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STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Office of the Auditor General

660 ] STREET, SUITE 300
SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA 95814

February 28, 1983 Letter Report P-251

Honorable Art Agnos
Chairman, and Members of the
Joint Legislative Audit Committee

‘State Capitol, Room 3151

Sacramento, California 95814
Dear Mr. Chairman and Members:

We have reviewed the Department of Housing and Community
Development's (HCD) administration of the petition process
authorized by Chapter 40, Statutes of 1982. This Tlegislation
allows owners of mobilehomes that have been transferred from
the vehicle license fee system to local property taxation
because of delinquent mobilehome registrations to petition the
HCD to reinstate the mobilehome to the vehicle license fee
system.

As of December 29, 1982, the HCD had processed 4,677 petitions
for reinstatement to the vehicle license system. Of these
4,677, the HCD approved 713 (15 percent) and denied 3,964
(85 percent). However, the HCD has inconsistently applied its
criteria for approving petitions. The inconsistency has almost
always been in favor of the mobilehome owner. Thirty-one of
100 approved petitions that we reviewed did not meet the HCD's
criteria for approval; only 1 of 100 denied petitions we
reviewed was improperly denied. Further, the criteria
developed by the HCD appear to be more restrictive than the
Legislature intended. The HCD should reevaluate its criteria
for approving petitions to ensure that they are consistent with
legislative intent.

Thomas W. Hayes
Auditor General
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BACKGROUND

On July 1, 1981, the Department of Housing and Community
Development assumed responsibility for the registration and
titling of mobilehomes sold or wused within the State.*
Previously, all mobilehomes had been 1licensed in California
under the vehicle Tlicense fee Tlaw. However, in 1979, the
Legislature declared that mobilehomes were to be treated the
same as any other owner-occupied housing. Consequently, all
new mobilehomes sold on or after July 1, 1980, are subject to
local property taxation.

Consistent with the Legislature's intent to treat mobilehomes
as structures rather than as vehicles, Chapter 1149, Statutes
of 1980, transferred the responsibility for mobilehome
registration and titling from the Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) to the Department of Housing and Community Development.
The HCD created a registration and titling section within its
Division of Codes and Standards, and assumed registration and
titling operations on July 1, 1981.

Registration and Titling

Mobilehomes in California must be registered annually with the
HCD unless the mobilehome is subject to local property taxation
or is specifically exempted from annual registration. Those
mobilehomes that are subject to local property taxation include
new mobilehomes sold on or after July 1, 1980; mobilehomes
installed on a permanent foundation; and mobilehomes for which
the registration has been delinquent for 120 days or more.
However, those mobilehomes subject to local property taxation
and not installed on a permanent foundation must be registered
with the HCD at the time of sale, resale, or transfer of title.
Other exceptions to annual registration include mobilehomes
owned by nonresidents and military personnel, provided that
these mobilehomes are  properly registered 1in other
jurisdictions. The HCD estimates that there are about 500,000
registered mobilehomes in California.

* A mobilehome, as used here, is a structure transportable in
one or more sections, designed and equipped to contain not
more than two dwelling units to be used with or without a
foundation.
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The annual registration of mobilehomes includes payment of two
types of fees: a registration fee and a license fee. The
registration fee is established by law at $11 per transportable
section of the mobilehome.* The Tlicense fee is equal to two
percent of the market value of the mobilehome. The HCD
determines market value based on the sales price of the
mobilehome when it was first sold new and an 18-year
depreciation schedule.

Annual registration and licensing fees are due to the HCD each
year on or before the date the registration expires. To
facilitate prompt annual renewal of mobilehome registration,
the HCD sends registration renewal notices to each registered
owner about 30 days before the expiration date. Renewal
notices are automatically sent to the last mailing address
reported by the mobilehome owner. The HCD is not required to
send renewal notices, but does so as a matter of policy.
According to an opinion from the Legislative Counsel,
mobilehome owners are liable for prompt payment of registration
fees even if they do not receive renewal notices. The HCD also
mails a further warning notice to mobilehome owners who have
allowed their registration to become delinquent 60 days.

