 Education conducted a review of the state parent council’s activities and found that 
the council frequently violated open‑meeting requirements by making changes to posted 
agendas, failing to follow the agenda during meetings, voting on items that did not appear on 
the agenda, and failing to make a record of its meetings. Our review of Education’s Web site 
logs showed that for three recent meetings, each of the agendas was posted at least 72 hours in 
advance of the meeting. This practice complies with one of the State’s open‑meeting laws—the 
Greene Act—which Education believes applies to the state parent council.

Our legal counsel has advised that while a strict reading of the law suggests that the 
Greene Act applies, it is unclear whether the Legislature intended that the Greene Act apply to 
this statewide body. Our legal counsel further advised that it is reasonable to conclude that the 
state open‑meeting law that applies to the state parent council is the Bagley‑Keene Act, which 
requires all meetings held by a state body to be open and public and noticed on the Internet 
10 days in advance of the meeting.

Report
2012-044 California Department of Education: Despite Some Improvements, Oversight of the 
Migrant Education Program Remains Inadequate (February 2013)
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School Safety and Nondiscrimination Laws
Require Education to Report to the Legislature On Appeal Process 
Improvements and Align State Law With Key Components of Federal 
Bullying Policies 

Recommendations

1.	 By spring 2014 the Legislature should require the California Department of Education 
(Education) to report to the Senate and Assembly Budget subcommittees on what actions 
it has taken to improve its processing of appeals, so that the Legislature can consider 
redirecting existing resources through the annual budget process or taking other actions 
necessary to ensure that the review of appeals is prioritized.

Status: Not implemented. 

2.	 The Legislature should consider amending state law to ensure that it aligns with the key 
components related to school safety that the United States Department of Education 
(U.S. DOE) has identified. Specifically, the Legislature should consider amending the 
Education Code to provide that protected characteristics need not be present for an act to 
be considered bullying, require a collaborative process for the development of anti-bullying 
policies, require local education agencies (LEAs) to provide bullying prevention training 
for all school staff, and require LEAs to report all incidences of bullying annually and the 
responses taken. If the Legislature adds training requirements to the Education Code, it 
should consider modeling those requirements on the provisions in Massachusetts law.

Status: Not implemented. 

Note: The following legislation addressing issues related to the audit was enacted during the 
second year of the 2013–14 Regular Legislative Session:

Assembly Bill 1455 (Campos, Chapter 229, Statutes of 2014) expressly authorizes the 
superintendent of a school district or the principal of a school to refer a victim of, witness 
to, or other pupil affected by, an act of bullying committed on or after January 1, 2015, to 
the school counselor, psychologist, social worker, child welfare attendance personnel, or other 
school support service personnel for case management, counseling, and participation in a 
restorative justice program.



California State Auditor Report 2014-701

January 2015
8

School Safety and Nondiscrimination Laws

Assembly Bill 1993 (Fox, Chapter 418, Statutes of 2014) requires Education to develop 
an online training module to assist all school staff, school administrators, parents, pupils, 
and community members in increasing their knowledge of the dynamics of bullying 
and cyberbullying.

Background
School safety is a serious problem that has received widespread national attention. Specifically, 
bullying in schools has become widely viewed as an urgent social, health, and education 
concern that has moved to the forefront of public debate on school legislation and policy, 
according to the U.S. DOE.

Under various federal and state laws, public schools have an obligation to provide students 
equal educational opportunity by combating racism, sexism, and other forms of bias in 
schools. The California Safe Place to Learn Act (act)—established in 2008 and amended 
in 2012—reinforced these federal and state protections by requiring Education to assess 
whether LEAs have adopted policies in compliance with the law to address this act, among 
other requirements. In a 2011 report, U.S. DOE identified key components of anti-bullying 
legislation that states can implement. We found that California laws differ from the U.S. DOE 
examples in several instances; therefore, the State could benefit from including these missing 
components in law.

We also found that, although most LEAs have implemented policies and programs to comply 
with recent changes to state law regarding discrimination, harassment, intimidation, and 
bullying, most do not evaluate the effectiveness of their school safety practices. Additionally, 
although Education has access to statewide data that it could use to evaluate the effectiveness 
of LEAs’ efforts to prevent and respond to these acts, it does not evaluate those data, citing a 
lack of funding and staffing. Moreover, our review found that Education needs to better fulfill 
its leadership responsibilities under California law in the area of school safety. 

Report
2012-108 School Safety and Nondiscrimination Laws: Most Local Educational Agencies Do 
Not Evaluate the Effectiveness of Their Programs, and the State Should Exercise Stronger 
Leadership (August 2013) 
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Office of the Secretary of State
Modify Drivers License Applications to Conform With Motor Voter 
Requirements and Ensure That the Office of the Secretary of State 
Has Statutory Authority to Designate Voter Registration Agencies

Recommendation

To ensure that the Office of the Secretary of State (Office) has the authority to designate 
voter registration agencies under the National Voter Registration Act of 1993 (NVRA), the 
Legislature should expressly define who may make such designations.

Status: Not implemented.

Background

The NVRA is commonly referred to as the “Motor Voter” law. A principal component of the 
NVRA is a provision that voters be able to register to vote at local California Department 
of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offices. It also requires the State to designate as voter registration 
agencies all public agencies that provide public assistance, as well as all agencies that 
provide state‑funded programs that primarily assist persons with disabilities. States must 
also designate additional voter registration entities but have discretion as to which entities 
to designate. Examples of voter registration agencies include county welfare offices, which 
accept applications and administer benefits for Medi‑Cal; Temporary Assistance for 
Needy Families; and Women, Infants and Children programs.

Our review of the State’s implementation of the NVRA found that a key component of this 
law is the requirement that an application submitted for a driver’s license simultaneously serve 
as an application to register to vote for an eligible citizen. However, our visits to some DMV 
offices in Sacramento found that the driver’s license application does not act as a simultaneous 
application for voter registration. Instead, applicants for a driver’s license complete a driver’s 
license application form and receive a separate voter registration card.

Additionally, our audit found that although the State may have met the minimum 
requirements for designating voter registration agencies under the NVRA, it should designate 
more agencies. For example, as an unemployment compensation office, the California 
Employment Development Department plays an important service role and could serve 
as a voter registration agency. Also, the State could designate other state departments and 
agencies as well as county‑ and city‑based entities that have significant interaction with the 
public. These additional designations could, in our view, further increase the rates of voter 
registration in California.

Report

2012‑112 Office of the Secretary of State: It Must Do More to Ensure Funds Provided Under the 
Federal Help America Vote Act Are Spent Effectively (August 2013) 
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California Department of Toxic Substances Control

California Department of Toxic Substances Control
Allow the Department to Use a Higher Interest Rate for Late 
Payments and Require Financial Information From Potentially 
Responsible Parties

Recommendations

1. To improve the California Department of Toxic Substances Control’s (department) 
efforts to recover its costs promptly, the Legislature should revise state law to allow 
the department to use a higher interest rate for late payments. For example, the 
department could be allowed to use an interest rate similar to that used by the Board of 
Equalization (BOE).

Status: Not implemented.

2. To improve its ability to more effectively recover costs, the Legislature should give 
the department the authority to require financial information from potentially 
responsible parties.

Status: Not implemented.

Background

State law provides the department with the authority, procedures, and standards to 
investigate, remove, and remediate contamination at sites; to issue and enforce a removal or 
remedial action order to any responsible party; and to impose administrative or civil penalties 
for noncompliance with an order. Federal and state law also authorizes the department to 
recover costs and expenses it incurs in carrying out these activities.