Transfer to Local
Property Taxation

In 1979 the Legislature specified that on or after July 1,
1980, any mobilehome for which Tlicensing fees are delinquent
120 days or more becomes subject to local property taxation.
However, when the legislation transferring delinquent
mobilehomes to local property taxation became effective, many
mobilehome owners claimed that they had been unfairly
transferred. Some claimed that the delinquency had occurred
through no fault of their own, others claimed that errors by
the DMV or the HCD had caused or contributed to the
delinquency, or had caused them to be reported delinquent when,
in fact, they were not.

* For calendar year 1983, the registration renewal fee was
reduced to $6 to compensate for an unintended fee increase in
1982.
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Two factors led to the mobilehome owners' concern. First,
local property taxes are generally significantly higher than
vehicle license and registration fees. For example, in the
case of one mobilehome that was transferred to local property
taxation because of delinquency, the property tax due for
the mobilehome in 1982-83 was $115. Had the owner kept the
mobilehome registration current, the registration and license
fees on the mobilehome for 1982-83 would have been $66. The
second factor contributing to the mobilehome owners' concern
was that the transfer to local property taxation was permanent
and there was no way to appeal.

The Legislature subsequently passed legislation that provided a
right of appeal for those owners whose mobilehomes may have
become subject to local property taxation through no fault of
their own. Chapter 40, Statutes of 1982 (Assembly Bill 1400),
allows owners of mobilehomes that were transferred to local
property taxation because of delinquent registration to
petition the HCD for reinstatement to the vehicle licensing
fee system.

In addition to this petition process, further Tlegislation
allows certain owners of mobilehomes transferred to Tlocal
property taxation another opportunity to be reinstated to the
vehicle license system. Because mobilehome owners were not
adequately notified of the change in delinquent penalties and
because of confusion resulting from changes in the
administration of the registration program, the Legislature
enacted Chapter 1395, Statutes of 1982 (Senate Bill 1343).
This legislation provided a one-time opportunity for owners
whose mobilehome registrations became delinquent between
July 1, 1980, and March 1, 1982, to gain reinstatement to the
vehicle license fee system by applying to the HCD for a waiver
and either paying the delinquent fees or providing proof that
payment of property taxes is current. These requests for
waivers can be filed with the HCD through June 30, 1983.
Neither filing fees nor explanation of reasons for delinquency
are required.

Program Costs and Staffing

The HCD's registration and titling function is supported by the
Mobilehome Revolving Fund. For fiscal year 1982-83, the HCD
estimates that registration and titling costs will be about
$7.5 million.
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As of December 31, 1982, the HCD had 132 full-time positions
and 22 seasonal positions to administer its registration and
titling program. These totals include 29 positions in the nine
field offices.

SCOPE_AND METHODOLOGY

To conduct this analysis, we observed the HCD's overall
procedures for the registration and titling of mobilehomes.
However, we focused our review on the HCD's procedures for
transferring mobilehomes to Tlocal property taxation and its
administration of the process that allows owners of mobilehomes
transferred to 1local property taxation to petition to be
reinstated to the vehicle license fee system. To assess the
consistency of the HCD's approval and disapproval of petitions,
we reviewed a random sample of 100 petitions that were approved
and 100 petitions that were disapproved, and checked these
against the criteria that the HCD has established for approval.
Additionally, we reviewed the HCD's procedures for sending
registration renewal notices to mobilehome owners.

AUDIT RESULTS

Chapter 40, Statutes of 1982 (Assembly Bill 1400), allows
owners of mobilehomes that were transferred to local property
taxation because of delinquent registration to petition the HCD
for reinstatement to the vehicle license fee system. As of
December 29, 1982, the HCD had processed 4,677 petitions; the
HCD approved 15 percent, and denied 85 percent. However, the
HCD has inconsistently applied the criteria it developed for
approving petitions; most of the inconsistencies were in favor
of the mobilehome owners. Additionally, the criteria developed
by the HCD may be more restrictive than the Legislature
intended.