However, long-standing shortcomings with the department’s recovery of costs have 
resulted in unbilled and billed but uncollected cleanup costs incurred between July 1987 
and December 2013. As of March 2014 the department has 1,661 projects totaling almost 
$194 million in outstanding costs. Nearly $142 million was unbilled and almost $52 million 
was billed but uncollected. 

The department uses various methods to facilitate its recovery of cleanup costs associated 
with contaminated sites, such as entering into payment plans with the responsible 
parties or working with the California Office of the Attorney General to pursue litigation. 
However, the department has not consistently used some of these methods to ensure that 
it maximizes the recovery of costs from responsible parties. Additionally, state law requires 
the department to charge interest for invoices not paid within 60 days at a rate equal to the 
rate of return earned on investments in the State’s Surplus Money Investment Fund (SMIF). 
However, the SMIF interest rate is substantially lower than the interest rate charged for 
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late payments by other state entities, such as the BOE. Increasing the interest rate charged 
on billed but delinquent unpaid amounts may improve the timeliness of collections from 
responsible parties.

The department is also limited in its ability to recover costs effectively because it lacks the 
authority to require a potentially responsible party to provide information related to the 
financial ability to pay cleanup costs. Having the authority to compel parties to submit 
pertinent financial information would allow the department to identify those potentially 
responsible parties who genuinely lack the ability to pay for cleanup and no longer require the 
department to first sue these parties to obtain financial information. The ability to require this 
type of information could better inform the department’s decision making about whether 
to file cost recovery actions because it could better differentiate between parties capable of 
paying for cleanup costs, thus increasing the department’s ability to recover costs effectively.

Report

2013-122 California Department of Toxic Substances Control: Its Lack of Diligence in Cost 
Recovery Has Contributed to Millions in Unbilled and Uncollected Costs (August 2014)

California Department of Toxic Substances Control
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California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery

California Department of Resources Recycling 
and Recovery
Enact Statutory Changes That Increase Revenue and/or Reduce Costs

Recommendation

To better ensure the Beverage Container Recycling Program (beverage program) is financially 
sustainable, the Legislature should consider enacting statutory changes that increase revenue, 
reduce costs, or a combination of both.

Status: Not implemented.

Background

The beverage program, created in 1986 by the California Beverage Container Recycling and 
Litter Reduction Act (act), is intended to encourage and increase consumer recycling: it has a 
goal of recycling 80 percent of the qualified beverage containers sold in California. Beverage 
distributors are required to make a redemption payment to the Beverage Container Recycling 
Fund for every qualified beverage container sold or offered for sale in the State. The California 
Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) is responsible for enforcing 
and administering the act. Because not all beverage containers are recycled—CalRecycle 
reported that 85 percent of the containers sold in the State were recycled in 2013—funds 
not used to ultimately pay consumers are used instead to support the beverage program’s 
operational costs as well as other expenses mandated in state law.

The principal source of revenue comes into the beverage program through redemption 
payments beverage distributors make based on the number of beverages sold or offered for 
sale in the State. The beverage program can become financially unstable once recycling rates 
become too high and required recycling refund payments—those paid to consumers when 
they recycle their empty beverage containers—and other statutorily mandated payments 
cannot both be satisfied. In 2013 CalRecycle reported recycling rates were at 85 percent and 
had increased beyond what it calls its “break‑even” point—currently a 75 percent recycling 
rate; based on that recycling rate, the revenue collected from beverage distributors is no 
longer adequate to cover the recycling refund payments and other mandated spending. Based 
on the recent financial condition of the beverage program—where combined expenditures 
exceeded combined revenues by $100 million in three of the last four fiscal years—immediate 
action is needed to ensure the continued viability of the beverage program. A variety of 
revenue enhancements and expenditure reductions are available that the Legislature may want 
to consider.

Report

2014-110 California Department of Resources Recycling and Recovery: The Beverage Container 
Recycling Program Continues to Face Deficits and Requires Changes to Become Financially 
Sustainable (November 2014)
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Accounts Outside the State’s Centralized 
Treasury System
Expand Information in Controller’s Reports on Outside Accounts and 
Specify Appropriate Use of Cost Recovery Revenues

Recommendations

1. For the State to better monitor outside accounts, the Legislature should consider requiring 
the California State Controller (state controller) to expand its reporting on bank accounts 
outside the Centralized Treasury System (treasury system) to include information on 
accounts opened during the last fiscal year. Reported details should include the authority, 
name, and balance of the new outside accounts.

Status: Implemented. Assembly Bill 1583 (Allen, Chapter 230, Statutes of 2014) 
requires the state controller to include the following information on bank accounts 
and savings and loan association accounts outside the treasury system in the 
budgetary‑legal basis annual report, submitted pursuant to existing statute: (1) the 
name of the account, (2) the source of authorization for establishing the account, and 
(3) the account balance. The bill also requires a state agency that receives revenues 
for state costs under a cost recovery statute to account for those revenues to the state 
controller for deposit into the State Treasury.

2. To ensure that state agencies do not misdirect cost recovery revenues in the future, the 
Legislature should specify that these revenues include any money received as a result 
of cost recovery efforts, and should require that these revenues be deposited in the 
state treasury.

Status: Partially implemented. Senate Bill 1075 (Knight, Chapter 250, Statutes of 2014) 
requires any moneys recovered by the California Department of Forestry and Fire 
Protection (Cal Fire) for fire suppression costs incurred in fighting a fire to be deposited 
by Cal Fire into the Treasury. The bill also requires Cal Fire to make an annual report to 
the Legislature regarding any fire suppression moneys recovered in a civil action, and 
requires all moneys in the Civil Cost Recovery Investigation Support Account to be 
immediately transferred to the State’s General Fund.

Background

Money in the possession or control of the State is held either in accounts in banks that have an 
agreement with the Office of the State Treasurer (state treasurer) to participate in the treasury 
system or in bank accounts outside the treasury system (outside accounts). The California 
Department of Finance (Finance), the state controller, and the state treasurer make up the 
organizations with statewide oversight responsibilities affecting money in the treasury system 
and contribute to safeguarding the State’s assets by performing a variety of activities, including 
overseeing revenue and disbursement cycles for funds in the treasury system.
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The state controller’s responsibilities include accounting for state funds, ensuring the 
accuracy and legitimacy of disbursements from the treasury system, and reporting on the 
State’s financial condition. California law requires the state controller to submit a report to 
the governor, called the Budgetary/Legal Basis Annual Report, which contains a statement 
of the funds of the State, state revenues, and public expenditures of the preceding fiscal year. 
This report also includes a schedule listing those accounts held outside the treasury system.

Funds in outside accounts generally serve valid purposes, such as safeguarding money held 
in trust and most of the money in outside accounts is held by agencies that have express 
statutory authority or are authorized by Finance to do so. Additionally, statutory authority 
allows state agencies to seek approval from Finance to open outside accounts that have 
benefits and efficiencies not available through the treasury system, such as the ability to 
process credit card receipts. 

Fortunately, state agencies have generally complied with state requirements for establishing 
outside accounts. However, although the state agencies we tested during our audit generally 
have adequate controls over outside accounts, an agency may still bypass state rules as well 
as its own policies. For instance, Cal Fire had $3.7 million in settlement payments for the 
cost of fire suppression and investigation (cost recovery revenues) deposited into an outside 
account—the Wildland Fire and Investigation Training and Equipment Fund (Wildland Fire 
Fund)—that was neither authorized by statute nor approved by Finance. Further, it did not 
subject the money in this outside account to its own internal controls, nor did it track or 
monitor the account’s revenues adequately.

California law allows public agencies, such as Cal Fire, to recover the costs they incur, such 
as costs related to suppression of a fire resulting from negligence or a violation of law. In 
May 2005 the deputy chief of Cal Fire’s law enforcement unit executed a memorandum of 
agreement with the California District Attorneys Association requiring the association to 
establish and manage the Wildland Fire Fund, and receive administrative fees amounting 
to 3 percent of all cost recovery revenues deposited into the fund and 15 percent of all 
disbursements made from the fund. In executing this agreement, Cal Fire’s law enforcement 
unit circumvented accounting and budgeting processes for establishing accounts and 
obtaining program funding. As a result, expenditures of cost recovery revenues that Cal Fire 
directed into the Wildland Fire Fund were not subject to essential state fiscal controls and 
legislative oversight.

Report

2013-107 Accounts Outside the State’s Centralized Treasury System: Processes Exist to 
Safeguard Money, but Controls for These Accounts Need Strengthening (October 2013)

Accounts Outside the State’s Centralized Treasury System



17California State Auditor Report 2014-701

January 2015
High Risk Update

High Risk Update
Clarify the Statute of Limitations for Recovering the Overpayment of 
Leave Credits

Recommendation

The Legislature should amend state law to clarify the statute of limitations for recovering the 
overpayment of leave credits. For example, it could require state agencies to provide notice 
to the employee that he or she was inappropriately credited leave hours within three years 
from the date the employee was credited the hours or three years from the date the employee 
separated from state service and, in instances of fraud, three years from the date the State 
discovered the fraud.

Status: Not implemented.

Background

State agencies have credited their employees with millions of dollars worth of unearned leave 
because the State has weak controls over its accounting of employees’ leave records. The 
California State Auditor performed a statewide electronic analysis of the leave accounting 
system maintained by the State Controller’s Office and found that state agencies credited 
employees with roughly 197,000 hours of unearned leave between January 2008 and 
December 2012. As of December 2013 the value of these erroneous leave hours was nearly 
$6.4 million, an amount that will likely increase over time as employees receive raises 
or promotions. These errors also include nearly 16,000 hours of sick leave, which state 
employees can convert to state service credit when they retire, ultimately increasing the State’s 
pension payments.

Additionally, unclear guidance in state law puts the State at risk of additional costs. 
Specifically, state agencies must initiate collection efforts on overpayments within three 
years from the date of overpayment. However, state law does not explicitly define when an 
overpayment occurs. Because of the absence of clear statutory language, in the event of 
litigation the State is at risk of not recovering the funds that represent inappropriately credited 
leave hours.

Report

2012‑603 High Risk Update: State Agencies Credited Their Employees With Millions of Dollars 
Worth of Unearned Leave (August 2014)
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California State University’s Extended Education
Clarify Statutory Definition of Supplanting and Require Each 
CSU Campus to Measure Whether Supplanting Is Occurring 

Recommendation

To provide sufficient direction to the California State University (CSU) Office of the 
Chancellor (Chancellor’s Office) and CSU campuses regarding the supplanting of 
state‑supported courses or programs by self-supported courses or programs, the Legislature 
should enact clarifying statutory language during the 2014 legislative session that includes 
a definition of the term supplant and a description of how CSU should measure whether 
supplanting is occurring. The clarifying language should also require each CSU campus to take 
all reasonable steps to ensure that when it makes course or program offering decisions, those 
decisions do not force students who are attempting to earn a degree to take self-supported 
courses that are required as a condition of degree completion. 

Status: Not implemented.

Background

The CSU is a system of 23 campuses located throughout California. The State appropriates 
money in the annual budget from the State’s General Fund to the CSU to provide higher 
education. CSU in turn allocates that money to the campuses to provide state-supported 
courses and programs, which make up the majority of courses and programs CSU offers. 
In addition, CSU campuses offer extended education courses and programs that must be 
self-supported; students or third parties, such as employers, typically pay for these courses 
and programs. Although CSU does not have an explicit definition of extended education, 
according to a 2002 executive order issued by the Chancellor’s Office, extended education 
programs include all self-supported instructional programs designed and used to provide 
increased access to the educational resources of the system and to otherwise facilitate use of 
those resources.

The California Education Code and executive orders issued by the Chancellor’s Office prohibit 
CSU campuses from “supplanting” state-supported courses offered during the regular 
academic year with self-supported courses. One apparent purpose of this prohibition is to 
ensure that CSU campuses do not reclassify state-supported courses as self-supported courses 
to increase the fees they charge to students. However, state law and Chancellor’s Office policy 
do not define the word supplant, and the term can be interpreted in more than one way. Until 
the Legislature and CSU define supplanting and direct all CSU campuses to establish a method 
for tracking and evaluating the movement between state-supported and self‑supported 
courses and course sections, any instances of supplanting will remain unclear.

Report

2012-113 California State University’s Extended Education: It Is Unclear Whether Supplanting 
Occurred, and Campuses Did Not Always Document Their Adherence to Laws, Policies, and 
Procedures (December 2013)
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Sexual Harassment and Sexual Violence
Require Universities to Annually Train Employees on and Provide 
Information to Students About Sexual Harassment and Sexual 
Violence Prevention

Recommendations

1. To ensure that all universities provide sufficient training, the Legislature should amend state 
law to require universities to train all of their employees annually, consistent with their role, 
on their obligations in responding to and reporting incidents of sexual harassment and 
sexual violence involving students.

Status: Not implemented.

2. To ensure that students are provided the education at the most ideal time, the Legislature 
should amend state law to expressly require that incoming students be provided education 
on sexual harassment and sexual violence as close as possible to when they arrive on 
campus but no later than the first few weeks of their first semester or quarter.

Status: Not implemented.

3. To ensure that all students are reminded of and know how to access their university’s sexual 
harassment policies, the Legislature should amend state law to require universities to 
provide this information in additional prominent locations frequented by students, such 
as residence halls and other university housing and athletic facilities. Further, to reflect 
evolving technology, the Legislature should consider the most effective means of providing 
this information to students and that it may not be effective to post the policy in its entirety. 
An alternative would be to post summary information that explains how students can 
access the full policy.

Status: Not implemented.

Note: The following legislation addressing issues related to the audit was enacted during 
the 2013–14 Regular Legislative Session:

Assembly Bill 1433 (Gatto, Chapter 798, Statutes of 2014) requires any report of specified 
violent crimes, sexual assault, or hate crimes received by a campus law enforcement agency to 
be immediately reported to the appropriate local law enforcement agency without identifying 
the victim unless the victim consents. This bill also requires, as a condition for participation 
in the Cal Grant Program, the governing board of each community college district, the Trustees 
of the California State University (CSU Trustees), the Regents of the University of California 
(UC Regents), and the governing board of each private and independent postsecondary 
institution, on or before July 1, 2015, to adopt and implement written policies and procedures to 
ensure that any report of specified violent crimes, sexual assault, or hate crimes, committed on 
or off campus, received by any employee and made by the victim, is immediately forwarded to 
the appropriate law enforcement agency.
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Sexual Harassment and Sexual Violence

Senate Bill 967 (DeLeón, Chapter 748, Statutes of 2014) requires, as a condition for receiving 
state funds for student financial assistance, the governing boards of each community college 
district, CSU Trustees, and the UC Regents to adopt policies concerning sexual assault, 
domestic violence, dating violence and stalking, including an affirmative consent standard in 
the determination of whether consent was given by a complainant. 