Development of Criteria for Approving Petitions

The Legislature, through Assembly Bill 1400, provided that a
mobilehome can be reinstated to the vehicle license fee system
if the owner can demonstrate that the delinquency occurred
through no fault of the owner. Specifically, the legislation
states as follows:
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If the director [of the HCD) determines
that the failure to pay the license fee was
due to reasonable cause and circumstances
beyond the person's control, and occurred
notwithstanding the exercise of ordinary
care and the absence of willful neglect,
the director may grant the petition...

The Revenue and Tax Code also provided that petitions were to
be approved when a mobilehome owner paid fees to a dealer or
escrow agent who failed to transmit the fees to the Department
of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or the HCD in time to avoid local
property taxation.

The Tlegislation provides no further criteria for approving
petitions, but leaves that responsibility to the director of
the HCD. The Tlegislation does provide, however, that the
director's decision, upon reviewing the petition, is final.

In establishing its criteria for approving petitions, the HCD
determined that the following reasons would be acceptable
grounds for reinstating a mobilehome to the vehicle license fee
system:

1. The mobilehome owner paid license fees for one or
more sections of a mobilehome while another section
of the mobilehome became delinquent for 120 days or
more, provided that department records indicate the
sections of the mobilehome were registered
separately.

2. The DMV or the HCD made errors of commission or
omission that were a contributing factor in the
registration's becoming delinquent.

3. The mobilehome was located on land purchased by the
federal government after September 1939 and was
erroneously given exempt status by the DMV. Private
property located on certain federal lands acquired
before September 1939 is not taxable.
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In addition to these categories, HCD officials told us that
there were some unique cases that, when reviewed individually,
seemed to fall within the category of "circumstances beyond the
owner's control." Petitions in this category would also be
approved.

As of December 29, 1982, the HCD had processed 4,677 petitions
to reinstate mobilehomes to the vehicle license fee system. Of
the 4,677 petitions processed, the HCD approved 15 percent
(713) and denied 85 percent (3,964). With each petition, an
applicant is required to submit an $11 filing fee to cover
processing costs. By December 29, 1982, the HCD had received
$51,477.00 in petition filing fees. These fees were deposited
in the Mobilehome Revolving Fund, which supports the mobilehome
registration and titling function. According to staff in the
HCD Fiscal Services Office and Budget Office, it costs the HCD
more than $11 to process each petition, but the Mobilehome
Revolving Fund is able to absorb the additional cost. The HCD
has not determined the exact cost of processing petitions.

Inconsistency in Application of Criteria

We randomly selected for review 100 petitions that were
approved and 100 that were denied.* We found that the HCD has
been inconsistent in applying criteria for approval, and that
the inconsistency was most often in favor of the mobilehome
owner. Of the 100 approved petitions we reviewed, 31 did not
meet the HCD's standards for approval. Of the 100 denied
petitions in our review, only one was improperly denied.

The following examples illustrate the HCD's inconsistent
application of 1its criteria. These petitions cite nearly
jdentical reasons for delinquent registration; however, the HCD
approved some petitions but denied others.

* We selected our sample from approximately 2,000 petitions
that were available for our review. The HCD had sent the
remainder of the 4,677 petitions processed to its permanent
file room prior to the start of our audit. We have no reason
to believe that the petitions available for review were not
representative of the total petitions processed.
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A number of petitions we reviewed stated that the mobilehome
registration became delinquent because the owner could not
afford to pay the registration fees. In some instances these
petitions were approved; in other instances they were denied.
One petition that was approved by the HCD cited illness and
inability to afford the fees:

I have a bad back injury that has put me
out of work for 8 months. My wife has been
very i1l to the point of not knowing if she
was going to live and is also disabled and
unable to work. Our money situation has
been almost none.

However, another petition with a similar explanation was
denied:

Since 1977 we have suffered two lay-offs
and open-heart surgery. Being acutely
short of cash, we put the coach up for sale
last fall with [Name] expecting to pay the
DMV Ticenses out of the sale proceeds. The
sale fell thru unfortunately, and we are
resigned to live here for a while. Last
month I finally had saved enough to pay the
licenses, but the DMV refused my payment,
stating that we were now on the property
tax rolls.... (If I had been aware of such
a change, I would have borrowed the money
to pay the licenses.)

Another frequent explanation provided on petitions was
confusion resulting from the fact that in some instances a
mobilehome composed of more than one section requires separate
licenses for each section. Again the HCD was inconsistent in
its decisions on these cases. For example, the HCD approved a
petition pleading ignorance of the required licensing of each
section:
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Notice was received for [license number for
one half of mobilehome} wish [sic} I paid
May 15th 1981, and thought it was the fee
for the whole coach. Move [sic} here in
Nov. 81 didn't know anything about
mobilehomes, that I need two stamps....

But another petition that provided a similar explanation was
denied:

We received a Registration Renewal Billing
Notice for one half of the trailer but
thought it was for the entire mobile....

Such inconsistency in applying criteria results in inequitable
treatment of mobilehome owners. It also causes confusion among
mobilehome owners, leading to increased administrative effort
for the HCD because the HCD must respond to correspondence and
the numerous telephone calls from mobilehome owners and
concerned legislators.

HCD management offered several reasons for this inconsistent
application of standards. First, the Legislature did not
specify the criteria for approving petitions to reinstate
mobilehomes to the vehicle license fee system. The HCD
developed its guidelines for approval based on its
interpretation of the legislation. However, according to HCD
staff, there is still a degree of subjectivity in approving and
denying petitions. Staff members told us that "reasonable
cause" and "unique circumstances” cannot be precisely defined.
Additionally, HCD supervisors responsible for petition
processing said that errors and inconsistencies also occurred
because of the initial rush of petitions and because staff
members were new and had to be trained on the job.

Petition Approval Criteria
May Be Overly Restrictive

In addition to the inconsistency in approving petitions, we
found that the criteria for approval developed by the HCD may
be more restrictive than the Legislature intended. To provide
the HCD flexibility in approving petitions, the legislation
that established the petition process did not specify the
criteria for approval. As discussed in the preceding section,
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however, the HCD has denied 85 percent of the petitions it has
reviewed. Consequently, there have been complaints that the
HCD's criteria are not consistent with legislative intent.

According to the HCD management, the HCD believed that the
intent of Assembly Bill 1400 was to provide a remedy for those
owners whose mobilehomes had been transferred to local property
taxation through no fault of their own; the intent was not to
allow mobilehome owners who had willfully failed to pay
registration fees to be reinstated to the vehicle license fee
system. The HCD developed 1its criteria based on this
understanding of Tlegislative intent. Because the HCD
anticipated that most petitions would cite errors caused by the
HCD or the DMV, or errors caused by confusion in the
transferring of responsibility to the HCD, the HCD advised the
Legislature that most petitions would likely be approved.

However, when the HCD began to review the petitions, it found
that the reasons cited for delinquency were not those expected.
Consequently, 85 percent of the petitions were denied. In our
sample of petitions that were denied, we found that the
following were the most common explanations given by mobilehome
owners for not renewing their registration on time: "Did not
receive renewal notice" (32 percent)*; "Not the registered
owner at time of license expiration" (15 percent)**; "Forgot"

* There are two reasons why many people may not have received
renewal notices. First, the renewal notice may have been
undeliverable. For example, the HCD mails approximately
30,000 notices each month. In December 1982, the U.S. Postal
Service returned 448 (1.5 percent) as "undeliverable." This
is not solely the HCD's responsibility since mobilehome
owners are responsible for notifying the HCD within 10 days
of moving the mobilehome. Second, the HCD's policy is to not
send renewal notices when mobilehomes are already on the
property tax system. In our sample of denied petitions,
64 percent of the applicants who stated they did not receive
a renewal notice had been delinquent for more than one year,
and therefore were already on the property tax system and
would not have been sent an HCD renewal notice.