Background

Sexual harassment and sexual violence are forms of discrimination prohibited by Title IX of 
the Education Amendments of 1972 (Title IX). The issue of sexual violence was highlighted 
in January 2014 when the president of the United States announced the creation of a 
White House task force to develop a coordinated federal response to campus rape and sexual 
assault. The task force issued its initial report in April 2014. In May 2014 the U.S. Department 
of Education published a list of 55 universities, including the University of California, Berkeley 
(UC Berkeley), that it is investigating for their handling of sexual violence complaints.

The California State Auditor (state auditor) reviewed four universities—UC Berkeley; 
University of California, Los Angeles; California State University, Chico; and San Diego 
State University—and found that they do not ensure that all faculty and staff are sufficiently 
trained on responding to and reporting student incidents of sexual harassment and sexual 
violence to appropriate officials. In addition, although the Title IX coordinators and staff 
involved in key roles of the incident‑reporting process receive adequate training, certain 
other university employees who are likely to be the first point of contact, such as resident 
advisors and athletic coaches, are not sufficiently trained on responding to and reporting 
these incidents. By not ensuring that all university employees are adequately and routinely 
trained on responding to and reporting incidents of sexual harassment and sexual violence, 
and by not providing practical information on how to identify incidents, universities risk 
having their employees mishandle student reports of the incidents. Further, when they are not 
sufficiently trained, employees may not know how to interact appropriately with students in 
these situations and may do something that would discourage students from engaging in the 
reporting process.

In addition, the universities must do more to appropriately educate students on sexual 
harassment and sexual violence. State law requires universities within the CSU system and 
requests those within the UC system to provide educational and preventive information about 
sexual violence to all incoming students as part of established campus orientations, although it 
does not specify exactly when new student orientations must occur. The state auditor believes 
that the universities should provide this education to incoming students near the time that 
they arrive on campus, as they may be the most vulnerable to experiencing an incident of 
sexual harassment or sexual violence in their first weeks on campus. Additionally, universities 
should ensure that all continuing students receive periodic refresher training, at least annually, 
on this subject. The audit also noted that the content of the education did not always cover 
the topics outlined in statute. Finally, the universities did not post relevant policies in certain 
places on campus where they might be seen by large numbers of students.

Report

2013‑124 Sexual Harassment and Sexual Violence: California Universities Must Better Protect 
Students by Doing More to Prevent, Respond to, and Resolve Incidents (June 2014)
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Employment Development Department
Authorize the Department to Share Database Information With 
Law Enforcement

Recommendation

To help protect the State’s citizens from identity theft, the Legislature should expressly 
authorize the Employment Development Department (department), on its own initiative, to 
share information from the Base Wage File with appropriate law enforcement officials when 
evidence exists of the potential misuse of Social Security numbers. If the department receives 
such legal authority, it should, at least annually, review the Base Wage File for associations of 
multiple names with a single Social Security number. The department should also establish 
a reasonable threshold for the number of associated names that will trigger further scrutiny 
from the department or referral to law enforcement.

Status: Not implemented.

Background

The department’s Workforce Services Branch assists Californians, including veterans, with 
finding employment. Funding for this work comes from the U.S. Department of Labor 
(Labor) via the Workforce Investment Act of 1998 (WIA) and the Wagner‑Peyser Act of 1933 
(Wagner‑Peyser). Additionally, the Jobs for Veterans State Grant (veterans grant) provides 
funding for specialized staff to assist veterans in finding work and to conduct outreach to 
employers on behalf of veterans. Although all veterans receive priority for workforce services 
offered through the WIA and Wagner‑Peyser, the veterans grant focuses on providing 
services to disabled and economically disadvantaged veterans.

Our audit found that the poor quality of the data California uses to report information 
to Labor on participants in its workforce development system, and the methodology 
the department uses to collate those data, call into question the validity of California’s 
performance statistics. California provides information to Labor from its Base Wage File—
which tracks total wages paid to individuals in California—which Labor uses to assess the 
workforce development system. However, we noted more than 1,400 instances in the Base 
Wage File where a single Social Security number was associated with 10 or more different 
names in a single quarter, which could be a possible indicator of identity theft. 

The department asserts that state law prohibits it from sharing this information with other 
entities, such as law enforcement, that might investigate such cases unless the department 
receives a request from the affected entity. However, federal regulations state that disclosure 
of this information to a public official for use in the performance of his or her duties is 
permissible under certain circumstances. The department, as a state government entity, 
has a responsibility to the State’s citizens to provide information to law enforcement when 
the department reasonably suspects that individuals are reporting or otherwise using 
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Social Security numbers inappropriately. Unless it periodically reviews data in the Base Wage 
File and reports suspicious activity to the appropriate authorities, the department is missing 
an opportunity to thwart potential identity theft.

Report

2013‑102 Employment Development Department: It Needs to Address Data Issues to Better 
Evaluate and Improve the Performance of Its Employment Programs for Veterans (October 2013) 

Employment Development Department
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Indian Gaming Special Distribution Fund
Designate an Agency to Provide Oversight and Technical Assistance 
to the Benefit Committees

Recommendation

To improve compliance with state laws and provide technical assistance in administering 
the mitigation grant program, the Legislature should consider designating an agency such 
as the California Gambling Control Commission (gambling commission) or the Department 
of Justice (Justice) to provide oversight and technical assistance to the Indian gaming local 
community benefit committees (benefit committees).

Status: Not implemented.

Background

In its third examination of the allocation and expenditure of grants from the Indian Gaming 
Special Distribution Fund (distribution fund), the California State Auditor (state auditor) found 
that the benefit committees responsible for distributing these funds did not always comply with 
state laws for the distribution fund grants they awarded. The distribution fund uses money that 
some tribal casinos contribute under agreements known as gaming compacts between the tribes 
and the State to mitigate the impact of tribal gaming on local governments. State law requires that 
the benefit committees award mitigation grant funds for priorities such as law enforcement and 
fire protection, public health, and roads. In addition, it requires that if a project provides other 
benefits to the local jurisdiction, the mitigation grant funds pay only for the proportionate share 
of the project that mitigates the casino’s impact on that local jurisdiction.

However, the state auditor’s review of 12 grants that four counties—Butte, Lake, Riverside, and 
San Diego—awarded in fiscal years 2010–11 through 2012–13 found that benefit committees 
awarded nearly $1.7 million in funds for seven of these grants without sufficient documentation 
from the grant applicants. Specifically, either the applicants did not sufficiently demonstrate 
that their project mitigated the effect of Indian gaming or the requested funding did not 
represent a proportionate share of the costs attributable to casino impacts.

State law does not identify any agency responsible for conducting oversight of or providing 
technical assistance to the benefit committees. Instead, state law places responsibility 
for selecting grants with the benefit committees, and makes the counties responsible for 
administering grants. However, the benefit committees and counties lack definitive guidance 
and technical assistance, especially on issues where state law is silent. State oversight and 
technical assistance from an agency such as the gambling commission or Justice could improve 
benefit committees’ compliance with state laws for administering the mitigation grant program.

Report

2013‑036 Indian Gaming Special Distribution Fund: Counties’ Benefit Committees Did Not 
Always Comply With State Laws for Distribution Fund Grants (March 2014)
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Salton Sea Restoration Fund
Ensure That the Salton Sea Restoration Fund Feasibility Study Will 
Provide Meaningful and Timely Information

Recommendations

1. To ensure that the feasibility study it recently funded will provide it with meaningful and 
timely information, the Legislature should enact legislation that does the following: 

•	 Contains specific guidance to the California Natural Resources Agency (Resources 
Agency) regarding the Legislature’s priorities for restoring the Salton Sea so that the 
Resources Agency can address those priorities when developing the feasibility study.