** Although we chose a random sample, the manner in which the
HCD files its petitions makes it 1ikely that this category is
overrepresented in our sample.
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(11 percent); "Could not afford to pay fees" (7 percent); and,
"I1lness" (5 percent). According to an opinion of the
Legislative Counsel, the HCD is within its authority in denying
petitions based on the reasons presented above. However, in
reviewing individual cases, we found that the criteria
developed by the HCD may be more restrictive than the
Legislature had intended.

For example, almost 10 percent of the 200 petitions we reviewed
cited serious illness of the petitioner or petitioner's spouse
as the primary cause of the delinquency. According to the HCD,
these petitions are to be denied unless they involve unique
circumstances, such as cases when sole registered owners are
hospitalized and there is no one to oversee their business
affairs. The following are two examples of cases involving
illness that the HCD denied because the cases did not meet its
criteria for approval.

Case 1: Since we purchased the Mobile Home
in 1969, my husband normally handled most
of the business matters including renewal
of licenses. He passed away in March 1980.
In November of 1981 I had a heart attack
while I was 1in Salem, Oregon, and was
recuperating in Salem in April of 1982 when
the present license expired.

Apparently as a result of a mix up in
forwarding of mail and the handling of
business matters by my children and
relatives for me, I failed to renew license
when it became due. When I returned to the
coach in Hemet, Calif. in September 1982, I
became aware of the expired license.

I am almost 77 years old (March 2, 1983)
and hereby petition to have my Mobile Coach
reinstated to the Annual Renewal System....
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Another frequent reason for delinquency cited in the denied
petitions we reviewed was financial hardship or inability to
pay the registration fees. Again, these reasons were not
within the criteria for approval established by the HCD.
are examples of denied petitions that cited financial hardship

Case 2: Have had operation on kidney and
on parathyroid plus tumor, almost fatal
foriginal illegible} with electrolyte
imbalance, also heart attack. Not been
myself for Tlong time. Had over 1,000
dollars stolen while i11. Much better now,
trying to get affairs in order.

as the cause of delinquency.

Case 3: [Name)} 1is unable to work and our
only income is his social security. At age
69 he had a physical and mental breakdown
and lost his job and was hospitalized for
three months. [Name's)} social security
check is $415.00 per month and I was unable
to buy the tags for the mobilehome.

Case 4: The reason these fees were not
paid was due to financial hardship. At
that time my sole income came from my job
as a Real Estate Agent. I am enclosing a
1ist of all the commisson checks I received
in 1981. During that period (see list) my
total income from 6-30-81 thru 10-31-81 was
$1,455.12. This was my gross income before
taxes. With a wife and two childern [sic]
the normal expenses (Utilities, Food,
Cloths, [sic}] House Payments) for the
necessities of 1life made money extremely
tight. Added too [sic] those costs were
medical expenses (see attached sheets) and
the costs of school supplies and cloths
[sic] for my 4th grade son. I was aware of
the license fee and the 20% penalty (see
enclosure) which I had planned to pay as
soon as I possibly could.
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Furthermore, the HCD also automatically denied petitions if
they were not properly completed and signed. In our sample we
found two examples of petitions that met the criteria for
approval but that were denied because they were not signed,
even though in one instance the mobilehome owner had
hand-printed his name in the space above the signature line.

Although the criteria established by the HCD are within the
HCD's legal authority, the criteria may be more restrictive
than the Legislature intended. As we noted earlier, Assembly
Bill 1400 provides that a mobilehome can be reinstated to the
vehicle license fee system if the owner can demonstrate that
the delinquency occurred due to reasonable cause and
circumstances beyond the owner's control. According to
legislative staff we interviewed, the legislation that provides
the petition process was intentionally not more specific than
this in order to allow the HCD the administrative discretion
necessary to judge each petition on the basis of the
applicant's particular circumstances, thereby enabling the HCD
to grant most petitions routinely. Another indication that the
Legislature did not intend for the HCD to be so restrictive is
seen in the subsequent 1legislation that provides a further
remedy for certain owners of mobilehomes transferred to
property taxation. Chapter 1395, Statutes of 1982 (Senate Bill
1343), allows a one-time opportunity for owners whose
mobilehomes became delinquent between July 1, 1980, and
March 1, 1982 to gain reinstatement to the vehicle license fee
system by applying to the HCD and either paying the delinquent
fees or providing proof that payment of property taxes is
current. No explanation of cause of delinquency is required.

Although Senate Bill 1343 provides a remedy for some mobilehome
owners, it does not address the questions concerning the HCD's
criteria for approving petitions. This legislation provides a
one-time opportunity for reinstatement to the vehicle license
fee system only for those owners whose delinquent registration
occurred during an established time period. In contrast, the
petition process established by Assembly Bill 1400 is a
continuous activity. The HCD's decision on each petition is
final, and HCD management officials have stated that they
intend to continue using existing criteria for approving
petitions.
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CONCLUSION

California mobilehome owners whose mobilehomes had been
transferred to the property tax system submitted 4,677
petitions to the Department of Housing and Community
Development requesting reinstatement to the vehicle license fee
system. Of the 4,677 petitions processed, the HCD approved
15 percent and denied 85 percent. However, in processing the
petitions, the HCD inconsistently applied its criteria for
approval. In almost every instance, the inconsistency with the
criteria was in favor of the mobilehome owner.

Additionally, although the criteria for approving petitions
established by the HCD are within its legal authority, the
criteria may be more restrictive than the Legislature intended.
Moreover, the HCD's decision is final.

RECOMMENDATION

The Department of Housing and Community Development should
clarify its petition approval criteria to reduce the degree of
subjective judgment involved in evaluating petitions. Criteria
for cases involving 1inability to pay fees, or "unique
circumstances," should be more precise. The HCD should also
ensure that staff reviewing petitions fully understand the
limits of acceptable criteria and that such criteria are
applied consistently.

Also, the HCD should reevaluate its petition approval criteria
to ensure that these criteria are consistent with legislative
intent. In particular, the HCD should reconsider its criteria
for cases involving reasons such as serious 1illness and
financial hardship.



Honorable Art Agnos
Chairman, and Members of the
Joint Legislative Audit Committee
February 28, 1983
Page 15

We conducted our review under the authority vested in the
Auditor General by Section 10500 et seq. of the Government
Code. Further, we conducted our review in accordance with
generally accepted governmental auditing standards necessary to
accomplish the work requested by the Legislature.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS W. HAYES
Auditor General

Staff: Richard C. Tracy, Audit Manager
Melanie M. Kee
Murray Edwards

Attachment: Response to the Auditor General's Report

Department of Housing and Community Development



ATTACHMENT

STATE OF CALIFORNIA EDMUND G. BROWN JR., Governor

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
921 Tenth Street

Sacramento, CA 95814-2774
(916) 445-4775

February 24, 1983

Mr. Thomas W. Hayes
Auditor General

660 "J" Street, Suite 300
Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Mr. Hayes:

Thank you for providing the Department of Housing and Community Development
(HCD) with the opportunity to respond to your draft report The Department of
Housing and Community Development's Administration of the Mobilehome Program,
February 1983 (Letter Report 251). As you indicate in your Tegislative trans-
mittal, the report deals with one part of the Mobilehome Program--the petition
process authorized by Chapter 40, Statutes of 1982, which allows owners of
mobilehomes that have been transferred from the vehicle Ticense fee system to
local property taxation because of delinquent mobilehome registrations to
petition the HCD to reinstate the mobilehome to the State's registration
renewal system. You recommend that HCD clarify petition approval criteria

to reduce the degree of subjective judgment involved in evaluating petitions,
and to ensure they are consistent with legislative intent. This recommendation
stems from your conclusions that inconsistencies were found in HCD's petition
action decisions, and that HCD's approval criteria may be more restrictive than
the Legislature intended.