•	 Provides a deadline for the completion of the feasibility study and submission of a 
restoration plan.

•	 Requires the feasibility study to analyze and include the extent to which restoration 
activities could lessen the State’s future financial obligations for mitigation under the 
Quantification Settlement Agreement (QSA).

•	 Once the Legislature has approved a restoration plan, it should hold a budget hearing 
to consider the appropriate funding mechanism.

Status: Not implemented.

2. The Legislature should designate the Resources Agency as the implementing entity 
responsible for coordinating the efforts of all entities involved in the restoration and 
mitigation activities for the Salton Sea.

Status: Not implemented.

Background

The Salton Sea, located in Riverside and Imperial counties in Southern California, is the 
State’s largest inland lake. The Salton Sea was formed in 1905 when Colorado River floodwater 
breached an irrigation canal being constructed in the Imperial Valley; it has since been 
primarily fed by agricultural drain water. Beginning in 2003, a series of agreements known 
collectively as the QSA, between the State, local water agencies, and other entities have 
required, among other things, a water transfer that has reduced the amount of water that flows 
into the Salton Sea.

Legislation enacted in 2003 to facilitate the implementation of the QSA requires the secretary 
of the Resources Agency, in consultation with other entities, to undertake an ecosystem 
restoration study to determine a preferred alternative for restoring the Salton Sea ecosystem 
and permanently protecting the wildlife dependent on it. This legislation details the financial 
responsibility the State assumes with respect to mitigation, and requires the formation of 
a joint powers authority consisting of the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (Fish 
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Salton Sea Restoration Fund

and Wildlife), the Coachella Valley Water District (Coachella), Imperial Irrigation District 
(Imperial), and the San Diego County Water Authority (San Diego), to implement and allocate 
mitigation responsibilities between local water agencies and the State. 

The QSA and related implementing legislation also require Imperial, Coachella, and San Diego 
to contribute a total of $30 million (in 2003 dollars) to the State for the restoration of the 
Salton Sea. The QSA and related implementing legislation refer to these contributions as 
the Salton Sea Restoration Limit. Restoration differs from mitigation in that it refers to actions 
intended to bring back something that previously existed, such as bird habitat, rather than 
actions intended to reduce or rectify a negative effect. 

Although the QSA and its implementing legislation establish the Salton Sea Restoration Limit, 
neither imposes any specific requirements on the State to restore the Salton Sea. However, 
the Legislature’s 2003 legislative package established the State’s broad goals for restoration. To 
achieve these objectives, the legislation enacted the Salton Sea Restoration Act, created the 
Salton Sea Restoration Fund (Restoration Fund), and established several funding sources.

In fiscal year 2013–14, the Legislature appropriated $2 million from the Restoration Fund 
for the Resources Agency to use in completing a feasibility study with the assistance of the 
Salton Sea Authority. The fiscal year 2013–14 Enacted Budget Summary states that under 
the direction of the Resources Agency, the authority will collaborate with state, federal, 
and local stakeholders to, among other things, develop feasible alternatives for inclusion 
in a comprehensive plan and options to achieve restoration goals. In addition to the fiscal 
year 2013–14 budget appropriation, recently enacted legislation specifies certain aspects 
of the feasibility study. However, we are concerned that this legislation does not provide 
adequate, specific direction to the Resources Agency and the authority to ensure that they 
complete the study in a timely manner and that the study’s content meets the needs of 
the Legislature.

Report

2013‑101 Salton Sea Restoration Fund: The State Has Not Fully Funded a Restoration Plan 
and the State’s Future Mitigation Costs Are Uncertain (November 2013)
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Antelope Valley Water Rates
Clarify the Level of Detail Contained in the Rate Increase Notice 
Required by Proposition 218

Recommendation

To provide guidance to local public agencies in implementing the Proposition 218 notice 
requirements, the Legislature should enact a statute that specifies the level of detail required 
to satisfy the requirement that the notice specify the basis upon which the amount of the 
proposed fee or charge was calculated.

Status: Not implemented.

Background

The Antelope Valley region occupies northeastern Los Angeles, southeastern Kern, and 
western San Bernardino counties, and its water customers are served, depending on location, 
by four main water utilities: Los Angeles County Waterworks, District 40, Palmdale Water 
District, Quartz Hill Water District (Quartz Hill), and California Water Service Company 
(Cal Water), and by several smaller utilities. Water rates differ considerably among these 
four water utilities. Although there are legal and other differences among the four water 
utilities, the primary explanation for the differences in rates and rate increases is the difference 
in the costs paid by each water utility.

Processes are in place to protect consumers from unreasonable rate increases, and each 
of the water utilities generally followed these processes. The investor utility reviewed by 
the California State Auditor, Cal Water, must file a general rate case every three years with 
the California Public Utilities Commission for review and approval before adjusting rates. 
Additionally, the three public utilities reviewed also must adhere to an approval process. 
Specifically, Proposition 218, a constitutional provision that limits the authority of local 
government agencies to impose property‑related assessments, fees, and charges, requires 
public utilities to provide parcel owners with written notice of any proposed rate increase at 
least 45 days in advance of a public hearing, and to explain the purpose for any increase.

However, although Quartz Hill included the basis for calculating its rate increase in this 
notice, we believe it could have included more detail for the basis of its fee methodology. 
The audit noted that the requirements for the level of detail contained in the notice could be 
clarified by the Legislature to provide further guidance to public utilities.

Report

2013‑126 Antelope Valley Water Rates: Various Factors Contribute to Differences Among 
Water Utilities (July 2014)

Antelope Valley Water Rates
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Sexual Assault Evidence Kits
Direct Law Enforcement Agencies to Report the Number of Sexual 
Assault Evidence Kits Collected and Tested and Require Testing 
of Sexual Assault Evidence Kits in All Cases Where the Assailant’s 
Identity Is Unknown

Recommendations

1. The Legislature should direct law enforcement agencies (agencies) to report to the 
Department of Justice (Justice) annually how many sexual assault evidence kits they 
collect and the number of kits they analyze each year. The Legislature should also direct 
agencies to report annually to Justice their reasons for not analyzing sexual assault 
evidence kits. The Legislature should require an annual report from Justice that details 
this information.

Status: Not implemented.

2. To ensure that agencies preserve the option to extend the statute of limitations in 
unknown assailant cases, the Legislature should require law enforcement agencies to 
submit sexual assault evidence kits to a crime lab for analysis in all cases where the 
identity of the assailant is unknown, and it should require the labs to complete analysis of 
those sexual assault evidence kits within two years of the date of the associated offense. 
The Legislature should exempt from this requirement all cases where victims specifically 
request that law enforcement not analyze their kit, as well as cases where investigators 
determine that no crime occurred.

Status: Not implemented.

Note: The following legislation addressing issues related to the audit was enacted during the 
2013–14 Regular Legislative Session:

Assembly Bill 1517 (Skinner, Chapter 874, Statutes of 2014) encourages a law enforcement 
agency in whose jurisdiction a sexual assault offense occurred to submit sexual assault forensic 
evidence received by the agency on or after January 1, 2016, to the crime lab within 20 days 
of the date it is booked into evidence, or ensure that a rapid turnaround DNA program is in 
place to submit sexual assault forensic evidence collected to the crime lab within five days 
after the evidence is obtained from the victim. The bill also encourages the crime lab to 
process that evidence, create DNA profiles when able, and upload qualifying DNA profiles 
into the Combined DNA Index System (CODIS) as soon as practically possible, but no later 
than 120 days after initially receiving the evidence, or to transmit the sexual assault forensic 
evidence to another crime lab as soon as practically possible, but no later than 30 days after 
initially receiving the evidence. 