Auditor General Recommendation

In response to the report's recommendation, HCD will be pleased to
review the petition approval criteria. However, we believe it
important to note that HCD did establish very specific criteria
and sought to apply them consistently across similar types of
petitions, to assure equitable treatment of all petitioners in
the face of very general statutory direction (see Attachment 1).
Further, this Department's representatives participated actively
with the key legislators and staff who dealt with mobilehome
registration and titling legislative proposals, most notably
Chapter 40/1982 (AB 1400) and its cleanup, Chapter 1465/1982

(AB 3382). That involvement (see Attachment 2) led to HCD's
formulation and confirmation of the specific administrative

A-1
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criteria utilized in the petition review process.

Inconsistent Decisions

While we believe our review criteria reinforced the objectivity of
the petition approval process, our staff has concurred with your
conclusions about those instances in which our determinations were
inconsistent. The first year of implementation of the Mobilehome
Registration and Titling Program (beginning July 1, 1981) was a very
difficult one for this Department and for the Department of Motor
Vehicles (DMV), whose staff provided data processing programming and
computer operations support. Many new procedures were required,
hiring and training proceeded slowly, and there was much public
confusion about the transfer of responsibilities from DMV to HCD.
Large processing backlogs resulted which required the commitment of
a major extra staff effort from both departments beginning in the
Spring and continuing into Summer, 1982.

In addition, the Legislature enacted Chapter 40/1982 as an urgency
measure on February 17, 1982. According to one provision of that
legislation, owners of any mobilehomes placed on local property tax
rolls because they were delinquent for 120 days or more were given

a fixed 60-day period from the effective date of the act (March 1, 1982)
to file a petition for reinstatement. HCD in turn was provided 90 days
from date of filing to act on the petition. As a result, a great number
of the petitions received by HCD were submitted during that first 60-day
pericd--March and April, 1982.

Sufficient staff resources to deal with the AB 1400 process were

sought by HCD in early March. Legislative approval through the

Section 28 process occurred June 9, 1982; however, the State's hiring
freeze in effect at that time prevented HCD from gaining final authori-
zation to fill approved positions until July 1982. During the period
from March through June 1982, while existing staff were seeking to deal
with the Registration and Titling backlog, they also sought to implement
the AB 1400 responsibilities. Under these circumstances, strain was
evident and you have identified inconsistent actions which resulted.

As indicated in your report, management decisions which were affected
by subjective influences, even in the face of specific criteria, sought
to support the mobilehome owners' rationale.

Restrictive Criteria

You have also indicated that HCD's criteria for approving petitions

may be more restrictive than the Legislature intended. We will
certainly reexamine our criteria, particularly in those instances
involving serious illness, financial hardship, and unsigned petitions.
However, as we suggested earlier in this response, we believe HCD
representatives had a clear notion of the Legislature's intent regarding
approval criteria. We will now use your report, and our established

A-2
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criteria (see Attachment 3) as the bases for a rediscussion with the
authors of enacted measures influencing this process.
Thank you for providing this opportunity to respond to the report and for the
consistent objectivity of your staff during their many hours involved in auditing
our activities and preparing the report.
Sincerely,
s 4 - 4 - 7 /

Rébert L. LalLiberte'
Interim Director

Attachments

A-3



Attachment 1

STATUTORY DIRECTION RE: AB 1400 (CHAPTER 40/1982)
PETITION APPROVAL CRITERIA

While HCD recognized the potential subjectivity of its petition review process,
it was difficult devising an approach to deal accurately and specifically with
the statutory responsibility of determining:

(a)
(b)
(c)
(d)

d

(e)

What is, or is not, a "reasonable cause" for delinquency?
What is, or is not, a "reasonable circumstance" for delinquency?
What is, or is not, a "circumstance beyond a person's control"?

What is, or is not, a circumstance which "occurred notwithstanding
the exercise of ordinary care"?

What does, or does not, represent "the absence of willful neglect"?

A-4



Attachment 2

FORMULATION AND ENACTMENT
OF LEGISLATION AFFECTING AB 1400 PETITION PROCESS

HCD was involved with AB 1400 from the point of its introduction in 1981,
prior to HCD's assumption of responsibility for registration and titling of
mobilehomes from DMV.

HCD ‘mplemented AB 1400 on March 1, 1982 as urgency legislation.

Assemblyman Cortese, author of AB 1400, introduced 1982 cleanup legislation
of AB 1400 which became AB 3382 (Chapter 1465 of the 1982 Statutes).

AB 3382 provided only the following additional indication of legislative intent
in Revenue and Taxation Code Section 10911 relating to reasonable cause for
approval of petitions:

"...including but not limited to, the administrative or clerical
errors of the department..."

HCD had previously adopted similar language in its emergency regulations
implementing AB 1400, California Administrative Code, Title 25, Chapter 5,
Section 5506(b)(3), which reads:

“"Any documented error by either the department or the Department
of Motor Vehicles resulting in the manufactured or mobilehome
becoming delinquent for 120 days or more."

Notwithstanding the conclusions drawn in the Auditor General's Report, HCD

beliaves that the Department correctly interpreted the legislative intent
of AB 1400.
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Attachment 3

HCD CRITERIA: BASES FOR REJECTIONS OF AB 1400 PETITIONS

Following is an identification of the specific bases employed for each of
the most common categories of petitions denied (see page 10 of Auditor
General Report):

(a) "Did not receive renewal notice" (32 percent).

The report appears to support HCD's criteria for denial of petitions in this
category. The report cites a Legislative Counsel's opinion on page 3 of the
report as follows:

"According to an opinion of the Legislative Counsel,
mobilehome owners are liable for prompt payment of
registration fees even if they do not receive a renewal
notice."

'(b) "Not the registered owner at a time of license expiration"
(15 percent).

[t is HCD's position that AB 1400 extended the right of petition only
to assessees, registered owners, and legal owners of mobilehomes at the
time of the delinquency causing the mobilehome to become subject to
Local Property Taxation.

Subsequent assessees, registered owners, and Tegal owners acquired their
interest in the mobilehome with knowledge that the home was subject to

Local Property Taxation. Additionally, after the fact assessees, registered
owners, and legal owners could not accurately attest to the "reasonable
cause and circumstances beyond the person's control, and occurred notwith-
standing the exercise of ordinary care and the absence of willful neglect,"
resulting in the failure to pay the license fees at the time of original
delinguency.

(c) "Forgot" (11 percent).

The report reflects the intent of the Legislature to treat mobilehomes as
structures rather than vehicles on page 2 of the report, and the
lTegislative specification that mobilehomes 120 days or more delinquent in
license fees shall become subject to Local Property Taxation on page 3

of the report.

Prior Tegislation and Tlegislative direction were drawn from AB 887

(Ch. 1160 of the 1979 Statutes), SB 004 (Ch. 1180 of the 1979 Statutes),
SB 1422 (Ch. 285 of the 1970 Statutes), and SB 1960 (Ch. 1142 o7 the 1981
Statutes) indicating the legislative intention to treat mobilehomes
substantially similar to conventional structures.

As with the taxation of conventional structures, there is no forgiveness

of delinquency or the resulting circumstances for an assessee who forgot
to pay their taxes. This position appears to be supported by the
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Legislative Counsel's Opinion previously cited on page 3 of the report.
(d) "Could not afford to pay fees" (7 percent).

Same as above for "Forgot."
(e) Illness (5 percent).

The HCD established criteria on this reason for denial is substantially
similar to that for "Forgot," above. However, HCD did interpret the
legislative intent of "reasonable cause and circumstances beyond the
person's control" etc. to require HCD to closely examine issues related
to illness causing the failure to pay license fees.

HCD used the following criteria, referenced on page 9 of the report as
"unique circumstances" to evaluate, and grant where possible, petitions
representing illness:

(1) Was the illness of an incapacitating nature, specifically
mentally incapacitating?

(2) Was the time of the stated illness concurrent with the time
of delinquency and the 120 days after such delinquency
resulting in the home becoming subject to Local Property
Taxatien?

(3) Was the person or persons indicated to have been i1l sole
owner or owners of the home without indication of other
responsible persons in charge of their affairs?

HCD granted petitions where incapacitating illnesses of unsupported or
unrepresented petitioners were determined.

(f) Unidentified (30 percent).
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