Sexual Assault Evidence Kits
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Background

Victims of sexual assault can choose to provide the law enforcement agencies investigating 
their cases with biological evidence by undergoing a sexual assault examination. The evidence 
collected during this exam is stored in a sexual assault evidence kit, and local law enforcement 
keeps the kit as evidence in the investigation. The local law enforcement investigator 
(investigator) may request that a crime lab analyze the sexual assault evidence kit in hopes 
of finding the DNA profile for a suspect in the investigation. The lab can then upload the 
profile to the CODIS, a network of local, state, and federal databases that allows agencies to 
match DNA profiles against one another. Through this process, labs will sometimes obtain the 
name of a previously unknown suspect or match multiple cases where the suspect remains 
unknown. However, there is no state or federal law that requires agencies to request analysis 
of every sexual assault evidence kit. 

The California State Auditor reviewed three agencies—the Oakland Police Department, 
the San Diego Police Department, and the Sacramento County Sheriff ’s Department—and 
found that these agencies and their associated crime labs analyzed varied proportions of the 
sexual assault evidence kits they collected from 2011 through 2013, the period reviewed for 
this audit. The audit found that investigators at these agencies base their decisions about 
whether to request a kit analysis on the specific circumstances of an individual case, and 
reviewed 45 cases in which investigators did not request analysis. The audit did not identify 
any negative effects on the investigation of those cases that resulted from the decisions not to 
request analyses. However, the audit noted that investigators rarely documented the reasons 
they decided not to request an analysis. With documented reasons for the decisions, agencies 
would be able to clearly demonstrate to victims, policy makers, and other interested parties 
why they did not request such analyses.

A state‑run program has existed since 2011 that could provide more information about 
the benefits of analyzing all sexual assault evidence kits. According to the chief of Justice’s 
Bureau of Forensic Services, Justice’s Rapid DNA Service program tests every sexual assault 
evidence kit that hospitals collect in the nine counties that the program serves. However, 
Justice does not currently know the investigative outcomes for the cases associated with those 
kits such as the number of arrests or convictions. Such information would be valuable as the 
Legislature considers whether to require an increase in the number of sexual assault evidence 
kits analyzed in California. Additionally, no comprehensive information is currently available 
about the number of sexual assault evidence kits that local law enforcement agencies collect 
annually or how many of those kits are analyzed. Further, no comprehensive data exist about 
the reasons some sexual assault evidence kits in California are not analyzed. This information 
would also assist policy makers as they consider whether law enforcement agencies’ current 
approaches in this area need to change.

Report

2014-109 Sexual Assault Evidence Kits: Although Testing All Kits Could Benefit Sexual Assault 
Investigations, the Extent of the Benefit Is Unknown (October 2014)

Sexual Assault Evidence Kits
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Armed Persons With Mental Illness
Seek Legislation Regarding Appropriateness of Firearm Records 
Review Time Frame and Specify That All Mental Health‑Related 
Prohibiting Events Be Reported Within 24 Hours 

Recommendations

1. The Legislature should amend state law to specify that all mental health‑related 
prohibiting events must be reported to the Department of Justice (Justice) within 
24 hours regardless of the entity required to report.

Status: Partially implemented. Assembly Bill 1591 (Achadjian/Gray, Chapter 141, 
Statutes of 2014) requires a court to notify Justice of a court order finding a person to 
be a danger to others as a result of a mental disorder or illness, or adjudicated to be a 
mentally disordered sex offender as soon as possible, but not later than one court day 
after issuing the order. 

2. To ensure that its implementation of reviews of armed prohibited persons is 
consistent with state law, Justice should seek legislative change to confirm whether its 
practice of reviewing firearm records only back to 1996 is appropriate.

Status: Implemented. Assembly Bill 2300 (Ridley‑Thomas, Chapter 182, Statutes 
of 2014) requires that the Prohibited Armed Persons File include persons who have 
ownership or possession of a firearm on or after January 1, 1996. 

Background

Justice manages California’s effort to identify firearm owners in the State who are prohibited 
from owning or possessing a firearm because of a mental health‑related event in their life. 
Justice refers to these individuals as armed prohibited persons. State law, enacted in 2001 and 
subject to appropriation of funds, mandated Justice to create a database to match information 
related to prohibited persons to its records of firearm owners to determine whether these 
individuals are prohibited from owning their firearms. This database, commonly known as the 
Armed Prohibited Persons System (APPS database), was implemented in November 2006 to 
allow Justice to cross‑reference all persons in California who are firearm owners and who are 
unlawfully in possession of a firearm because of a qualifying event in their life that prohibits 
them from owning a firearm.

In our review we noted a limitation in what the APPS database is identifying—one that does 
not appear to be fully consistent with state law. Justice is generally only reviewing firearm 
records from 1996 through the present, although the state law that establishes the APPS 
database requires Justice to identify armed prohibited persons in its Consolidated Firearms 
Information System (CFIS) going back to January 1991. According to Justice, because CFIS 
was not implemented until 1996, CFIS does not contain firearm records going back to 1991. 

Armed Persons With Mental Illness
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However, Justice does have firearm records that pre‑date 1996, but it considers these records 
less reliable for the purpose of identifying prohibited persons and thus for conducting 
prohibition reviews.

Additionally, the audit found that the reports the courts made regarding their required mental 
health determinations were not always submitted to Justice in a timely manner. At the time 
we issued our report, state law required courts to immediately report certain mental health 
determinations to Justice. However, the law does not define immediately. Consequently, courts 
we visited had differing interpretations of what the law meant by that. Effective January 1, 2014, 
state law now requires the courts to report to Justice as soon as possible but not later than 
two court days after the prohibiting determination. However, the new requirement for 
mental health facilities to report to Justice will be a shorter period of time: within 24 hours 
of a prohibiting event. In effect, this change to the law will place less urgency on prohibition 
reports from courts than on those from mental health facilities.

Report

2013‑103 Armed Persons With Mental Illness: Insufficient Outreach From the Department of 
Justice and Poor Reporting From Superior Courts Limit the Identification of Armed Persons 
With Mental Illness (October 2013) 
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California Public Utilities Commission
Require the Commission to Develop a Risk-Based Approach for 
Reviewing Balancing Accounts and Remove the Requirement That 
the Commission Provide Audit Reports to the Board of Equalization

Recommendations

1. To ensure proper oversight of balancing accounts to protect ratepayers from unfair 
rate increases, the Legislature should amend California Public Utilities Code, 
Section 792.5, to require the California Public Utilities Commission (commission) to 
develop a risk-based approach for reviewing all balancing accounts periodically to ensure 
that the transactions recorded in the balancing accounts are for allowable purposes and 
are supported by appropriate documentation, such as invoices.

Status: Not implemented.

2. The Legislature should amend California Public Utilities Code, Section 314.5, to remove 
the requirement that the commission provide audit reports to the California State Board 
of Equalization (Equalization).

Status: Not implemented.

Background

The commission has broad authority, including the authority to inspect and audit the records 
of regulated utilities. As such, it regulates the six electric, seven natural gas, and 116 water 
investor-owned utilities in California, and it is responsible for authorizing the rates these 
utilities may charge ratepayers. Because the rates are derived from projected costs and 
projected consumption of service, state law directs the commission to require utilities to 
establish balancing accounts to track the actual costs and the related revenues the utilities 
collect from ratepayers for certain activities. The purpose of a balancing account is to allow 
the utilities to recoup the costs the commission has authorized, while ensuring that ratepayers 
do not pay more than they should. The California State Auditor noted, however, that the 
commission lacks adequate processes to provide sufficient oversight of balancing accounts to 
protect ratepayers from unfair rate increases. Additionally, the commission does not have a 
systematic process for selecting balancing accounts to review and does not periodically audit 
the accounting records of the utilities it regulates according to a schedule prescribed in law.

Finally, Equalization believes that state law requiring the commission to provide its audit 
reports on utilities’ accounting records to Equalization for use in assessing taxes on those 
utilities is out of date. Equalization stated that the commission’s general rate cases do not focus 
on the same components of a utility’s operations and finances as assessment of taxes requires. 
Equalization has established its own process to audit all companies, including utilities, in the 
State and believes that it is in a better position to carry out this function than the commission. 
Further, Equalization believes that requiring the commission to do the work necessary to allow 
Equalization to assess taxes on utilities may not be cost-effective for the State.

Report

2013-109 California Public Utilities Commission: Improved Monitoring of Balancing Accounts 
Would Better Ensure That Utility Rates Are Fair and Reasonable (March 2014)

California Public Utilities Commission 
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Disabled Veteran Business Enterprise Program
Revise Program Reporting Requirements or Require Awarding 
Departments to Maintain Detailed Support for Program Activities 
and Increase the Number of Disabled Veteran Enterprises That 
Contract With the State

Recommendations

1. To provide a more meaningful measure of how well disabled veteran‑owned businesses 
benefit financially from the Disabled Veteran Business Enterprise (DVBE) program, 
the Legislature should amend the DVBE reporting requirements in the Public Contract 
Code to require that all awarding departments take the following steps to report DVBE 
participation and ensure that data can be corroborated: 

•	 For DVBE firms that contract directly with the State (prime contractors), require 
awarding departments to report on an annual basis DVBE participation based on 
amounts they paid the DVBE firms. 

•	 For DVBE firms that work as a subcontractor (that do not directly contract with the 
awarding department), require the awarding departments to track and report on an 
annual basis DVBE participation based on amounts the subcontracting DVBE firms 
received, as certified by the subcontractors. 

•	 Require awarding departments to maintain accounting records and certifications 
from DVBE subcontractors, as applicable, that support the DVBE participation 
data reported. 

Status: Not implemented.

2. If the Legislature chooses not to amend the DVBE reporting requirements in the 
Public Contract Code—to require awarding departments to report DVBE participation 
annually based on amounts paid, not amounts awarded—the Legislature should amend 
the Public Contract Code to do the following:

•	 Require awarding departments to maintain detailed support for their DVBE activity 
and to establish review procedures to ensure the accuracy and completeness of the 
award amounts reported.

•	 Include specific instructions to awarding departments on how they should report 
multiyear contracts, either at the time of award or by an equal distribution of the award 
over the life of the contract.

Status: Not implemented.

3. For the DVBE program to benefit a broad base of disabled veteran‑owned businesses 
financially, the Legislature should enact legislation aimed at increasing the number 
of DVBEs that contract with the State, including increasing the amount of the DVBE 
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incentive that awarding departments can apply when considering bids on state contracts. 
Such an incentive could include additional preference points to certain bids when the 
bidder is a DVBE firm that the department has not previously used, and when the DVBE 
firm is the prime contractor.

Status: Not implemented.

Background

The DVBE program directs state governmental entities, such as state agencies and 
departments, to procure goods and services from DVBE firms that the California Department 
of General Services (General Services) has determined have met the eligibility criteria 
required by law to be a certified DVBE firm. The DVBE program requires that, collectively, 
state governmental entities that award contracts for goods and services (awarding 
departments) expend not less than 3 percent of the value of all their contracts on firms that are 
owned by disabled veterans. However, the performance reporting requirements established 
in the Public Contract Code require awarding departments to report their levels of DVBE 
participation based on the amount of the contracts awarded to DVBE firms. The use of the 
different terms expended and awarded raises significant questions as to whether the State is 
measuring the program’s performance in a manner consistent with legislative intent.

The legislative intent of the DVBE program is to target DVBE firms and have them benefit 
financially from doing business with the State. DVBEs benefit financially when they are paid 
for their services. However, based on the performance reporting requirements specified in 
the Public Contract Code, the State currently measures the success of the DVBE program 
by the value of the contracts that state departments and agencies have awarded—and not 
necessarily the amount ultimately paid—to DVBE firms. This performance measure may 
distort an assessment of whether the program is meeting the legislative intent, because 
awarding departments can subsequently amend or cancel their contracts with a DVBE if their 
procurement needs change.

In addition to lacking a true measure for the extent to which DVBE firms benefit financially 
from the program, the data in the State Contract and Procurement Registrations System 
maintained by General Services provide a strong indicator that only a relatively small subset 
of DVBE firms enjoy the major part of the State’s business. Specifically, the audit noted that 
during fiscal year 2012–13, 83 percent of the DVBE contract award amounts went to only 
30 DVBE firms. Therefore, the California State Auditor believes that the Legislature should 
enact additional legislation that promotes the use of more DVBE firms in state contracting. 
For example, the Legislature could expand on existing laws designed to increase the likelihood 
of contracting with a DVBE firm.

Report

2013‑115 Disabled Veteran Business Enterprise Program: Meaningful Performance Standards 
and Better Guidance by the California Departments of General Services and Veterans 
Affairs Would Strengthen the Program (February 2014)

Disabled Veteran Business Enterprise Program
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Appendix
Legislation Chaptered or Vetoed During the Second Year of  
the 2013–14 Regular Legislative Session

The table below briefly describes bills that were chaptered or vetoed during the second year 
of the 2013–14 Regular Legislative Session and relate to the subject of a California State 
Auditor’s (state auditor) report, were based in part on recommendations in a state auditor’s 
report, or the analysis of the bill relied in part on a state auditor’s report. 

Table A
Legislation Chaptered or Vetoed in the 2013–14 Regular Legislative Session

BILL NUMBER/CHAPTER REPORT (ABBREVIATED TITLE) LEGISLATION CHAPTERED OR VETOED

Business and Professions

SB 1247
Ch. 840, Stats 2014

2013-045 Bureau for Private 
Postsecondary Education 
(March 2014)

Extends the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education’s (bureau) 
existence for two years. Among other provisions, requires the bureau, 
beginning July 1, 2015, to (1) contract with the Office of the Attorney 
General or other appropriate state agency to establish a process for 
bureau staff to be trained to investigate complaints filed with the bureau, 
(2) post specified information on its Web site, (3) establish a task force 
to identify standards for specified educational and training programs 
and provide a report to the Legislature regarding its work, and (4) adopt 
minimum operating standards for an institution that ensure, among 
other things, that an institution offering a degree is or plans to become 
accredited. Requires the bureau to submit to the Legislature, on or before 
March 15, 2015, a copy of an independent review of its staffing resources 
needs and requirements.

Education

AB 1455
Ch. 229, Stats 2014

2012-108 School Safety and 
Nondiscrimination Laws 
(August 2013)

Explicitly authorizes the superintendent of a school district or the principal 
of a school to refer a victim of, witness to, or other pupil affected by, an act 
of bullying committed on or after January 1, 2015, to the school counselor, 
psychologist, social worker, child welfare attendance personnel, or other 
school support service personnel for case management, counseling, and 
participation in a restorative justice program. 

AB 1993
Ch. 48, Stats 2014

2012-108 School Safety and 
Nondiscrimination Laws 
(August 2013)

Requires the Department of Education to develop an online training 
module to assist all school staff, school administrators, parents, pupils, and 
community members in increasing their knowledge of the dynamics of 
bullying and cyberbullying.

Governmental Organization

AB 1656
Ch. 451, Stats 2014

2014-108 Board of Equalization Cost 
of Facility Repairs (September 2014)

Requires the Department of General Services, by July 1, 2015, to complete 
a long‑range planning study of the state‑controlled and owned office 
buildings in the county of Sacramento and the city of West Sacramento, 
including the Board of Equalization’s headquarters, for the management of 
the State’s space needs in the Sacramento region.

AB 1583
Ch. 230, Stats 2014

2013-107 Accounts Outside the State 
Treasury (October 2013)

Requires the Controller to include the following information on bank 
accounts and savings and loan association accounts outside the State 
Treasury System (treasury system) in the budgetary‑legal basis annual 
report, submitted pursuant to existing statute: (1) the name of the account, 
(2) the source of authorization for establishing the account, and, (3) the 
account balance. Requires a state agency that receives revenues for state 
costs under a cost recovery statute to account for those revenues to the 
Controller for deposit into the State Treasury.

Appendix

continued on next page . . .
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BILL NUMBER/CHAPTER REPORT (ABBREVIATED TITLE) LEGISLATION CHAPTERED OR VETOED

SB 898
Ch. 393, Stats 2014

2013-107 Accounts Outside the State 
Treasury (October 2013)

Requires each state agency, department, and entity to provide the 
Treasurer with its employer identification number, and authorizes 
the Treasurer to use those numbers to monitor state money outside the 
treasury system. Requires a bank or financial institution to provide, 
upon request from the Treasurer, specified account information relating 
to these employer identification numbers to assist the Treasurer in 
monitoring accounts and state money deposited outside of the centralized 
treasury system.

SB 1074
Ch. 221, Stats 2014

2013-107 Accounts Outside the State 
Treasury (October 2013)

Provides that it is a misdemeanor for a state employee to transfer or 
use state money outside of the treasury system, except as authorized 
by statute.

SB 1075
Ch. 250, Stats 2014

2013-107 Accounts Outside the State 
Treasury (October 2013)

Requires any moneys recovered by the Department of Forestry and 
Fire Protection for fire suppression costs incurred in fighting a fire to be 
deposited by the department into the treasury system. Requires the 
department to make an annual report to the Legislature regarding any fire 
suppression moneys recovered in a civil action, and requires all moneys in 
the Civil Cost Recovery Investigation Support Account to be immediately 
be transferred to the State’s General Fund.

Health and Human Services

SB 1135
Ch. 558, Stats 2014

2013-120 Female Inmate Sterilization 
(June 2014)

Among other provisions, prohibits any means of sterilization of an 
individual under the control of the California Department of Corrections 
and Rehabilitation (CDCR) or a county correctional facility, except when 
required for the immediate preservation of life in an emergency medical 
situation or when medically necessary to treat a diagnosed condition. 
Requires CDCR, a couty jail, or any other institution of confinement to notify 
all individuals under their custody, as well as all employees involved in 
providing health care services, of their rights and responsibilities regarding 
sterilization, and provides protection for any employee who reports a 
violation of these provisions. 

Higher Education

AB 1433
Ch. 798, Stats 2014

2013-124 Postsecondary Education 
Sexual Violence (June 2014)

As a condition for participation in the Cal Grant Program, requires any 
report of specified violent crimes, including rape and other sex crimes, 
received by a campus security authority and made by the victim for 
purposes of notifying the institution or law enforcement to be immediately 
reported, or as soon as practicably possible, to the appropriate local 
law enforcement agency without identifying the victim unless the 
victim consents to being identified. Requires the governing board of 
each community college district, the CSU Trustees, the UC Regents, and 
the governing board of each private and independent postsecondary 
institution, on or before July 1, 2015, to adopt and implement written 
policies and procedures to ensure that any report of specified violent 
crimes, sexual assault, or hate crimes, committed on or off campus, 
received by any campus security authority and made by the victim for the 
purposes of notifying law enforcement of the institution, is immediately, 
or as soon as practicably possible, forwarded to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency.

AB 1942
Ch. 382, Stats 2014

2013-123 Community College 
Accreditation (June 2014)

Requires the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges, 
in determining whether a community college district satisfies specified 
minimum conditions, to review the accreditation status of the community 
colleges within that district. Requires the accrediting agency to report 
to the appropriate subcommittees of the Legislature upon the agency’s 
issuance of a decision that affects the accreditation status of a community 
college and, on a biannual basis, any accreditation policy changes that 
affect the accreditation process or status for a community college.
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BILL NUMBER/CHAPTER REPORT (ABBREVIATED TITLE) LEGISLATION CHAPTERED OR VETOED

SB 967
Ch. 748, Stats 2014

2013-124 Postsecondary Education 
Sexual Violence (June 2014)

As a condition of receiving state funding for student financial assistance, 
requires the governing board of each community college district, the 
Trustees of the California State University, the Regents of the University of 
California, and independent postsecondary institutions to adopt policies 
concerning sexual assault, domestic violence, dating violence and stalking, 
including an affirmative consent standard in the determination of whether 
consent was given by both parties to sexual activity. 

Public Safety

AB 1517
Ch. 874, Stats 2014

2014-109 Untested Rape Kit Backlog 
(October 2014)

Encourages a law enforcement agency in whose jurisdiction a sexual 
assault offense occurred to submit sexual assault forensic evidence received 
by the agency on or after January 1, 2016, to the crime lab within 20 days of 
the date it is booked into evidence, or ensure that a rapid turnaround DNA 
program is in place to submit sexual assault forensic evidence collected 
to the crime lab within five days after the evidence is obtained from the 
victim. Encourages the crime lab to process that evidence, create DNA 
profiles when able, and upload qualifying DNA profiles into the Combined 
DNA Index System as soon as practically possible, but no later than 120 
days after initially receiving the evidence, or to transmit the sexual assault 
forensic evidence to another crime lab as soon as practically possible, but 
no later than 30 days after initially receiving the evidence. 

AB 1591
Ch. 141, Stats 2014

2013-103 Armed Prohibited Persons 
System (October 2013)

Requires a court to notify the Department of Justice of a court order finding 
a person to be a danger to others as the result of a mental disorder or 
illness or to be a mentally disordered sex offender as soon as possible, but 
not later than one court day after issuing the order.

AB 2300
Ch. 182, Stats 2014

2013-103 Armed Prohibited Persons 
System (October 2013)

Requires that the Prohibited Armed Persons File include persons who have 
ownership or possession of a firearm on or after January 1, 1996.  

Veterans Affairs

AB 585
Ch. 641, Stats 2014

2012-119 Department of Veterans 
Affairs (May 2013)

Requires the California Department of Veterans Affairs to create a prioritized 
list of unused or underutilized nonresidential real property owned by the 
department and propose potential uses that will benefit state veterans, 
as well as consider its inventory of properties as an integrated system and 
address how such uses could complement each other. Specifies that further 
study and evaluation may be necessary to determine the feasibility of a use 
option and take steps toward implementation.
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